Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Three Words for Goodbye cover art

Three Words for Goodbye

Written by: Hazel Gaynor
Narrated by: Heather Webb, Suzanne Toren, Ann Marie Gideon, Megan Tusing
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $31.46

Buy Now for $31.46

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's Summary

From Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb, the best-selling authors of Meet Me in Monaco, comes a coming-of-age novel set in pre-WWII Europe, perfect for fans of Jennifer Robson, Beatriz Williams, and Kate Quinn.

Three cities, two sisters, one chance to correct the past....

New York, 1937: When estranged sisters Clara and Madeleine Sommers learn their grandmother is dying, they agree to fulfill her last wish: to travel across Europe - together. They are to deliver three letters, in which Violet will say good-bye to those she hasn’t seen since traveling to Europe 40 years earlier; a journey inspired by famed reporter Nellie Bly.

Clara, ever-dutiful, sees the trip as an inconvenient detour before her wedding to millionaire Charles Hancock, but it’s also a chance to embrace her love of art. Budding journalist Madeleine relishes the opportunity to develop her ambitions to report on the growing threat of Hitler’s Nazi party and Mussolini’s control in Italy.

Constantly at odds with each other as they explore the luxurious Queen Mary, the Orient Express, and the sights of Paris and Venice, Clara and Madeleine wonder if they can fulfil Violet’s wish, until a shocking truth about their family brings them closer together. But as they reach Vienna to deliver the final letter, old grudges threaten their reconciliation again. As political tensions rise, and Europe feels increasingly volatile, the pair are glad to head home on the Hindenburg, where fate will play its hand in the final stage of their journey.

©2021 Hazel Gaynor (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Three Words for Goodbye

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Superficial, Entitled Young Women Seek Purpose

It's difficult to feel emotionally connected to the characters in this novel. They are all one-dimensional, more like caricatures than characters with any depth of personality. The main characters come across to me as wealthy and entitled, experiencing the world from a blinkered, pre-war North American perspective.

Despite their sojourn in various countries of pre-war Europe, pretty well all the nationals they encounter can communicate with them in English. How fortunate they never had to endure the reality of encountering people unable to speak our universal language. (Sarcasm)

Don't waste your credit on it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!