Get a free audiobook

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $38.59

Buy Now for $38.59

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb, the best-selling authors of Meet Me in Monaco, comes a coming-of-age novel set in pre-WWII Europe, perfect for fans of Jennifer Robson, Beatriz Williams, and Kate Quinn.  

Three cities, two sisters, one chance to correct the past....

New York, 1937: When estranged sisters Clara and Madeleine Sommers learn their grandmother is dying, they agree to fulfill her last wish: to travel across Europe - together. They are to deliver three letters, in which Violet will say good-bye to those she hasn’t seen since traveling to Europe 40 years earlier; a journey inspired by famed reporter Nellie Bly. 

Clara, ever-dutiful, sees the trip as an inconvenient detour before her wedding to millionaire Charles Hancock, but it’s also a chance to embrace her love of art. Budding journalist Madeleine relishes the opportunity to develop her ambitions to report on the growing threat of Hitler’s Nazi party and Mussolini’s control in Italy. 

Constantly at odds with each other as they explore the luxurious Queen Mary, the Orient Express, and the sights of Paris and Venice, Clara and Madeleine wonder if they can fulfil Violet’s wish, until a shocking truth about their family brings them closer together. But as they reach Vienna to deliver the final letter, old grudges threaten their reconciliation again. As political tensions rise, and Europe feels increasingly volatile, the pair are glad to head home on the Hindenburg, where fate will play its hand in the final stage of their journey.

©2021 Hazel Gaynor (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Three Words for Goodbye

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Superficial, Entitled Young Women Seek Purpose

It's difficult to feel emotionally connected to the characters in this novel. They are all one-dimensional, more like caricatures than characters with any depth of personality. The main characters come across to me as wealthy and entitled, experiencing the world from a blinkered, pre-war North American perspective.

Despite their sojourn in various countries of pre-war Europe, pretty well all the nationals they encounter can communicate with them in English. How fortunate they never had to endure the reality of encountering people unable to speak our universal language. (Sarcasm)

Don't waste your credit on it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-08-04

Beautiful story !!

I so enjoyed this novel! Storytelling at its finest ! Wonderful theme, adventure, mystery and romance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-09-07

Review Three Words for Goodbye

I very much enjoyed this book by Hazel Gaynor! I’ve listened to several of her books and enjoyed all.
This book engaged me from the beginning & had twists that I didn’t see coming!!
I would highly recommend listening to Three Words for Goodbye if u are a fan of Historical fiction & travel!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ReadZaLot
  • 2021-08-04

Listened to the whole thing because I wanted to know how the authors handled the ending

It was a long listen although I did appreciate the structure of the three goodbyes. Very clever how the three destinations and three persons were developed. However, the intonation of the readers (one sometimes sounded like a Valley Girl), the mispronounced words (there were many), the vocabulary and phrasing were terrible. This book was not my taste. I hope others enjoy it though.