Listen free for 30 days

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Three Words for Goodbye cover art

Three Words for Goodbye

Written by: Hazel Gaynor
Narrated by: Suzanne Toren,Ann Marie Gideon,Megan Tusing
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $40.01

Buy Now for $40.01

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb, the best-selling authors of Meet Me in Monaco, comes a coming-of-age novel set in pre-WWII Europe, perfect for fans of Jennifer Robson, Beatriz Williams, and Kate Quinn.  

Three cities, two sisters, one chance to correct the past....

New York, 1937: When estranged sisters Clara and Madeleine Sommers learn their grandmother is dying, they agree to fulfill her last wish: to travel across Europe - together. They are to deliver three letters, in which Violet will say good-bye to those she hasn’t seen since traveling to Europe 40 years earlier; a journey inspired by famed reporter Nellie Bly. 

Clara, ever-dutiful, sees the trip as an inconvenient detour before her wedding to millionaire Charles Hancock, but it’s also a chance to embrace her love of art. Budding journalist Madeleine relishes the opportunity to develop her ambitions to report on the growing threat of Hitler’s Nazi party and Mussolini’s control in Italy. 

Constantly at odds with each other as they explore the luxurious Queen Mary, the Orient Express, and the sights of Paris and Venice, Clara and Madeleine wonder if they can fulfil Violet’s wish, until a shocking truth about their family brings them closer together. But as they reach Vienna to deliver the final letter, old grudges threaten their reconciliation again. As political tensions rise, and Europe feels increasingly volatile, the pair are glad to head home on the Hindenburg, where fate will play its hand in the final stage of their journey.

©2021 Hazel Gaynor (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Three Words for Goodbye

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Superficial, Entitled Young Women Seek Purpose

It's difficult to feel emotionally connected to the characters in this novel. They are all one-dimensional, more like caricatures than characters with any depth of personality. The main characters come across to me as wealthy and entitled, experiencing the world from a blinkered, pre-war North American perspective.

Despite their sojourn in various countries of pre-war Europe, pretty well all the nationals they encounter can communicate with them in English. How fortunate they never had to endure the reality of encountering people unable to speak our universal language. (Sarcasm)

Don't waste your credit on it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Beth♥️Amazon
  • 2021-08-04

Listened to the whole thing because I wanted to know how the authors handled the ending

It was a long listen although I did appreciate the structure of the three goodbyes. Very clever how the three destinations and three persons were developed. However, the intonation of the readers (one sometimes sounded like a Valley Girl), the mispronounced words (there were many), the vocabulary and phrasing were terrible. This book was not my taste. I hope others enjoy it though.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • SLV
  • 2022-01-31

sisters

This story is about family. It saddened me to read this book, because the sense of family values and connections aren’t always as strong as told in this story. Things have changed since 1937.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • P. Guzek
  • 2022-01-29

A sisters journey

Really enjoyed the sisters coming together to celebrate their family. I didn’t think there was a need to add a tragedy to make them realize what is really important in life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cassandra Sternthall
  • 2022-01-06

WWII novel about sisters

The complexity of sister’s relationships are perfectly flushed out in this novel with WWII brewing in the background. Wonderful narration and interesting story of secrets and betrayals all so familiar in families. Enjoy it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J. Mccarty
  • 2021-12-31

Hazel Gaynor never disappoints.

Loved it! Great story. Good narration. Sisters are the best! I Would the definitely recommend listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lydia L. Smith
  • 2021-12-15

Excellent

Creative, captivating, compelling, what a delight to discover this author. Looking forward to reading more of her works.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Readingteacher
  • 2021-12-09

Another great story

Hazel Gaynor has given us another great story about life and relationships! The narrators did a wonderful job bringing these characters to life.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Debra Lalley
  • 2021-12-05

Awful

The plot and characters were trite and just really hard to listen to. I really disliked this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Melissa
  • 2021-10-31

Another excellent novel by Hazel Gaynor

One of my favorite authors has done it again. I couldn’t stop listening to this book and was on the edge of my seat the entire time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-09-07

Review Three Words for Goodbye

I very much enjoyed this book by Hazel Gaynor! I’ve listened to several of her books and enjoyed all.
This book engaged me from the beginning & had twists that I didn’t see coming!!
I would highly recommend listening to Three Words for Goodbye if u are a fan of Historical fiction & travel!