Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Following the Scotiabank Giller Prize-shortlisted Son of a Trickster comes Trickster Drift, the second book in Eden Robinson's captivating Trickster trilogy. 

In an effort to keep all forms of magic at bay, Jared, 17, has quit drugs and drinking. But his troubles are not over: now he's being stalked by David, his mom's ex - a preppy, khaki-wearing psycho with a proclivity for rib-breaking. And his mother, Maggie, a living, breathing badass as well as a witch, can't protect him like she used to because he's moved away from Kitimat to Vancouver for school. 

Even though he's got a year of sobriety under his belt (no thanks to his enabling, ever-partying mom), Jared also struggles with the temptation of drinking. And he's got to get his grades up, find a job that doesn't involve weed cookies, and somehow live peacefully with his Aunt Mave, who has been estranged from the family ever since she tried to "rescue" him as a baby from his mother. An indigenous activist and writer, Mave smothers him with pet names and hugs, but she is blind to the real dangers that lurk around them - the spirits and supernatural activity that fill her apartment. 

As the son of a Trickster, Jared is a magnet for magic, whether he hates it or not - he sees ghosts, he sees the monster moving underneath his Aunt Georgina's skin, he sees the creature that comes out of his bedroom wall and creepily wants to suck his toes. He also still hears the Trickster in his head, and other voices too. When the David situation becomes a crisis, Jared can't ignore his true nature any longer.

©2018 Eden Robinson (P)2018 Audible, Inc.

Featured Article: Outstanding Female Authors Everyone Ought to Listen to

From rising stars to household names, female authors have contributed some of the best works of all time for our listening pleasure. Discover your new favourite author or revisit an old favourite with these audiobooks from extremely talented women.

What listeners say about Trickster Drift

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    149
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    141
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great improvement by the narrator

A great improvement on the narration over the first book. Immersive and well read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun

I enjoyed so much. I just hope there is a 3rd book coming soon !

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

This is even better than the first. The characters and the story are excellent and I cannot wait for book 3!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story, didn't *love* the narrator

Eden Robinson writes an AMAZING story. Cannot WAIT to read the conclusion, the characters are amazing and captivating and the story has just the right amount of magic.
Didn't love the narrator, something about his voice felt too cartoonish

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

sequel even better than the first

I really liked this story. Will definitely try the next one. Basically have to with the cliff hanger ending.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

from a local

Being Indigenous and also grew up in the Fraser Valley, the only improvement could be the narrator. Only because, I know the area and expected to hear the "rez" accent. Otherwise, I love this trilogy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I didn’t even know books could be this good… 🤩

First couple chapters were a bit slow, but when it started going, it was amazing. I’m hooked. It’s so easy to picture what’s going on too. Honestly it one of my favourite series. I could read this over and over. It’s a good idea to read the first one though. Might get confusing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVE this trilogy

I love the magic realism of this entire trilogy. Everything is consistent within the "universe" Eden Robinson creates and you don't want to leave. Hard to "put down", so to speak.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so good!

I love this series! I love Jared with all my heart. And a great performance.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series

Everything about this series is great. from characters to the mytholigies it plays with.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ashley E. Egan
  • 2021-11-28

ended on a cliffhanger...how does the story end?

the fantasy was original and palpable but it is very difficult to give a favorable review when it ends on a cliffhanger and there not another book to follow. very disheartening.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • David Jones
  • 2021-03-13

Slow start, strong finish

secondary characters are weak in general, primary character development is adequate. The spirit world toward the end is a bit like Don Juan's.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M. Flenner
  • 2022-02-12

Another Hit

The second book was as good as the first. I'm looking forward to reading the entire series but I also don't want it to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Daniel
  • 2022-01-04

needed more excitement from the narrator

slightly struggled to finish because the narrator was very hard to fallow at times being very robotic or monotone.
story was great otherwise

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ana monten
  • 2021-07-16

Holy Crap!

This book was something else so good! Now I to the the next one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-06-29

urban fantasy

good bet for fans of Christopher Moore, Charles De Lint, Terry Pratchett, & Neil Gaiman

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Book Addict
  • 2021-03-18

entertaining and educational

The storyline was engaging. There were moments when the author broke away from the plot to give historical facts. It had an ending that guaranteed the reader will read the sequel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dan Campbell
  • 2018-11-08

Stunning!

Incredible! Can not wait for the next book. Something so fresh yet so familiar and relatable!