Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The gripping and action-packed new Roman army adventure in the Eagles of the Empire series by Sunday Times best-selling author Simon Scarrow. The perfect listen for fans of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. 

Tribune Cato and Centurion Macro, hardened veterans of the Roman army, have faced the empire's enemies from Britannia to Parthia, from Hispania to Judea. Now once again they are on a mission that will imperil their lives and those of all who serve with them. Loyal to the last to their comrades in battle, fearless in the face of the most brutal or barbaric opponents, they are the finest men the emperor can call on in the service of Rome.

©2020 Simon Scarrow (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about The Emperor's Exile

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another great Macro's adventure

The narrator is the perfect candidate for these stories. Overall, the story is enjoyable but not to the level of previous books but that is my perception based on my expectation.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • James Pestell
  • 2021-06-12

Another outstanding novel

I've been reading Simon Scarrow since I was thirteen and every one of his books has been an amazing adventure, this one was no different. I look forward to his next book and to see what has become of Macro.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Scott
  • 2021-04-29

One of my favorite book series.

This series featuring Cato and Macro (ok not that much of Macro) is like an old friend.
You pick up right were you last seen them. comfort and expectations a known quantity.
Story: The main arc of the story is Cato getting a dogs dinner for his loyalty but making the best of it. The real story is the relationships he builds and strengthens throughout the series. I love historical fiction/action series but they can become flat and repetitive. what makes this series stand out to me is the interpersonal depth. the losses and betrayals. The self doubt and hubris of characters. only a few series have matched or bettered it.
Narration: always a solid job with the only criticism is one character sounding too much like Macro after he has exited the story.
If you are reading this review you're most likely a fan of the series already.
If you are new to this series I highly suggest you start at book 1 not 15 or whatever this one is you won't regret it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Bobce
  • 2021-04-12

Another fine read

I have read all the preceding books in this series. I have enjoyed them all and look forward to the next. Only 4 stars because no one is perfect. Nobody gets 5.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • RJ
  • 2021-03-17

Dated writing and overly melodramatic reading

I liked this series and listened to several earlier titles. Compared to some of the other historical novels I have listened to, this author no longer holds his own compared to Robert Fabbri or Chrisitian Cameron or others either in the writing or the narration.
A one word summary would be: Mediocre.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-03-15

Compelling brilliant!

Once you start you just won't be able to finish. It draws and pulls you in, right from the very 1st chapter to the very last word. The narrator does a good job of further enhancing your imagination and capturing your attention... It's a most read

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mark P.
  • 2021-01-29

Seemed rushed...

I have been a long time listener, waiting for new books to be released; eagerly following the conquests and story. I am always excited to get a new chance to check in Macro and Cato. However, towards the end of this book, when closing the scene the abrupt and hastily brushed storyline was not acceptable. Of this had been in line with how the flow of the book was already progressing it wouldn’t have been noticeable, but being on an island one page and then back in Rome the next; just leaves the reader wanting for what had happened.

Disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Oladapo Otunla
  • 2020-11-22

Very engaging

It is a page turner and very enjoyable. Money well spent. I will recommend it.