Get a free audiobook

Watching You

Written by: Lisa Jewell
Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister
Length: 10 hrs and 50 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (54 ratings)
Price: CDN$ 30.69
CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

New York Times and number-one Sunday Times best-selling author and “brilliant storyteller” (Shelf Awareness, starred review) Lisa Jewell weaves another suspenseful thriller about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies.

Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England. It’s the sort of place where doctors and lawyers and old-money academics live. It’s not the sort of place where people get stabbed in the back 30 times with a kitchen knife in their own homes.

Someone must have seen something.

Newlywed Joey Mullen, for example, recently returned from four years of working in Ibiza. She and her husband, Alfie, are eager to find a place of their own in her hometown. But Joey finds herself distracted by the man next door, Tom Fitzwilliam. He’s the principal of the local high school, twice her age, and devastatingly attractive. What starts as an innocent infatuation soon escalates into fixation, and before long, Joey can’t keep her eyes off of Tom.

Or the principal’s son, Freddie, who dreams of working as a spy and has been developing his surveillance skills by keeping meticulous logs of the coming and goings in the area. And, as he approaches his 15th birthday, his attention - and his lens - are turning more and more toward the local women.

Or perhaps single mother Frances Tripp, who has long been convinced she is being stalked. Her teenage daughter, Jenna, is worried these delusions are signs of her mother’s deteriorating mental health, particularly now that her paranoia has found a specific target: Tom Fitzwilliam. Frances is determined to keep an eye on him until she can prove he is behind her persecution.

Twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam.

Nobody knows why this horrific murder was committed, but someone in Melville Heights knows who did it. As the community’s fearful eyes turn on each other, the question remains:

Who else is watching?

©2018 Lisa Jewell. Originally published in Great Britain in 2018 by Penguin Random House UK. (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

Narrator was great, story was great, everything ties nicely together! Suspenseful. Many story lines from many characters makes it interesting. Overall, highly recommended!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Couldn’t stop listening to this!

I feel like this genre is sort of hit and miss... but this one is excellent! Very well written story. Narrating is relaxing and enjoyable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Mystery

Really enjoyed the twists and turns of the story - and how the author weaves the threads of clues and details into a complex but totally readable / listenable book. Definitely plan to listen to more Lisa Jewell novels!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I was wrong so many times!

This keeps you guessing! From who the victim is to who the murderer is... so many minute details making all the difference.
A bit slow moving -- more like a puzzle to solve than a thriller.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah Dinger
  • 2019-01-27

How much am I really getting?!

This is the first time I had a physical copy of the book in front of me as it was being read. Sentences missing. PARAGRAPHS missing. Narrator adding in descriptions and wordings of her own. I couldn’t believe all of the information that was left out. Seriously stunned.
Other than that, this story is fantastic. Didn’t know what was going to happen until the end. Great read, ok listen if you don’t mind missing some things.

30 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sheila S
  • 2019-01-17

Not a true page-turner

I really enjoyed Then She Was Gone, so my expectations were set high. While this wasn't a bad book, it wasn't tense or particularly suspenseful. On the plus side, the characters were nuanced and there was an unexpected twist. Rating: 3.5 stars rounded up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-02-06

Soooo good!!

Outstanding—I’m crazy picky about my books and loved “The She Was Gone” so decided to give this one a go and enjoyed it even more. Once again the narrator is on point and the characters are interesting and endearing-
Will absolutely be recommending this to my friends and Lisa Jewel is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors.
Just do it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Pedro Consumidor
  • 2019-01-21

Great writing and narrating

One of my favorites in a while. The performance was superb. Perfect tempo and dramatic reading of the story. Well written story too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Denise Bolton
  • 2019-01-07

Suspenseful and funny!

Great story. Keeps you guessing! You will fall in love and hate with the well written characters. Lisa jewel writes them so well . Her descriptions are so good that at times you are repulsed by the details she gives! Also had me laughing out loud with her one liners!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • L. Talan
  • 2019-01-23

Enjoyable

I wasn’t sure whether to give this book 3 or four stars. But I liked it more and more as I read, or listened, that I upped it to four. There are a lot of different characters and stories but they all seem to connect somehow and made it very interesting. It was a slow reveal without major twists or turns but there were some and I thought it was very well done. Overall an interesting and satisfying read.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Donna
  • 2018-12-27

3

Another entrant in the psychological suspense mystery
category. It is neat, tidy, filled
with predictable characters and
plot twists with a couple of new twists of pop psychology. I could not have written this, it has so many threads to weave together and it did surprise my toward the end. And the narrator is very good. Buy it for a goos light non-bloody read to pass,the long cold dark winter nights.

14 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ms Gayle M. G.
  • 2018-12-29

Jewell Packs Meaningful Message in this Woven Gem

Jewell weaves a multivalent tale together that carries urgent themes. Themes of community, family, teens finding themselves, adults coming of age, gender roles & issues, and prevalent issues found in schools today such as teasing and bullying. Most importantly the lasting adverse effects of bullying, and when caught its consequences. Great suspenseful read!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kat Mordhorst
  • 2019-03-19

Back, forth & back again.

I found this to be a fun who dunnit! My husband commented that I ran the vacuum longer than I needed to just so I could finish a chapter.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Karen Jenkins
  • 2019-03-18

I just couldn't get into it

I like Lisa Jewell's books, but for some reason I just couldn't get into this one. From the beginning and then the end was OK