Price: CDN$ 38.59

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day free trial and your first audiobook is free
  • After trial, get 1 credit each month good for any audiobook.
  • Exchange any audiobook you don’t like
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your free trial, Audible is just CDN$ 14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s striven for in pursuit of a free Medio - and a chance at a forbidden love?

©2019 Tehlor Kay Mejia (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What members say

No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Deborah
  • Oak Park, IL, United States
  • 2019-05-23

Really wanted to like this

I enjoy young adult and had high expectations. In the end, however, it felt like the author was a beginner and tried to squeeze in a lot of hot topics. The LGBTQ angle seemed manufactured and wasn't remotely necessary to the rebellion plot.

I also found the world building confusing. This is apparently an isolated island nation that is very Latin American where people shop in market places, etc. There is no TV, telephone, internet but they have weapons and automobiles? And I couldn't figure out why the people who live along the shore where they can fish and grow produce were the ones starving.

So in general, this book felt awkward. I imagined it being written by a high school student.