Get a free audiobook

Wild Game

My Mother, Her Secret, and Me
Written by: Adrienne Brodeur
Length: 8 hrs and 19 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (61 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

A searing, indelible memoir of an extraordinary mother and her equally extraordinary daughter. Among Adrienne Brodeur's many achievements in Wild Game - beautiful prose, a riveting story, elegantly told - what I found most moving is the love threaded through every page of this unforgettable book.

About the Creator

Adrienne Brodeur began her career in publishing as the cofounder, with filmmaker Francis Ford Coppola, of National Magazine Award-winning Zoetrope: All-Story. She has worked as a book editor and is currently the executive director of Aspen Words, a program of the Aspen Institute. She lives in Cambridge and on Cape Cod.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

what a story and so well written

Frank insightful and compelling an excellent read that keeps your interest the entire way through

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

The story is engaging and the narrator is excellent. Finished it in 2 days--wish there was more as I'm sad it's over.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book.

Well written, beautiful descriptive language, and a seemingly honest and fair account of an extraordinary circumstance. The narrator was excellent.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gretchen
  • 2019-10-24

Broken chains

So interesting to me the boundary violations, the secrets, and the impact on the young woman who bore them. I loved this tale—“don’t tell anyone okay? Let this be our secret!”

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Derek cazier
  • 2019-10-28

A new favorite!!

Every so often I like to take a break from my typical book preference of fiction and/or suspense and instead listen/read a memoir or non fiction. But I am very picky and if it’s not immediately captivating I am bored and will find myself searching for a new book. The Glass Castle really started my love for dysfunctional family memoirs or incredible stories of survival against all odds. This one does not disappoint!!! You won’t be able to stop listening! And as always Julia Whelan hit it out of the park. Don’t let the summary fool you, this book isn’t just your run of the mill marital affair story! This is something else! And it’s a winner!!

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Peter Holmes a Court
  • 2019-10-24

Self absorbed, unfulfilled but captivating


Self absorbed, unfulfilling and totally captivating
Many memoirs fall into the same traps, but few are quite this enthralling. Of course it’s self absorbed, memoir writing is by definition, and this one is about a particular class of those most fortunate who display no noticeable gratitude. Still, everyone shares some of that, nobody is innocent. Unfulfilled because like many a memoir, the author never points the pen at themselves, and we are denied the same exposure she shines on others of herself. Captivating as it begins with the best gossip ever (I kissed my husband’s best friend!) and never let’s you escape the grip of a half century of intrigue and the search for the meaning of love. I loved it, even, like gossip, when I thought there was something better I should be doing with my time.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Leah
  • 2019-10-17

The kind of book you want to savour

I didn’t want it to end.
This was a beautiful story.
It read like fiction. I literally couldn’t stop listening.
Thank You Adrienne Brodeur for being so open in telling the story of your long, complicated life and how your life and love was so influenced and so tangled up in your mother. What is it with Mothers and daughters!?? I could fully and wholeheartedly relate.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J. S. Benjamin
  • 2019-10-26

Real Life is Stranger than Fiction

This was an outstanding memoir, a real-life series of events than unfold with memorable characters and unbelievable plot turns set mostly against a summer backdrop that you can taste and smell. What I loved most about Wild Game was the thoughtful way the author recounts her own story, admitting her blind spots and the damage that holding on to her mother's secret took on her through the years. Once I started listening, I could not stop. Excellent work by narrator Julia Whelan.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kiki Gee
  • 2019-10-16

You can't make this stuff up!

Not since Alexandra Fuller have I read such a riveting read. I don't want to put it down and I do not want the book to end. When I first read the review on Wild Game, prior to it's release on Audible, I have had this on pre-order. I was not disappointed.

Fans of Fuller's 'Don't Lets Go To The Dogs Tonight' and 'Cocktail Hour Under The Tree of Forgiveness' will love this memoir. Brodeur's book is ever bit as riveting. As I listen all I can think of, and I am not a movie goer, being an avid reader 'listener' is that this book has GOT to be made into a movie.

Although I have nearly 400 titles in my Audible library, I think this is the first Julia Whelan narrated book I have listened to. I think I have found a new favorite narrator. There is never any confusion about which character is speaking. Julia makes them all come alive. I particularly loved how she portrayed Malabar.

40 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • kbl
  • 2019-10-28

Maybe the problem is it was oversold

An interesting enough memoir. Felt like something written for a workshop or a literary magazine. The writing was great, but the story itself had very little meat. I'm sure writing it helped the author work through her issues, but it wasn't really "unforgettable" or "wild" for the reader.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ginni naegle
  • 2019-10-20

In Love

Fantastic story and performance could not put this book down! So many lessons to learn.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Constant Reader
  • 2019-10-19

Exemplary ❤️

This book was almost lyrical in its ability to draw you in. The ride was fantastic. I enjoyed it so much and look forward to reading more of Brodeur’s work.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Melissa C. Cordova
  • 2019-10-21

Fascinating Story

At first I questioned whether I would enjoy this book or whether it would be one of those I never finished. A few minutes in, and I was hooked. Julia Whelan does it again, providing an excellent narration to an intruiguing story.

10 people found this helpful