Get a free audiobook

Winds of War

Narrated by: Luke Daniels
Length: 11 hrs and 8 mins
4 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

An ancient evil emerges. The Glass Kingdom is at war. Not even the gods can help now.

Full-scale rebellion rages in the south, and Sir Torsten Unger must lead the Glass Army to face it. But when a new and unfamiliar king forces Torsten to march alongside one of his fiercest rivals, he must draw on his faith to keep the army from fracturing.  

Whitney Fierstown continues his tutelage of the blood mage, Sora, who is desperate to get a better handle on her mysterious powers. Their journey brings them to the merchant city of Winde Port, where they seek passage to Yaolin City aboard a ship. It's smooth sailing until they realize an old nemesis is hunting them, hell-bent on vengeance and willing to turn to an evil unlike any they've ever faced before. 

Winds of War is the epic second installment in the Buried Goddess Saga, perfect for fans of R. A. Salvatore, Brandon Sanderson, and Nicholas Eames. 

©2018 Aethon Books (P)2018 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Eric kalstrup
  • 2018-12-31

Great second book

The second book was better than the first. Luke Daniels was awesome as always. The only reason the story is getting a four is because of the rage inducing cliff hanger endings these guys come up with.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jordan
  • 2019-05-29

Good, not great

Before I say anything, I'm convinced Luke Daniels' reading of this is half the reason these books are still pulling me along with them. His performance just gets better from book 1 and gives so much more depth to somewhat flat characters.

Onto the review of the book itself...

Okay, honestly, the last chapter bumped this up to a 4 stars because it got super interesting and left me wanting to jump right into book 3. But...

Call me old fashioned, but I still have a little trouble with the informal way in which this book (and the series) is written and sometimes it bumps me out of being fully immersed in the story and makes me feel like I'm reading a collaborative RPG story written by a group of friends more than a published work of fantasy. (And don't get me wrong, I've been one of those friends and the stories are always delightful and rollicking and worth being a part of.)

My other slight complaint is that the characters are still a little bit one dimensional. Rogueish trickster thief with a heart of gold (sort of); practical, two-feet-on-the-ground mage with more to her than meets the eye (more to her than what she even knows); moral-to-a-fault, stick-up-his-butt, and would-be-cool-if-he-chilled-out gruff old soldier. Even Red Star feels like the villain we all know. I expected a little more depth to be given to our main crew, but the book mostly focused on the action of the rebellion.

I know middle books tend to be more move the plot forward devices, but I wanted some wavering from Torsten, some genuine fear from Whitney to knock him down a peg, and some stepping up from Sora. Sora's one moment of controlling a situation felt a little too simple and based more on her being pretty than clever and that was a bummer.

Oh, and I don't know if Oleander being so unpredictable and weird and changing her mind/behavior all the time is a mental disorder or just poor writing.

Still, I'm giving this 4 stars because despite wanting more and maybe some cleaner characterization, the foundation that is laid IS fun, enjoyable, engaging, and everything I want an adventure story to be. I just feel like they're leaving some opportunities behind that make these books feel more amateur than I think the writers are capable of. There's so much there waiting to be fleshed out! Give me the juicy character development so I can really sink into these characters and remember them for years to come! Make the female characters more than just flighty and pretty and lacking understanding of their power!

Hoping book 3 delivers more than just entertainment, for sure, but I'm still along for the ride regardless because dammit if it's still not a fun story.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Al
  • 2018-12-28

The Buried Goddess Saga continues

Before I ramble on, let me just add that is a joint effort between (mostly) sci-fi author Rhett Bruno and Jaime Castle, who writes (mostly) fantasy. I’m not always sure of the dynamics of two authors creating a joint effort, but our intrepid duo seem to have this one under control. I read Web of Eyes, the first part of the Buried Goddess Saga back in February, and I liked it a lot. It was fun, fast-paced and mildly insane.

Zoom forward 10 months, and an audio copy of Winds of War came my way. Instead of just sticking with the odd couple formula of the first, they went with a slightly different tack. Whitney has taken Sora under his wing, looking to turn her into a thief of his quality (perceived or otherwise), but Sora has other ideas. They travel to Mei Ping, but find that trouble is following in their wake. An old foe has sent an assassin after Whitney, and even his prodigious luck might run out this time.

Torsten returns home, but faces his own woes. Lumbered with the boy king Liam, who has forged an alliance with the heathen Redstar, he must lead the Glass Army against the Shiatsu, but needs to watch his own back as Redstar tries to undermine his leadership of the armyat every juncture. But Torsten needs Redstar and his army if he is to win the day. Can he maintain a tenuous peace for the greater good?

So, here’s the good. The story is still fun, action-packed and mildly insane. Dour Torsten is constantly on the verge of blowing a gasket as he has to deal with Redstar and the king, who seem to be constantly undermining him. Whitney and Sora are often amusing, but their bickering can also grate at times, but Whitney’s ingenuity in face of certain death (or imprisonment at least) is still a chuckle.

Here’s the bad. It’s not the story, it’s as good as the last. It’s not totally the narrator. One would also imagine Idris Elba voicing Torsten or his sidekick Wardric. My beef is with his narration of almost everyone else. Whitney and Sora spend their time screeching at each other in some pseudo-Oirish accent, while Redstar sounds like some snickering pervert. It’s a pity, because the audio could have been really good otherwise.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jeff M.
  • 2018-12-25

Really enjoying this series

Great follow-on to a very good first book. The characters, plot, and writing are top-notch. I don't think it's hyperbole to say that this is right up there with the best of today's fantasy, such as the Stormlight Archives by Sanderson. I am truly enjoying it that much. The narrator was also excellent in this one. I'm impatiently looking forward to the next entry in the series!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • STEVEN
  • 2018-12-22

great addition, excited for the next one

Luke Daniels is great and the story is fun. I'm ready for the next one!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sailfish
  • 2018-12-17

Torsten and a series of unfortunate events

Almost all of the characters are interesting, even the antagonists, except for Torsten who, while positioned as one of the 3 primary protagonists comes off as mostly brawn and bluster whose tactical acumen seems mostly stuck on CHARGE!, threatening and screaming at everyone and retreating. The thing is, he's obviously a very dedicated servant to the crown but seems ill-equipped to handle his leadership position. I'm hopeful that his, thus far, negative spiral reaches its nadir and begins to climb upward.

There is ample betrayals and subterfuge to spice up the story, along with the introduction of other secondary characters to expand the story arc in lively, erm, deadly ??? Oh, whatever ways. Red Star, or as Whitney calls him, Red Moon who, while untrustworthy, also happens to be pivotal for keeping the Glass Army from total defeat. Whitney continues with his irresponsible antics that somehow seem to almost always favor him. Also, Sora becomes more than a blood mage, much more.

In all, another good book in the series and I'm anxiously awaiting for book 3.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Josh R
  • 2019-01-13

Great Continuation of the Series

Winds of War is an excellent continuation to the Buried Goddess Saga. All of our favorite characters are back for another adventure. All of the characters except for Torsten have shown great character growth and depth. It seems like Torsten is a little short sighted and one dimensional though. The pacing is great as well. I didn’t find any lulls in the action, and it kept me entertained throughout the entire novel. Luke Daniels’ narration is excellent. He gives all of the characters distinct voices, and he does a number of accents very well. I can’t wait to listen to the next one.

The publisher has gifted me other books in this series, but I purchased this one myself. This review is my unbiased opinion.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-10-24

Better than book one

Book one was great but this went above and beyond. The scope opened up like a dam and the juices flowed! Great job, authors!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Vik
  • 2019-09-01

plot thickening characters deepening

with the plot getting better and bad guys becoming worse and good guys becoming worse, this is a wonderful book that I couldn't stop listening to. I literally stayed up hours just to hear the next chapter the next sentence the next paragraph. it got interesting in so many ways. and the devastatingly good narration by Luke Daniels cannot be denied!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Louis J Helmer
  • 2019-08-13

a thief a knight a Mystic and a warlock .

Whitney Firestone what an interesting Thief His Love Grows for Sora her power grows and now they have a new pet. the treachery inside the kingdom is starting to grow. red star is one evil sob. now throw in a vampire mix it all together and what do you got entertaining situations interesting characters and a fun book to listen to. Luke Daniels brings them to life phenomenal narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful