Get a free audiobook

Winds of War

Narrated by: Luke Daniels
Series: The Buried Goddess Saga, Book 2
Length: 11 hrs and 8 mins
4 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

An ancient evil emerges. The Glass Kingdom is at war. Not even the gods can help now.

Full-scale rebellion rages in the south, and Sir Torsten Unger must lead the Glass Army to face it. But when a new and unfamiliar king forces Torsten to march alongside one of his fiercest rivals, he must draw on his faith to keep the army from fracturing.  

Whitney Fierstown continues his tutelage of the blood mage, Sora, who is desperate to get a better handle on her mysterious powers. Their journey brings them to the merchant city of Winde Port, where they seek passage to Yaolin City aboard a ship. It's smooth sailing until they realize an old nemesis is hunting them, hell-bent on vengeance and willing to turn to an evil unlike any they've ever faced before. 

Winds of War is the epic second installment in the Buried Goddess Saga, perfect for fans of R. A. Salvatore, Brandon Sanderson, and Nicholas Eames. 

©2018 Aethon Books (P)2018 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Winds of War

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Vik
  • 2019-09-01

plot thickening characters deepening

with the plot getting better and bad guys becoming worse and good guys becoming worse, this is a wonderful book that I couldn't stop listening to. I literally stayed up hours just to hear the next chapter the next sentence the next paragraph. it got interesting in so many ways. and the devastatingly good narration by Luke Daniels cannot be denied!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mason R.
  • 2020-01-10

Best series, tickled pink.

I love this series for so many reasons. it honestly keeps me on my toes and excited to listen more. I purchased it on the daily deal and feel fortunate for having done so. the narrator and story are so great. Bouncing back and forth keeps it fresh and interesting. Five stars through and through.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-10-24

Better than book one

Book one was great but this went above and beyond. The scope opened up like a dam and the juices flowed! Great job, authors!!!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Louis J Helmer
  • 2019-08-13

a thief a knight a Mystic and a warlock .

Whitney Firestone what an interesting Thief His Love Grows for Sora her power grows and now they have a new pet. the treachery inside the kingdom is starting to grow. red star is one evil sob. now throw in a vampire mix it all together and what do you got entertaining situations interesting characters and a fun book to listen to. Luke Daniels brings them to life phenomenal narrator.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Eric kalstrup
  • 2018-12-31

Great second book

The second book was better than the first. Luke Daniels was awesome as always. The only reason the story is getting a four is because of the rage inducing cliff hanger endings these guys come up with.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Al
  • 2018-12-28

The Buried Goddess Saga continues

Before I ramble on, let me just add that is a joint effort between (mostly) sci-fi author Rhett Bruno and Jaime Castle, who writes (mostly) fantasy. I’m not always sure of the dynamics of two authors creating a joint effort, but our intrepid duo seem to have this one under control. I read Web of Eyes, the first part of the Buried Goddess Saga back in February, and I liked it a lot. It was fun, fast-paced and mildly insane. Zoom forward 10 months, and an audio copy of Winds of War came my way. Instead of just sticking with the odd couple formula of the first, they went with a slightly different tack. Whitney has taken Sora under his wing, looking to turn her into a thief of his quality (perceived or otherwise), but Sora has other ideas. They travel to Mei Ping, but find that trouble is following in their wake. An old foe has sent an assassin after Whitney, and even his prodigious luck might run out this time. Torsten returns home, but faces his own woes. Lumbered with the boy king Liam, who has forged an alliance with the heathen Redstar, he must lead the Glass Army against the Shiatsu, but needs to watch his own back as Redstar tries to undermine his leadership of the armyat every juncture. But Torsten needs Redstar and his army if he is to win the day. Can he maintain a tenuous peace for the greater good? So, here’s the good. The story is still fun, action-packed and mildly insane. Dour Torsten is constantly on the verge of blowing a gasket as he has to deal with Redstar and the king, who seem to be constantly undermining him. Whitney and Sora are often amusing, but their bickering can also grate at times, but Whitney’s ingenuity in face of certain death (or imprisonment at least) is still a chuckle. Here’s the bad. It’s not the story, it’s as good as the last. It’s not totally the narrator. One would also imagine Idris Elba voicing Torsten or his sidekick Wardric. My beef is with his narration of almost everyone else. Whitney and Sora spend their time screeching at each other in some pseudo-Oirish accent, while Redstar sounds like some snickering pervert. It’s a pity, because the audio could have been really good otherwise.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • BlueBeard
  • 2020-01-24

A fantastic follow up to Web of Eyes

I enjoyed the first book in the series, but this one really expands the scope of the world and raises the stakes for the characters. Really glad I continued, looking forward to more. Luke Daniels' narration is excellent, he is very good at a wide range of voices.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jeff M.
  • 2018-12-25

Really enjoying this series

Great follow-on to a very good first book. The characters, plot, and writing are top-notch. I don't think it's hyperbole to say that this is right up there with the best of today's fantasy, such as the Stormlight Archives by Sanderson. I am truly enjoying it that much. The narrator was also excellent in this one. I'm impatiently looking forward to the next entry in the series!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • STEVEN
  • 2018-12-22

great addition, excited for the next one

Luke Daniels is great and the story is fun. I'm ready for the next one!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Josh R
  • 2019-01-13

Great Continuation of the Series

Winds of War is an excellent continuation to the Buried Goddess Saga. All of our favorite characters are back for another adventure. All of the characters except for Torsten have shown great character growth and depth. It seems like Torsten is a little short sighted and one dimensional though. The pacing is great as well. I didn’t find any lulls in the action, and it kept me entertained throughout the entire novel. Luke Daniels’ narration is excellent. He gives all of the characters distinct voices, and he does a number of accents very well. I can’t wait to listen to the next one. The publisher has gifted me other books in this series, but I purchased this one myself. This review is my unbiased opinion.

6 people found this helpful