Get a free audiobook

Winterwood

Written by: Shea Ernshaw
Narrated by: Emma Lysy, Mark Turetsky
Length: 10 hrs and 16 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Deluxe edition with special embellishments on first printing only.  

From New York Times best-selling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods - and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.  

Be careful of the dark, dark wood.... 

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.  

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman - the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago - and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.  

But Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own - secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried, because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.  

For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times best-selling author Shea Ernshaw shows us why.

©2019 Shea Ernshaw (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah
  • 2019-12-16

well knit

This is a solid YA book. I was a bit bored by what I felt to be heavy-handed foreshadowing, but I am a cranky old reader who has been through enough stories to see the well worn paths. I think this book may hold some fun twists for less grizzled readers. The plot elements wove together nicely at the end. Inner and outer conflicts were satisfyingly resolved. I liked this one. I will be recommending it to the young readers in my life.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • frkPalmer
  • 2020-01-28

...and then she woke up...

the repetitive language and the middle school-level story made this a very disappointing read, despite only hearing good things about it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Jade Moseley
  • 2020-01-26

Story was drawn out

drawn out. situations on the book were way longer than they needed to be. Author repeated herself many many times and it was frustrating.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-01-10

Good read

I enjoyed the book. I love how she was able to go back in time and change Oliver's fate. The narrator was great.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Chuck Harland
  • 2019-12-22

The Witch Sense

Winterwood is an aggressively repetitive and predictable YA novel that delivers an awkward and disappointing ending. Some things found in the wods are best left dead.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2019-12-08

Really enjoyed this!

This is a beautiful yet haunting story. Although I somewhat suspected the outcome of these characters, it still kept me yearning for what was to come.
I loved the build up and the POV's of each character. I could picture the scenery from the descriptions and felt like I was in the book seeing it happening as the plot continued.
I really enjoyed Wicked Deep and I really enjoyed Winterwood. Shea Ernshaw has a beautiful talent and a way of capturing an audience. I really look forward to reading whatever she puts out in the future. She's become a top favorite author of mine.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Whitney Jo
  • 2019-12-04

fantastic book!

I really enjoyed this book. being a witch myself I love the feel of the way it is written. I'm ashamed at how long it took me too figure it out at the end but that's good right? ha!