Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Their world isn't quite what it seems. It might not be a world at all...

Udo's biggest problem isn't being a digger (that's low class), or staying drunk (that's damn expensive), or avoiding the Dwergaz (they're monsters), or even pissing off the supposed Gods.

It's that his reality...well, it isn't what he thought.

And now, he can't even afford to drink because his so-called friend Nicz is cutting into his business, digging up tin, iron, and copper. So Udo forms a new plan: clay. After all, clay jars are used to store everything: meat, herbs, and, his personal favorite, ale.

But in his hunt for clay, Udo drills too far, is captured by the Dwergaz, and brought to the goddess Ing - or what he believes is a goddess. As Udo digs deeper into his world, and not just by digging holes, what he discovers is far beyond mountains and gods and monsters.

There may be other worlds beyond his. Worlds surrounding other stars. In fact, his own home may not be a world at all.

Udo the Digger bends the tropes of science fiction and fantasy into a wild adventure that will amuse and surprise even veterans of both genres. It's perfect for fans of Arthur C. Clarke's Rama, Horizon Zero Dawn, Aurora, and Book of the Long Sun.

©2019 Aethon Books (P)2020 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Worldship: Udo the Digger

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It’s so rough!

I don’t live a refined life, I don’t think the world is a nice place. This book really talks to that, for me anyways.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

interesting listen

the book is a little bit slow but boring lot funny parts and low humer I don't recommend you listen to this book with your family. looking forward to the next book

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Undecided if to continue.

This book has the potential to become a good series, but I do have a few issues which reflects my star rating of this book. I would have rated this as a 2 star overall but R.C Brays ability to bring the MC to life won me over, he really helps you become invested in the MC, if not for R.C Bray I would have returned this book. That being said I feel the MC was not written correctly for this story, its tough to imagine the type of person the MC is, ending up in the position he finds himself in near the end of this book, the MC’s personality doesn’t entirely match with the plot, it just doesn’t feel like a good fit. I do like the MC, just not entirely in the narrative presented midway and at the ending of this book. The main reason I'm not sure about this series is the over use of the MC narrating his early beginnings. The MC pretty much leads you through his early life, which is a shame because I would have liked to discover the MC’s early days on my own, I don't feel it necessary to have someone hold my hand through this entire book and explain everything to me. Hopefully the next book is not written like this, I would prefer to discover the story on my own. The author does a great job at world building/character development and the pacing of this book is good as well. The MC is hard/gritty and rough as well which I like for this type of story . There is some decent humour as well. The plot is just okay but has the potential to become good. Be forewarned there is a very graphic sex scene in this book that will definitely offend some people, I was not offended due to the plot of this book, very hard life middle age setting. There is lots of strong language which also fits the plot of this book. There is lots of talk about sex and prostitution which fits the gritty roughness of the MC. Overall I do recommend this book based on the potential it has, I will probably continue this series unless the author keeps his current path of narrative. If the next book is written like this one I will promptly return the book and forget about this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Country

very good book some times a little confusing can't wait for 2nd book wondering where it takes us

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Ahkia
  • 2020-06-02

I am confused.

The story went no where. I have no idea what I just listened to. I no longer trust the 5 star reviews.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Ed Johnson
  • 2020-05-28

Not even close to his first mastpice All Gifts

The first 4 chapters he spends all the time in character development it's boring. Not to mention he talks about drunkenness getting laid prostitution and use profane language. It seems like Jason Gayou was writing this book to fulfill a contractual obligation and to piss off the editor in the process. I would not recommend this book. Bray is fantastic as usual and I'm sorry that he had to read and record this unprofessional drivel.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Tripp Southern
  • 2020-06-09

Meandering and plotless.

11 hours in and still no plot or character arcs. Disappointed in Gayou. Returning unfinished.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • tpisel
  • 2020-06-07

Really bad

I was so excited when I saw that Joshua Gayou had a new book and series so I jumped right in. I LOVED the Commune series but this was a disappointment that I struggled to finish. The Characters are underdeveloped, the world is shallow and the story is uninteresting.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • YL
  • 2020-06-17

10 Hours In, No Story In Sight

I gave up waiting for the shift from world building rambling to a story. It seemed like around 11 hours in there was a glimmer Frankenstein or Grapes of Wrath in space, but I just didn't care anymore, exhausted by the meandering build up that had taken longer than many complete novels.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Erick
  • 2020-06-15

A book with no point or story arc

I don’t get the good reviews. The first few hours were treacherous and I’ve fallen asleep from boredom so many times to this book. Aside from a few funny Dick jokes, I don’t get it This world Udo lives in is nightmare and the author tries to explain some greater gods or forces in act with zero effort. Can I have 6 hours of my life back

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Jose
  • 2020-06-11

Still looking for plot

I don’t get the 5 star reviews. It never really made that much sense to me. The ending was just plain weird. As always R.C BRAY was just awesome

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Matthew
  • 2020-05-28

great narration and book

honestly I loved the book. I had a deep bond with the donkey. The donkey was my favorite character of the book. I think about him a lot. I pet random donkeys I see around. Just to tell them they are good boys. But about the book. I honestly have no idea what it's about. I loved it though. look forward to the next part.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shaun P. Fay
  • 2020-05-26

Recommend to Gayou and Bray fans

I think what Joshua does best through all the books I've read, really comes through in this book. He is very good at writing about people. This book is no exception. Interestingly as you read, you start to have new questions about Udo, his pantheon, his world. And things are cleverly revealed, and new questions are created. I look forward to the next book in this series a lot. And Rc Bray does a fantastic job and proves he is one of the best narrators time and time again.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CHAD
  • 2020-05-27

Haven’t been disappointed yet!

So far every book these two have put out has been a zinger. Keep it up guys!!!

6 people found this helpful