Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Number-One French Best Seller

More than 3 Million Copies Sold Worldwide

The feel-good number-one best-selling French novel about a woman whose mission to cure her "routine-itis" leads her to lasting joy and true fulfillment, for fans of The Alchemist and Hector and the Search for Happiness.

At 38 and a quarter years old, Paris native Camille has everything she needs to be happy, or so it seems: a good job, a loving husband, a wonderful son. Why, then, does she feel as if happiness has slipped through her fingers? All she wants is to find the path to joy.

When Claude, a French Sean Connery lookalike and routinologist, offers his unique advice to help get her there, she seizes the opportunity with both hands. Camille's journey is full of surprising escapades, creative capers, and deep meaning as she sets out to transform her life and realize her dreams one step at a time....

©2018 Raphaelle Giordano (P)2018 Penguin Audio

What the critics say

“[A] charming, feel-good story...funny, sweet, and not without a few important happy-life tips.” (Good Housekeeping)

“A good pick for readers who are looking for a lighter take on Eat, Pray, Love. A fast, feel-good story about finding happiness.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“A one-sitting read, because we all resemble Camille to some degree, and we’d all love to do what she does. So, what if we gave it a go...?” (Femme Actuelle, France) 

What listeners say about Your Second Life Begins When You Realize You Only Have One

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Hidden Lessons

An easy and upbeat listen with powerful self-reflective lessons hidden inside this simple, almost child-like tale.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Need some inspiration or motivation, start here!

I enjoyed the journey Raphaelle took me on. I looked forward to listening to a couple chapters every night before bed. I felt inspired and motivated to tackle some of my own "stuff" and above all, it made me smile. Great performance by Fiona Hardingham. #Audible1

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Charming and surprising

Through an unexpected circumstance, the stressed-out Camille meets the mysterious but wise Claude, a “routinologist,” and embarks on a journey to learn more about herself, how to become completely aware, and how to rediscover happiness. Every listener can learn lessons along with Camille about ways to achieve greater well-being.
#Audible1

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Cathy
  • 2020-12-01

Way too religious. Understated, but still religious. At one point the dog is hating on gays . Not nice

The dog is a hater of gay people. Unbelievable. That was it for me. Not funny.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • darlin-corrie
  • 2020-09-23

Bummer of a 1st book choice

basic, no depth and really hated the narration. kept hoping it would get more interesting, but, no

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Judi VanDeveer
  • 2020-09-23

Soothing narration

The narrator was good very expressive. It just didn't offer anything I haven't heard before.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marie Taylor-Harper
  • 2018-11-07

Extremely Inspiring

I would recommend this book to anyone who feels they are stuck or trying to find their authentic self. The story is truly a work of inspiration and I can’t wait to implement the suggestions and become a routinologist for someone who finds them self in a position they can’t seem to get themselves unstuck from.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-03-22

Anyone’s Story

I first recognized others in my life as well as a surface view of myself in these characters. I continued and the story and steps of looking inward and becoming artist and creator of one’s life unfolded. I then didn’t have to look far or too deeply to see myself in all the characters instead. I look forward to embarking on the journey myself with the tools provided.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Claudia Heredia
  • 2018-10-27

Life Changing....

Loved it. Learned to preoritize things in my life, and got the path yo do so. Thanks Claude

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Psychmaster
  • 2018-09-20

Ugggh need a refund

I would love those 6 hours back. Painfully boring and no substance whatsoever. It started off interesting but 30 minutes in, I struggled to maintain my focus.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Lana
  • 2021-04-22

A mumble jumble of pop self help

I don’t know how this is a bestseller anywhere. This is such a contrived construct of the latest pop psychology advice. Totally unrealistic and unhelpful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nicole Y. McKenna
  • 2021-03-15

Simply wonderful

What a perfect culmination of fiction and self help! Exactly what I needed! A must read

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-02-27

Simple but helpful

This book is predictable but there are still good nuggets in there to help someone consider things from a different perspective. I enjoyed it.