Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $26.32

Buy Now for $26.32

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Number-One French Best Seller

More than 3 Million Copies Sold Worldwide

The feel-good number-one best-selling French novel about a woman whose mission to cure her "routine-itis" leads her to lasting joy and true fulfillment, for fans of The Alchemist and Hector and the Search for Happiness.

At 38 and a quarter years old, Paris native Camille has everything she needs to be happy, or so it seems: a good job, a loving husband, a wonderful son. Why, then, does she feel as if happiness has slipped through her fingers? All she wants is to find the path to joy.

When Claude, a French Sean Connery lookalike and routinologist, offers his unique advice to help get her there, she seizes the opportunity with both hands. Camille's journey is full of surprising escapades, creative capers, and deep meaning as she sets out to transform her life and realize her dreams one step at a time....

©2018 Raphaelle Giordano (P)2018 Penguin Audio

What the critics say

“[A] charming, feel-good story...funny, sweet, and not without a few important happy-life tips.” (Good Housekeeping)

“A good pick for readers who are looking for a lighter take on Eat, Pray, Love. A fast, feel-good story about finding happiness.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“A one-sitting read, because we all resemble Camille to some degree, and we’d all love to do what she does. So, what if we gave it a go...?” (Femme Actuelle, France) 

What listeners say about Your Second Life Begins When You Realize You Only Have One

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

Loved this book. Easy to read and full of great tips and inspiration for living the life of your dreams

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good read! Keeps you thinking and trying to adjust your own self

The storyline was good. Wish I could’ve figured a way to implement these in a relatable way for myself. But I’m sure if I was to read again and try I could figure something out.
Overall was good. Even the French accent was easy to listen to.
Was able to follow along with characters and context.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Hidden Lessons

An easy and upbeat listen with powerful self-reflective lessons hidden inside this simple, almost child-like tale.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Need some inspiration or motivation, start here!

I enjoyed the journey Raphaelle took me on. I looked forward to listening to a couple chapters every night before bed. I felt inspired and motivated to tackle some of my own "stuff" and above all, it made me smile. Great performance by Fiona Hardingham. #Audible1

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Charming and surprising

Through an unexpected circumstance, the stressed-out Camille meets the mysterious but wise Claude, a “routinologist,” and embarks on a journey to learn more about herself, how to become completely aware, and how to rediscover happiness. Every listener can learn lessons along with Camille about ways to achieve greater well-being.
#Audible1

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Cathy
  • 2020-12-01

Way too religious. Understated, but still religious. At one point the dog is hating on gays . Not nice

The dog is a hater of gay people. Unbelievable. That was it for me. Not funny.

48 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • darlin-corrie
  • 2020-09-23

Bummer of a 1st book choice

basic, no depth and really hated the narration. kept hoping it would get more interesting, but, no

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marie Taylor-Harper
  • 2018-11-07

Extremely Inspiring

I would recommend this book to anyone who feels they are stuck or trying to find their authentic self. The story is truly a work of inspiration and I can’t wait to implement the suggestions and become a routinologist for someone who finds them self in a position they can’t seem to get themselves unstuck from.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-02-27

Simple but helpful

This book is predictable but there are still good nuggets in there to help someone consider things from a different perspective. I enjoyed it.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-03-22

Anyone’s Story

I first recognized others in my life as well as a surface view of myself in these characters. I continued and the story and steps of looking inward and becoming artist and creator of one’s life unfolded. I then didn’t have to look far or too deeply to see myself in all the characters instead. I look forward to embarking on the journey myself with the tools provided.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Judi VanDeveer
  • 2020-09-23

Soothing narration

The narrator was good very expressive. It just didn't offer anything I haven't heard before.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Psychmaster
  • 2018-09-20

Ugggh need a refund

I would love those 6 hours back. Painfully boring and no substance whatsoever. It started off interesting but 30 minutes in, I struggled to maintain my focus.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Lana
  • 2021-04-22

A mumble jumble of pop self help

I don’t know how this is a bestseller anywhere. This is such a contrived construct of the latest pop psychology advice. Totally unrealistic and unhelpful.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kate Malinowska
  • 2022-04-27

Absolutely amazing

I listened to the book several times in the past months. It is absolutely inspiring and I love the fact that it was made into a story. And I really don't get the bad reviews. The narrator was excellent. Also I'm a middle aged woman and I found it perfectly suitable to my situation. Unless you're in perfect place in life and have nothing to worry about, then I guess you won't find it helpful. Otherwise, I don't think there's an age bracket for the book. Seriously. And no, there's no dogs or gay references in the book, so whoever wrote that review must have been flying high. Real high. I highly recommend the book to anyone.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mohammed A Mohammed El Husaini
  • 2020-11-01

A must read for anyone!

A must read for anyone encountering any challenges and struggles in their life. I value this book and will always return to it if need be.

1 person found this helpful