Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Number-One French Best Seller

More than 3 Million Copies Sold Worldwide

The feel-good number-one best-selling French novel about a woman whose mission to cure her "routine-itis" leads her to lasting joy and true fulfillment, for fans of The Alchemist and Hector and the Search for Happiness.

At 38 and a quarter years old, Paris native Camille has everything she needs to be happy, or so it seems: a good job, a loving husband, a wonderful son. Why, then, does she feel as if happiness has slipped through her fingers? All she wants is to find the path to joy.

When Claude, a French Sean Connery lookalike and routinologist, offers his unique advice to help get her there, she seizes the opportunity with both hands. Camille's journey is full of surprising escapades, creative capers, and deep meaning as she sets out to transform her life and realize her dreams one step at a time....

©2018 Raphaelle Giordano (P)2018 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about Your Second Life Begins When You Realize You Only Have One

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Hidden Lessons

An easy and upbeat listen with powerful self-reflective lessons hidden inside this simple, almost child-like tale.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Need some inspiration or motivation, start here!

I enjoyed the journey Raphaelle took me on. I looked forward to listening to a couple chapters every night before bed. I felt inspired and motivated to tackle some of my own "stuff" and above all, it made me smile. Great performance by Fiona Hardingham. #Audible1

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Charming and surprising

Through an unexpected circumstance, the stressed-out Camille meets the mysterious but wise Claude, a “routinologist,” and embarks on a journey to learn more about herself, how to become completely aware, and how to rediscover happiness. Every listener can learn lessons along with Camille about ways to achieve greater well-being. #Audible1

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Judi VanDeveer
  • 2020-09-23

Soothing narration

The narrator was good very expressive. It just didn't offer anything I haven't heard before.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • darlin-corrie
  • 2020-09-23

Bummer of a 1st book choice

basic, no depth and really hated the narration. kept hoping it would get more interesting, but, no

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marie Taylor-Harper
  • 2018-11-07

Extremely Inspiring

I would recommend this book to anyone who feels they are stuck or trying to find their authentic self. The story is truly a work of inspiration and I can’t wait to implement the suggestions and become a routinologist for someone who finds them self in a position they can’t seem to get themselves unstuck from.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Claudia Heredia
  • 2018-10-27

Life Changing....

Loved it. Learned to preoritize things in my life, and got the path yo do so. Thanks Claude

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Psychmaster
  • 2018-09-20

Ugggh need a refund

I would love those 6 hours back. Painfully boring and no substance whatsoever. It started off interesting but 30 minutes in, I struggled to maintain my focus.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mohammed A Mohammed El Husaini
  • 2020-11-01

A must read for anyone!

A must read for anyone encountering any challenges and struggles in their life. I value this book and will always return to it if need be.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sherry
  • 2020-09-27

Excellent read

The voice of the narrator is so mesmerizing and pulls you into the story. But not only that it makes you look into your on life and what changes you need to make to get your life back in track. If you are are in rut and need a little push, encouragement I recommend this book. It is one that I will definitely listen to again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cammi Vallejo
  • 2020-09-21

Fantastic

I love her accent. The story was interesting and it makes it easy to pull tools you can use in your own life. I totally called the ending though.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Solmaz
  • 2020-09-14

Fluid story for a psychological book

Although, some parts at the story and Camile’s achievements were not 100% accurate; one can still benefit from the defined process of routinology! Absolutely worth reading.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cheri
  • 2020-09-05

Amazing book to be enjoyed by every stage in life.

A great story mixed in with good practical advice to enhance happiness in everyday life. A reminder it’s never to late to follow your dreams. I think many people at some time or another find themselves in a state of routine-itis. Practical guide to improve many aspects of life including ways to look at yourself in a positive way, step towards following your dreams, improve your relationships, finding more time for yourself, pulling out creativeness to inspire you to be the best you can be. I loved this book. Listened to the book on audible, buying the book for future reference.