Gratuit avec l'essai de 30 jours

Abonnement à Audible

14,95$ par mois

1 crédit par mois pour vous procurer le titre de votre choix – ce titre vous appartient.
Le catalogue Plus – écoutez à volonté des milliers de productions originales, de balados et de livres audio.
Après 30 jours, 14,95$/mois + taxes applicables. Annulable en tout temps.
Acheter pour 31,27$

Acheter pour 31,27$

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation d'Audible et la déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon. Des taxes peuvent s'appliquer.

Description

She’s been waiting her whole life to meet a man like Alex. But he’s been waiting, too. And once he has her, he’ll never let her go.... 

Hannah has done everything to make sure her life is safe and secure. A long way from her unstable childhood growing up in foster care, she’s content with her sweet, little, messy apartment and her satisfying job as a social worker. She quietly worries that, aged 36, she might never fall in love. But otherwise her life is where she wants it to be.  

Until, encouraged by her best friend to join a dating app, she meets Alex. He’s irresistibly handsome. He loves the same music as her. The same food as well. They both dream of travelling the world but agree they’d be equally happy escaping to a cottage by the beach in Devon. Both of them would love to own a Labrador one day. It’s like he’s made for her. It’s like he’s too good to be true. 

Hannah’s friends aren’t so sure about him. But Hannah thinks he’s perfect. 

Which is good. Because Alex knows she’s perfect for him, too. In fact, she’s exactly the girl he’s been looking for....

And nothing Hannah’s done to make her life safe will ever be enough.  

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller about dark obsession and internet dating. Fans of The Wife Between Us, Friend Request, and Gone Girl will adore this twisted love story. 

Praise for Sue Watson: 

"Tense, atmospheric psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Impeccably written and a big fat 5***** from me. Awesome!" (Number one best-selling author Angela Marsons)

©2020 Sue Watson (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

D'autres livres audio du même...

Ce que les auditeurs disent de First Date

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    64
  • 4 étoiles
    36
  • 3 étoiles
    18
  • 2 étoiles
    11
  • 1 étoile
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    75
  • 4 étoiles
    36
  • 3 étoiles
    7
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    1
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    52
  • 4 étoiles
    32
  • 3 étoiles
    16
  • 2 étoiles
    11
  • 1 étoile
    9

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars

Predictable

I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed when it comes to whodunnits, but even I saw the resolution to this story a mile away. If you aren’t being nudged about the protagonist’s troubled relationships (red herrings), there is the tragic childhood that is drilled into the reader throughout. In spite of also being told repeatedly that she is strong and does not brook any BS in a relationship, nothing is ever resolved, but she is left feeling “emotionally vulnerable” what seems like every other page or often enough to cause a reflex tic to develop by the end of the novel. I’m not sure if this tic was my body subconsciously trying to gouge my ears as a means of self protection or simply a benign reaction to a trigger. Either way, I am glad this is over.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Liked the story, loved the performance

Out of all the audiobooks I’ve listened to Tamsin Kennard is by far the best narrator. I enjoyed the story and the characters as well. I would definitely recommend it.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Horrible leading lady

I absolutely hated the main character. I kept listening because I wanted to see how it ended and was expecting some big shocker at the end which the author didn't deliver.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

Listened to it all very quick. Was interesting and did not expect the ending. Highly recommend.

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Terrible book but good ending

When I was reading this book I thought I would give it zero stars if I could. However, the last hour of listening was much better than the preceding hours of listening where I rolled my eyes and yelled at the book. The characters were awful. Hannah was a complete idiot. Who in their right mind would keep giving the boyfriend chances and trust him over a friend of many years. Can’t believe I kept listening but the last hour was really good which is why I gave it 2 stars.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a plot twist!

This book was amazing and at times infuriating! Thoroughly enjoyed the twists and narration kept you intrigued. Definitely recommended.

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Tamsin Kennard kept me listening

This one started out great, but midway I found the main character to be more annoying than likable. Naive and desperate are never a good combination and the main character in this one was overflowing with both. painful. The only reason I continued was Tamsin Kennards gift for narrating, she could read the old testament and I would be hooked!

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Difficult to get through, picked up near the end

Was difficult to get through this book. Lead character was annoyingly naive and stupid. Did pick up near the end at least. Didn't care for the narrator's "man voice".

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars

Drug on

The last 15 mins of the book was great but was 6 hours overdue. It just drug on too long and was very repetitive.

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Annoying and unsympathetic cast of characters

No jaw-dropping here. The story dragged until the end where it culminated in what felt like a lazy plot twist. I think what made it worse is that I really did not care what happened to any of the characters. Hannah is not a likeable person.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • 2020-10-20

What a Dumb Chick!

NO SPOILERS! This book is about domestic abuse and it was just so typical. The main character was the most gullible woman in the world and I found myself yelling at her for being so stupid. By the end I wanted her to die for all her dumb choices. The book could have been good if the author allowed her characters to do anything beyond the cliche.

I was left feeling very unfulfilled with this one.

25 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Pisces
  • 2020-11-24

This woman is a fool

Who in their right mind would be this foolish in this day and age. The main character is unbelievably stupid. It was hard to get through this book. The narrator was great.

16 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-11-17

Wooooowwww!!!

I’m pretty sure people thought I was a crazy person as I listened to this book just because every time there was a twist I’d yell “NO!” Or just gasp loudly. This book is amazing and one of the best I’ve listened too and was perfectly narrated. I saw some people write a review saying how dumb the main character was but that’s just it the author did an amazing job capturing her absolute naivety. This is a great one!

13 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Elizabeth A Arthofer
  • 2020-11-21

Couldn't Even Finish

The stupidity of the main character is beyond belief. Ridiculous. I bought the book because Tamsin Kennard is my favorite narrator (and, as usual, her performance is A+) but I couldn't even finish it.

9 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Tiffany
  • 2020-11-23

nobody is this stupid

the narrator did what she could but my GOD the main character is so dumb. people don't reason this way. people don't act this way. it's hard to read because it's so preposterous.

7 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 2020-10-25

Good but frustrating

I was so frustrated with the main character! I’m not even finished and if I wasn’t enjoying the overall story, I wouldn’t finish! This woman is so gullible and so easily deceived. Just when I start to like her then bam she turns into a woman willing to ignore the blatantly creepy signs!

6 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Thedrakes
  • 2020-11-19

Not my favorite

Not my favorite book by this author, It kept my interest but its hard to do a bad guy book when the main character is dumb. The story flowed well and the characters were developed well.

5 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • bnitaq
  • 2020-11-10

What a wonderful experience

This audible had me guessing the whole time. All the way to the end! I love the fact that nothing is what it seems. Just wonderful. Thank you for a wonderful audible.

5 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M. Benjamin
  • 2020-10-27

Amazing. the twist and turns

this book was amazing. all of the okit twist had me yearning for more. this is a must listen to book. i doubted it at first but so glad i continued to listen. well put together. highly recommend 👌

5 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-11-12

Stupid, beyond belief!!

Not a beat seller by far! If you can believe a woman in modern times refuses to acknowledge ghost lighting and who is also a social worker, then this one is for you.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile