Gratuit avec l'essai de 30 jours

Choisissez 1 livre audio par mois dans notre incomparable catalogue.
Écoutez à volonté des milliers de livres audio, de livres originaux et de balados.
Accédez à des promotions et à des soldes exclusifs.
L'abonnement Premium Plus se renouvelle automatiquement au tarif de 14,95 $/mois + taxes applicables après 30 jours. Annulation possible à tout moment.
Page de couverture de How High We Go in the Dark

How High We Go in the Dark

Auteur(s): Sequoia Nagamatsu
Narrateur(s): Julia Whelan, Brian Nishii, Keisuke Hoashi, MacLeod Andrews, Jeanne Sakata, Greg Watanabe, Kurt Kanazawa, Matthew Bridges, Kotaro Watanabe, Brianna Ishibashi, Joe Knezevich, Micky Shiloah, Stephanie Komure, Jason Culp
Essayer pour 0,00 $

14,95$ par mois après 30 jours. Annulable en tout temps.

Acheter pour 32,62$

Acheter pour 32,62$

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation d'Audible et la déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon. Des taxes peuvent s'appliquer.

Description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE ROXANE GAY'S AUDACIOUS BOOK CLUB PICK FINALIST FOR THE URSULA K. LE GUIN PRIZE

"Moving and thought-provoking . . . offering psychological insights in lyrical prose while seriously exploring speculative conceits." — New York Times Book Review

"Haunting and luminous . . . Beautiful and lucid science fiction. An astonishing debut." — Alan Moore, creator of Watchmen and V for Vendetta

Recommended by New York Times Book Review Los Angeles TimesNPRWashington Post Wall Street Journal Entertainment Weekly Esquire Good Housekeeping NBC NewsBuzzfeedGoodreads The MillionsThe Philadelphia Inquirer Minneapolis Star-Tribune San Francisco ChronicleThe Guardianand many more!

For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague—a daring and deeply heartfelt work of mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice.

In 2030, a grieving archeologist arrives in the Arctic Circle to continue the work of his recently deceased daughter at the Batagaika Crater, where researchers are studying long-buried secrets now revealed in melting permafrost, including the perfectly preserved remains of a girl who appears to have died of an ancient virus.

Once unleashed, the Arctic plague will reshape life on Earth for generations to come, quickly traversing the globe, forcing humanity to devise a myriad of moving and inventive ways to embrace possibility in the face of tragedy. In a theme park designed for terminally ill children, a cynical employee falls in love with a mother desperate to hold on to her infected son. A heartbroken scientist searching for a cure finds a second chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects—a pig—develops the capacity for human speech. A widowed painter and her teenaged granddaughter embark on a cosmic quest to locate a new home planet.

From funerary skyscrapers to hotels for the dead to interstellar starships, Sequoia Nagamatsu takes listeners on a wildly original and compassionate journey, spanning continents, centuries, and even celestial bodies to tell a story about the resilience of the human spirit, our infinite capacity to dream, and the connective threads that tie us all together in the universe.

"Wondrous, and not just in the feats of imagination, which are so numerous it makes me dizzy to recall them, but also in the humanity and tenderness with which Sequoia Nagamatsu helps us navigate this landscape. . . . This is a truly amazing book, one to keep close as we imagine the uncertain future." — Kevin Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of Nothing to See Here

©2022 Sequoia Nagamatsu (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

Featured Article: The Best Audiobooks of 2022 for All Your Listening Needs

The best audiobooks of 2022 are here! Check out our list and discover the very best audiobooks of 2022. You’re bound to find your next great listen here!

D'autres livres audio du même...

Ce que les auditeurs disent de How High We Go in the Dark

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    77
  • 4 étoiles
    38
  • 3 étoiles
    21
  • 2 étoiles
    9
  • 1 étoile
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    82
  • 4 étoiles
    32
  • 3 étoiles
    16
  • 2 étoiles
    3
  • 1 étoile
    1
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    71
  • 4 étoiles
    30
  • 3 étoiles
    17
  • 2 étoiles
    12
  • 1 étoile
    3

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Classer par :
Filtrer
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Get ready to feel all the feels as you explore from so many different perspectives.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible

This was one of the best audio books I’ve ever listened to. The story itself, an incredible science fiction tale, was so good. I love the different stories that span time, how there are little seeds planted to tie certain stories to the narrative. So well done. Highly recommend.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

How Humans Cope

January 2022 | 4/5
In the near future, an archaeologist takes up his recently deceased daughters job in an Arctic dig. They have uncovered the thawing remains of an ancient homo sapiens like, female in the permafrost, that unleashes a plague that sweeps the globe.

The novel then looks at individual stories from a cast of characters, spanning centuries, that show how humanity has suffered, with a pinch of hope.

A first person narrative is used giving each story a unique voice, though the stories do bleed into each other, and we have a few repeat characters.

As I was reading, I couldn't help but feel these were once short stories (they were), knitted together for a novel length book. It works and it doesn't. The connections are loose at times, and the stories can feel - distant. But overall well done.

It was an interesting read, dark, with a glimmer of light. If you're worried about climate change, pandemics, and mutants, Nagamatsu has it covered.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpectedly good listen.

I found this story that I often couldn't wait to take the time to listen to.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Epic and Remarkable

A series of interconnected stories (some of the connections were tenuous and I wished I had a paper copy so I could check if the link was a child or sibling of someone from a previous chapter - the chapter titles were ingenious/clever/poignant) It was interesting to read about the effects of a plague when we are (hopefully) coming through Covid, and the effects of climate change on a world already fragile from loss.

Beautifully, remarkably written, some of the chapters made me emotional (I was able to get through the chapter about Finch but feel myself tearing up over a pig...)

This is a story about grief, and loss, and how people struggle to go on after the death of loved ones. Some of the stories are small and everyday, and some are cosmically huge. The ending is optimistic - mostly.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars

A series of short stories linked by doom

Yet another layered series of stories (c.f. Bone Circles) with a central theme of flawed antiheroes who somehow achieve redemption in a world like ours where existential threats seem to crush hope. At the end, the tale is circular, explaining the arc of its and our existence. I’ve read better apocalyptic Sci Fi and better Japanese Sci Fi.

However, it is well constructed, acted and written and I still rate it as good literate fiction.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing character story

This is a deep dive into the lives of several individuals that is beautifully written with fantastical situations. One of my favourites.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

To me, it was great

I felt the ending was satisfying. I’m usually reluctant to read about pandemics but I enjoyed this.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Not my cup of tea

This book is a collection of stories. They span many years, and are very loosely tied together. Yes, you can piece an overarching story together, but I just found it very depressing overall. there was no science no problem solving. Its just how people coupe in a very difficult time.

The writing is beautiful. You really do feel for the characters in their moments. The performance was really well done. But, like i said not my cup of tea.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible

I loved how all the very different stories were linked together throughout - giving so many perspectives and details surrounding this pandemic. That would have been enough for me to give this 5 stars. But the ending! The way the entire thing is gathered together at the end was very unexpected and I'm going to be thinking about this book for a long time. I might even buy a physical copy for a re-read.
Cannot recommend enough!!

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.