Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Liar

Auteur(s): K. L. Slater
Narrateur(s): Lucy Price-Lewis
Durée: 8 h et 28 min
4.5 out of 5 stars (71 évaluations)
Prix: CDN$ 20,49
CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

How far would you go to protect your family?

Single dad Ben is doing his best to raise his children, with the help of his devoted mother, Judi. And then Ben meets Amber. Everyone thinks this is a perfect match for Ben, but Judi isn't so sure.... There's just something about Amber that doesn't add up.

Ben can't see why his mother dislikes his new girlfriend. And Amber doesn't want Judi anywhere near her new family. Amber just wants Ben and the children.

The further Judi delves into Amber's personal life, the closer she gets to shocking secrets that could change everything. And Judi must make a decision that could lead to the most disastrous consequences.

Liar is a compelling psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl Before and The Sister.

©2017 KMW Enterprises Limited (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

D'autres livres audio du même:

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    34
  • 4 étoiles
    26
  • 3 étoiles
    6
  • 2 étoiles
    5
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    45
  • 4 étoiles
    14
  • 3 étoiles
    7
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    31
  • 4 étoiles
    23
  • 3 étoiles
    7
  • 2 étoiles
    6
  • 1 étoile
    0
Trier :
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating story

Very engaging story, beautiful narration. Although written by a woman, about women, with amazing details that only women can sense and care about, I was quite thrilled by the story and liked the twisted end.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read!

Loved the book, narrator was wonderful easy to listen too. will definitely purchase more from this author. #Audible1

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars

awesome plot

I enjoyed this book because you really do not know what happened until the very end. #Audible1

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Mediocre story with good narration

Disappointing. I kept waiting for the “thriller” part of the book and it didn’t come until the last 45 min of the whole thing. Even then I found it to be very far fetched and wrapped up too rapidly.

The book itself was a bit boring to me. It was focused on the character of Judy and her perspective for most of it and frankly, I didn’t find her to be all that interesting. I kept listening in the hopes that it would eventually pick up but it just didn’t do it for me. The best part of this book was the narration because the story itself was just meh.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Liar was certainly an enjoyable read!

This is my first book of K L. Slater's. I like her writing style and found she told a great story. Although I had a pretty much figured out what was going on I still found the story engaging and entertaining. I didn't like how it ended though otherwise this would have been a five star book!

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Don't read reviews!

I think the reviews is what ruined this book for me. No review I read gave away the end, but knowing about a twist made me look for it and I figured it out early on in the book which made the end pretty disappointing. If I avoided reviews I may have appreciated what the author did a little more. I didn't particularly care for narrator in this case either.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

What a great story and an excellent performance!

I would recommend this book to anyone. GRIPPING, SUSPENSEFUL and fairly fast moving. Couldn't wait to see what happened next.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed this a lot

when it co.es to suspense novels they're often predictable bit this one had you flipping and flopping

0 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

Trier :
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TC
  • 2017-07-03

Loved It!

I've bought and read so many awful "thrillers" lately that I'm afraid of wasting money on any more. Liar, however, was completely entertaining all the way through. I thought I knew where it was all headed, but was pleasantly surprised that I hadn't figured it out after all. I found the ending to be unpredictable and I loved it!

This wasn't so much a taut, keep you up at night thriller, as a slowly building suspense novel that makes you think you know everything, only to find out there's more to the story. Like most books in this genre, there are always things that are a bit unbelievable, but this was absolutely one of the best books I've listened to in quite awhile. Lucy Price-Lewis narrated it superbly.

184 personnes sur 190 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 2017-07-05

A compelling and twisted psychological thriller!

British author K.L.Slater uses the interesting device of stating the book with the last few sentences of Liar, identified as such, as the opening sentences of the novel.

I hardly know what to say about Liar. It certainly is compelling. Guessing the outcome even with the author's words at the beginning is impossible. Ultimately it is about determination to get ones way even if means destroying oneself in doing so. It is a wonderful novel even as it is incredibly, frighteningly dark. Narration by Lucy Price-Lewis could not be better.

Liar may be the best psychological thriller I have ever read and it is easily deserves a 5 star rating. This author has great talent. I VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND Liar.

84 personnes sur 87 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M. Ryder
  • 2017-08-23

Intense and Twisted!

Great psychological thriller that kept me guessing. Never expected the ending to take such a turn. Scary to think we can be fooled by those who are closest to us. What a big surprise that was! Although this is not a lengthy novel, the time spent listening really flew by. As for Lucy Price-Lewis performance of each of the characters, she definitely managed to bring all of them to life. It was easy to figure out which one was speaking at any given time. I will now check out other books from the author. 😊👍🏼

41 personnes sur 43 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Mervyn
  • 2017-12-12

A very dark story.

I did not have good feelings during or after this story. The plot was good. The reading was good but the dark, psychological twists leave a bad taste.

46 personnes sur 49 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jennifer
  • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • 2017-11-14

I felt tricked, and not in a good way

I seem to have been reading a lot of books with endings with a twist lately. This ending is contrived, and I felt cheated by it. I'd recommend "Safe With Me" by the same author over this particular effort.

10 personnes sur 10 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Janice
  • Sugar Land, TX, United States
  • 2018-01-27

Manipulative train wreck

The prologue sets the scene for the final showdown between two women that we know hate each other enough to kill. Who these two are and how they got to this point is where the story has to go. Unfortunately, author Slater seems to have difficulty distinguishing tension from tedium. Having the POV switch between the adversaries in peel-back-the-onion style keeps the cards held tightly to each ones’ chest, but soon becomes repetitive, especially when it comes to the mom Judi (although Amber gets kind of tiresome too). If this had been shortened to a novella with tighter plotting, maaayybe it would have been more palatable. But the longer the secrets are just teased at, the less tension was sustained – just get on with it please.

Judi and Amber, however unlikable, are the only characters with any dimension. Son Ben was a wuss and husband Henry was a jerk, both paper thin. Story threads meant to add some unexpected interest just muddied the picture and never got resolved. In fact, even after we reach the end and find out who stands and who falls, there’s no real resolution. Scene fades, credits roll and it’s impossible to see how either of these miserable women could “win” because there’s no plausible way to get away with it. There's no attempt at explaining how the killer tries to solidify her victory. I ended feeling I had been manipulated into staring at a train wreck just to see it pull the brake at the last minute and stall on the tracks.

9 personnes sur 9 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Donna
  • 2017-07-06

5

Now this is a psychological suspense mystery! I listened to it straight through. The reader does a very good job. This is British, which I love, intelligent, secretive, not a police officer anywhere.

62 personnes sur 69 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Katie
  • 2017-10-13

Nice Performance

The performance was very well done, but the story was lacking. I feel like it ended rather abruptly and left the characters undeveloped.

6 personnes sur 6 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Courtney
  • 2017-07-23

Omg what a selection

It takes A LOT to surprise me...I listen to so many of these thrillers however...even the most seasoned listener will enjoy this delightful wickedness!

33 personnes sur 37 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Zenobia Carson
  • Brooklyn Center Minnesota
  • 2017-07-01

very good!

love the twist at the end! never saw it coming and great narration also! A great mystery.

45 personnes sur 51 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente