Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

The Orphan's Tale

A Novel
Auteur(s): Pam Jenoff
Narrateur(s): Jennifer Wydra, Kyla Garcia
4.5 out of 5 stars

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Sélectionner ou ajouter un nouveau mode de paiement

Acheter avec 1 crédit(s)

En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les Conditions générales de vente d'Audible et la Déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon.

Acheter pour CDN$ 42,25

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les Conditions générales de vente d'Audible et la Déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon.

En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les Conditions générales de vente d'Audible et la Déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon.

Description

Look out for Pam's new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II - coming soon!
A New York Times best seller!
"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " (Library Journal)
"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush." (Christina Baker Kline, number one New York Times best-selling author of Orphan Train)
A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 
Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 
Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another - or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
©2017 Pam Jenoff (P)2017 Harlequin Enterprises, Limited
Voir plus Voir moins
Il n'y a pas encore de critiques disponibles pour ce livre audio.

Évaluations de clients

Plus pertinent
2 out of 5 stars
Écrit par Churchill le 2017-03-23

Sappy and tedious

What should have been a compelling story is undermined by overblown and repetitive sentences. The result is you don't care very much for the two main characters. There are too many themes competing for attention without much depth provided for any of them. This is more a young adult novel.

Lire la suite Ne plus voir

122 personnes sur 128 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

5 out of 5 stars
Écrit par BonSue le 2017-03-01

WWII story told from a unique perspective

This is a fantastic story of self-sacrifice, loss, and love during World War II, told from the unique perspective of circus performers. The author did a great job of weaving together the stories of people who were considered outcasts of society for various reasons and how they pulled together to earn a living while enduring persecution and hiding a few Jewish comrades in plain sight of their enemies.

Lire la suite Ne plus voir

59 personnes sur 62 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

Afficher toutes les évaluations