Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

The Scholar

The Cormac Reilly Series, Book 2
Auteur(s): Dervla McTiernan
Narrateur(s): Aoife McMahon
Durée: 10 h et 19 min
4.5 out of 5 stars (25 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

A compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed.

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal - her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy - it has even funded Emma's own groundbreaking research. 

As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy? 

A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

©2019 Dervla McTiernan (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

D'autres livres audio du même:

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    17
  • 4 étoiles
    8
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    18
  • 4 étoiles
    3
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    14
  • 4 étoiles
    7
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Trier :
  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth the listen.

Good book. I liked her other one better but still worth a listen. Narrator was excellent.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

Trier :
  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jack B. Rochester
  • Lexington, MA
  • 2019-05-25

A Good Story, A Great Listen

Wishing to step just a bit outside my normal Audible book-listening – which, to some extent, mirrors my interest in reading what I call “airplane novels” or “brain candy” mysteries and thrillers by well-known authors, I downloaded The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan, an Irish lawyer and author. I suppose I was drawn to this Audible book because I’d just worked with Ana Clements, an exceptional voice actor-artist who undertook a County Cork Irish accent for a character in my new novel, Anarchy. Listening to Aoife McMahon, also a native of Clare, Ireland, narrate The Scholar, I was convinced Ana had done a stellar job with my Caitlin Dugan.

And so back to The Scholar, which I learned was the second novel in a series the author is writing about Cormac Reilly, a police detective, that began with The Ruin. I was an exceptionally good listen.

Cormac is one of the most human mystery-thriller novel characters I’ve encountered, either in print or audio. He isn’t macho, and has moments of self-doubt, recrimination, shoulda-dones. He also shows a sweet loving tenderness toward his girlfriend, Emma Sweeney, but in the course of the story has cause to doubt her. This creates a lot of dramatic tension in a plot which is already deep into a multi-pronged set of what seem to be unrelated events and mysteries. One hopes that Cormac will knit them together as he attempts to solve the primary event, the murder of a young woman.

There were times when I thought there were too many plots, and as most readers/listeners would do, I tried to put myself in Cormac’s head to solve and resolve them. He figures them out, to be sure, but with perhaps a bit too much ease. I could not; there really weren’t many evidentiary hooks, but there was certainly enough mystery to keep me wondering – as any good novel ought to do – what happens next?

The answer, in The Scholar, is a lot.

As mentioned earlier, Ms. McMahon does a five-star job of narrating. In a genre so overrun with male authors and macho characters, it was a delight to read a work by a woman with well-drawn, three-dimensional characters of both genders.

5 personnes sur 5 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • 2019-05-17

Great read...

Seldom is a second book as good as the first, but I think this one might be better. I particularly liked the nod to Adrian McKinty buried in the middle. Well done!

5 personnes sur 5 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Barbara
  • 2019-05-28

Thoroughly enjoyable

Very well written and plotted. Great story.
Excellent narration. The voice changes for each character were perfect.
Can't wait for the next Cormac Reilly installment!

2 personnes sur 2 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jane
  • 2019-07-22

Brilliant!!

Such an excellent book and narration. This novel takes off from her last book and is even better. The characters are strong and the plot is engaging. I loved it.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mal
  • 2019-07-11

The Scholar

Very well written and thought out. Lots of side stories that come together. Fillled w/suspense and action. Narration was very good. Highly recomend!

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tessa Sargent
  • 2019-06-03

Edge of your seat thriller!

Dervla McTiernan does it again! Wow I thoroughly enjoyed The Ruin and The Scholar lived up to those high expectation. Cormac Reilly is such a likable character, flaws and all. This detective story had so many twists and turns I kept thinking I'd had it figured out and then something else would happen. I listened to it far too fast though, and now I'm sad it's over. It's difficult to believe this is only McTiernan's second novel, but she has definitely gained a lifelong reader in me! Aoife McMahon also does a phenomenal job in narrating this story!

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • EveryContinent
  • 2019-08-17

Good follow-up to what I hope is a long series

High marks on character development, atmosphere and inner workings of the Garda/Gardai. The narration is brilliant. Not too grisly. Writer sees the need to build around sensitive and PC topics, as do other writers in this genre (as noted by their reviewers) - government benefits, disabilities, etc. All in a gentle way, but not contributing much to the plot in my opinion.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • another know it all
  • North Carolina
  • 2019-08-06

series gets better and better

a great addition to the series. like the regulars, good to see them grow and get to know them better. don't like all of them, but enjoy not liking the bad ones.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Rory C. Dowd
  • San Francisco, CA
  • 2019-08-02

Improvement over the first one

I liked the first Cormac Reilly novel enough to check out the second one. As is often the case in detective series, the second one was better than the first. More character development and a better story.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Holly Krivjansky
  • 2019-06-30

Original, clever, well developed characters

5 star. Well written and unpredictable. I highly recommend. One of the best I have ever bought.