Résultats par auteur "Richard Wagamese"

Catégories

Toutes les catégories

11 résultat(s)
Trier par
    • Indian Horse

    • A Novel
    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Jason Ryll
    • Durée: 6 h et 51 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      5 out of 5 stars 531
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 490
    • Histoire
      4.5 out of 5 stars 488

    Saul Indian Horse is in critical condition. Sitting feeble in an alcoholism treatment facility, he is told that sharing his story will help relieve his agony. Though skeptical, he embarks on a heartbreaking journey from the present - and into the woods of Northern Ontario, where his life began in a snowy Ojibway camp. The tale that follows is one of great pain and great determination from Richard Wagamese, an author who "never seems to waste a shot" ( New York Times).

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Heart wrenching and Humbling

    • Écrit par Utilisateur anonyme le 2018-11-11

    Prix: CDN$ 26,81

    • Ragged Company

    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Monique Mojica, J. D. Nicholsen, Benjamin Blais, Autres
    • Durée: 15 h et 13 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars 4

    Four chronically homeless people - Amelia One Sky, Timber, Double Dick and Digger - seek refuge in a warm movie theater when a severe Arctic front descends on the city. During what is supposed to be a one-time event, this temporary refuge transfixes them. They fall in love with this new world and, once the weather clears, continue their trips to the cinema. On one of these outings they meet Granite, a jaded and lonely journalist who has turned his back on writing “the same story over and over again” in favor of the escapist qualities of film, and an unlikely friendship is struck. 

    Prix: CDN$ 33,25

    • Keeper'n Me

    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Deneh'Cho Thompson, Sam Bob
    • Durée: 9 h et 30 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      4.5 out of 5 stars 28
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 26
    • Histoire
      4.5 out of 5 stars 26

    When Garnet Raven was three years old, he was taken from his home on an Ojibway Indian reserve and placed in a series of foster homes. Having reached his mid-teens, he escapes at the first available opportunity, only to find himself cast adrift on the streets of the big city. Having skirted the urban underbelly once too often by age 20, he finds himself thrown in jail. While there, he gets a surprise letter from his long-forgotten native family. The sudden communication from his past spurs him to return to the reserve following his release from jail. 

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Beautiful

    • Écrit par Krow Fischer le 2019-04-23

    Prix: CDN$ 35,00

    • Medicine Walk

    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Tom Stechschulte
    • Durée: 8 h et 1 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      4.5 out of 5 stars 136
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 132
    • Histoire
      4.5 out of 5 stars 132

    By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks, and general literary.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Reaches into your soul and grabs your heart

    • Écrit par Georgina le 2018-03-14

    Prix: CDN$ 32,92

    • One Story, One Song

    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Christian Baskous
    • Durée: 5 h et 17 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars 4

    Best-selling author Richard Wagamese again invites listeners to accompany him on his travels. This time his focus is on stories: how they shape us, how they empower us, and how they change our lives. Ancient and contemporary, cultural and spiritual, funny and sad, the tales are grouped according to the four essential principles Ojibway traditional teachers sought to impart: humility, trust, introspection, and wisdom.

    Prix: CDN$ 28,91

    • Starlight

    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Wesley French
    • Durée: 6 h et 28 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      4.5 out of 5 stars 71
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 65
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars 66

    The final novel from Richard Wagamese, the best-selling and beloved author of Indian Horse and Medicine Walk, centres on an abused woman on the run who finds refuge on a farm owned by an Indigenous man with wounds of his own. A profoundly moving novel about the redemptive power of love, mercy, and compassion - and the land's ability to heal us. 

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Didn't want it to end - and it didn't

    • Écrit par Utilisateur anonyme le 2019-04-01

    Prix: CDN$ 42,11

    • One Native Life

    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Christian Baskous
    • Durée: 5 h et 26 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      5 out of 5 stars 12
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 11
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars 11

    One Native Life is a look back down the road Richard Wagamese has traveled - from childhood abuse to adult alcoholism - in reclaiming his identity. It's about what he has learned as a human being, a man, and an Ojibway in his 52 years on Earth. Whether he's writing about playing baseball, running away with the circus, making bannock, or attending a sacred bundle ceremony, these are stories told in a healing spirit. Through them, Wagamese reveals to listeners how to appreciate life for the journey it is.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A deep breath of air

    • Écrit par Marianne Moroney le 2019-04-24

    Prix: CDN$ 26,28

    • Embers

    • One Ojibway's Meditations
    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Christian Baskous
    • Durée: 1 h et 50 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars 3

    In this carefully curated selection of everyday reflections, Richard Wagamese finds lessons in both the mundane and sublime as he muses on the universe, drawing inspiration from working in the bush-sawing and cutting and stacking wood for winter as well as the smudge ceremony to bring him closer to the Creator. Embers is perhaps Richard Wagamese's most personal volume to date. Honest, evocative, and articulate, he explores the various manifestations of grief, joy, recovery, beauty, gratitude, physicality, and spirituality-concepts many find hard to express.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Awwd

    • Écrit par Marianne Moroney le 2019-04-11

    Prix: CDN$ 17,06

    • Dream Wheels

    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Tom Stechshulte
    • Durée: 13 h et 37 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      4.5 out of 5 stars 8
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 8
    • Histoire
      4.5 out of 5 stars 8

    Rodeo cowboy Joe Willie Wolfchild, riding an explosive bull called See Four and moments away from becoming World Champion, suffers a devastating accident. His parents and grandparents use all their native wisdom to ease him out of his subsequent bitter depression, but without success. Meanwhile, in a distant city, a troubled young kid named Aiden plans a holdup that goes wrong and lands himself in jail.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Good storytelling, not my favorite Wagamese book

    • Écrit par Utilisateur anonyme le 2018-05-10

    Prix: CDN$ 41,67

    • Cheval Indien (French Edition)

    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Pierre-Etienne Rouillard
    • Durée: 6 h et 15 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Histoire
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    À une autre époque, Saul Cheval Indien, fils de la nation ojibwée, était un joueur étoile, un phénomène sur les patinoires de hockey. Mais, au moment où il amorce l’écriture de ce récit, enfermé dans un centre de désintoxication, il touche le fond. Expliquer dans le cercle de partage les détours qu’a pris sa vie est trop dur, trop compliqué. C’est donc sur papier qu’il se raconte: son enfance dans les forêts du Nord, puis les horreurs des pensionnats autochtones, mais aussi l’exaltation vécue sur la glace des arénas.

    Prix: CDN$ 25,00

    • For Joshua

    • An Ojibway Father Teaches His Son
    • Auteur(s): Richard Wagamese
    • Narrateur(s): Craig Lauzon
    • Durée: 5 h et 44 min
    • Version intégrale
    • Au global
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Histoire
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Staring the modern world in the eye, Richard Wagamese confronts its snares and perils. He sees people coveting without knowing why, looking for roots without understanding what constitutes home, searching for acceptance without extending reciprocal respect, and longing for love without knowing how to offer it. He sees this because he lived it. For Joshua is Wagamese's love letter to his estranged son. Ojibway tradition calls for fathers to walk their children through the world and teach them their place in it. To teach them they belong. 

    Prix: CDN$ 29,83