Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A regency romance for fans of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice

Viscount Saye, eldest cousin of Fitzwilliam Darcy of Pemberley, is startled one wintry day by the news that his beloved, Lillian Goddard, is to become engaged to another. Unwilling to lose her, he quickly plans a party at his ancestral estate to woo her away from her suitor. Twenty ladies and gentlemen respond to his invitation, eager for a fortnight of revelry in Saye’s inimitable style.

Fitzwilliam Darcy, at last engaged to his beloved Elizabeth Bennet, finds himself stymied by her father. Mr Bennet has consented to the engagement but forces them to endure a prolonged courtship, with too much time spent apart. Getting Elizabeth to the house party is only the first in a series of frustrations and challenges that confront them. Will their love and attachment prevail?

Georgette Hawkridge has all the finest qualities of a lady of fashion. Alas, she has fallen in love with a decidedly unfashionable man, an affection they have kept well-concealed. Two weeks is a long time to hide, however, and the truth of what they mean to one another—and the man her suitor really is—must eventually emerge.

Colonel Richard Fitzwilliam attends his brother’s party with no thought for anything but time among friends; after all, he is too poor to marry, an idea that rankles, particularly when he must watch love bloom around him. Then he meets Sarah Bentley, a pretty, wealthy girl with a predilection for admiring the unlovable, but will he know his heart before it’s too late?

Amid masques and marvels, love will abound; attachments will be formed, tried, and tested, and one couple’s engagement will come to an end. For all who heed the summons, it will be an unforgettable fortnight at Matlock!

A Match Made at Matlock is an Austen-esque regency romance perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer and Pride & Prejudice.

©2022 Jan Ashton (P)2022 Quills & Quartos Publishing

What listeners say about A Match Made at Matlock

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2022-05-24

Saye, Saye, Saye

Saye is so adorably wicked but utterly enchanting along with his cousins. Their intertwined tales are charmingly diverting. This is one book that I believe will become another one of my go to MUST re-reads.
Bravo Ladies!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MHTex
  • 2022-04-29

Four of our best Austenesque authors, quadruple home run

So good I want to start it all over again right away. This will be on my re-listen list a couple times this year alone. And Stevie Zimmerman rocks!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Christine
  • 2022-04-19

Good storyline

I did like the many characters in this book. Although I wished ODC would have had more of a spot light.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Patti Cook
  • 2022-04-17

A dream house party!!!

Love the return of Lord Saye and what a pleasant surprise to meet so many other interesting characters! My fav new pairing was our dear Colonel with Sarah! She’s amazing! As much as I love Darcy and Elizabeth, I found I really enjoyed these other stories. This one is a quick read. I couldn’t put it down once I started. The amazing Stevie Zimmerman did another phenomenal job in her narration! This one is on my read-again list!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen Shields
  • 2022-04-13

Much, much, much laughter and great narrator!

I have never read a collaboration but after listening to the sample decided to check it out. The story was seamless, and of course the narration superb! I have read some of the authors and love listening to Zimmerman! I was continually surprised how often I burst out laughing at so many places. I have really come to love the Saye character! The only quibble I have are the times scientific names are used because I do not understand how to translate it. This may be a fairly bland review, but it will be a book I listen to often! I highly recommend if you are wanting a lighthearted way to spend a few hours!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sherrie Jones
  • 2022-04-09

Please, Ladies, Write Another!!!

Perfect!!!! This work is what a collaboration should be, including the perfect narrator, Stevie Zimmerman.

I’ve listened to dozens of JAFF stories and a very few make it to the list of my favorites that I listen to again and again. This one is now the latest addition to that list and has moved into the top 5.

I truly believe that this is so good that even Ms Jane Austen would love it. It’s witty, funny, romantic, and expertly crafted by talented writers and handed to a true voice artist who brings each character to life beautifully.

If you haven’t yet met Lord Saye, you are in for a treat. (Although, I might even suggest you read Amy D’Orazio’s “So Material A Change” first for a little backstory) Lord Saye is in top form, but he is not the only one that will make you smile or even laugh. Be prepared to finish some of his statements as he censores himself in the presence of ladies, oh my🤣!

We have a full cast at a two-week house party and everyone has their time in the limelight.

I really didn’t want it to end!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chris S.
  • 2022-04-07

FUN!

You simply MUST listen to this book. Hilarity by the bushels! A little angst but not much. It’s easy angst. Saye at his finest! Darcy, Fitzwilliam show a lighter side and a bit of brotherly friendship, love and rivalry. Some new characters but all n all a wonderful tale! Stevie of course manages all the characters to perfection. A house party you don’t want to miss out on!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marie
  • 2022-04-06

Positively Brilliant

This book is a collaboration written by four of my favourite JAFF authors, Amy D’Orazio, Jan Ashton, Julie Cooper, and Jessie Lewis. The writing is positively brilliant and seamless, and while I might guess at who wrote what, I will never be sure—it’s that smooth and flawless from page 1 to the end. This is an absolute must read and I wish I could give it more than five stars. Brava ladies!

Stevie Zimmerman’s outstanding narration of these characters is typical of her consistently first-rate performances. Highly recommend.