Get a free audiobook

At the Water's Edge

Written by: Harper Bliss
Narrated by: Anne James
Length: 7 hrs and 22 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Sometimes you need to go back to where you came from.

When Ella returns to her hometown to recover from a trauma, she makes a connection with Kay, the lovely owner of a lake resort.

Ella thought she didn't have time for love, but this extraordinary woman may just prove her wrong.

A deeply emotional listen by best-selling lesbian romance author Harper Bliss - perfect for fans of Radclyffe and Jae.

©2018 Harper Bliss (P)2019 Harper Bliss

What members say

No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Sandra
  • 2019-05-22

Wha!!????

I kept listening thinking it would get better. It was sooooo boring. I regret purchasing it. Harper Bliss is great but the narrator wasn't.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2019-01-29

one of the best yet!

Great characters, great story, because it hit close to home for me it was intense in places. Couldn't stop listening, had to know how the characters would resolve the different issues. One of Harper's best to date.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sab
  • 2019-01-20

Harper never disappoints

Loved this book, it was interesting, hot, important subject: mental health and suicide. In fact this is the second book in the last 48 hours that I read that talks about this important subject. Family affairs, and relationships.
The narration was excellent, well chosen good voice and great narration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • TMS
  • 2019-01-14

Missing beginnings!

I have not completed the book yet but so aggravated that key parts of sentences are missing in the narration! Usually the beginning of a new sentence and often times it is a question so sometimes difficult to know what was asked!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • scheliece sankey
  • 2019-06-12

I'm falling

Harper Bliss I'm falling more and more in love... with your work. I love that you don't stick with the norm, but open our minds to think beyond the tipical lesbian relation. However you still give us romance and sex... YES SEX!!!!You give so many angle and path ways and.... I love it. please don't stop.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Sheeks
  • 2019-04-09

this wasn't for

the writer is one of my fav so my review isn't based on her writing.

let me start by saying... I hope this book finds the right person struggling with depression and feels like giving up. and I hope you have a good support system around you. While I don't know you, I am rooting for you and sending you hugs with lots of love.

with that... when I read a book it is for the purpose of escapism. it's was just not a fun feel good book that gave an escape. the character lives in her mind and books like that are extremely hard for me to get into. I struggled to finish this. I wanted to stop and just end it already.

again, some people need this and it's brave of the author to tackle this topic, for that alone, I commend her. just not for me. another peeve was that the second MC is seen as a savior to our MC... a quote that made me roll my eyes "if this doesn't save me, I don't know what will" in the middle of sex. really just not for me. the most offputting thing is the character lives in her head and the story is from her POV so lots of thoughts... like 85 to 90% is her thoughts even during sex... I can't get into that.

on to the next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ps57
  • 2019-04-01

Recovering oneself and growing stronger.

This story spoke to my very soul. it gave words and voice to a heart long silent. Ellie has such strength in her complete brokenness. Harper has told this story in such a beautifully healing, life giving way. I could not put it down.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • N.B
  • 2019-02-06

Not it

I absolutely adore Harper Bliss writing and the narrators she pairs with her books. This one didn’t do it for me. It left me hanging and I felt like the whole story was beating a dead horse, loom and doom whole book.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Hetkala
  • 2019-01-23

a recommended must read

an emotionnal read, but a highly enjoyable one. it rings so true. well written, well read.