Get a free audiobook

Conversations with Friends

A Novel
Written by: Sally Rooney
Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 8 hrs and 21 mins
4 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A sharply intelligent novel about friendship, lust, jealousy, and the unexpected complications of adulthood in the 21st century

Frances is a cool-headed and darkly observant young woman vaguely pursuing a career in writing while studying in Dublin. Her best friend and comrade-in-arms is the beautiful and endlessly self-possessed Bobbi. At a local poetry performance one night, Frances and Bobbi catch the eye of Melissa, a well-known photographer, and as the girls are then gradually drawn into Melissa's world, Frances is reluctantly impressed by the older woman's sophisticated home and tall, handsome husband, Nick. However amusing and ironic Frances and Nick's flirtation seems at first, it gives way to a strange intimacy, and Frances' friendship with Bobbi begins to fracture. As Frances tries to keep her life in check, her relationships increasingly resist her control: with Nick, with her difficult and unhappy father, and finally, terribly, with Bobbi.

Desperate to reconcile her inner life to the desires and vulnerabilities of her body, Frances' intellectual certainties begin to yield to something new: a painful and disorienting way of living from moment to moment.

Written with gemlike precision and marked by a sly sense of humor, Conversations with Friends is wonderfully alive to the pleasures and dangers of youth and the messy edges of female friendship.

©2017 Sally Rooney (P)2017 Random House Audio

What the critics say

"Readers who enjoyed Belinda McKeon's Tender and Caitriona Lally's Eggshells will enjoy this exceptional debut." ( Library Journal )
"[Sally] Rooney captures the mood and voice of contemporary women and their interpersonal connections and concerns without being remotely predictable.... A clever and current book about a complicated woman and her romantic relationships." ( Kirkus)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2017-08-23

Interesting point of view; glad I listened!

From my 60-year old vantage point, I found this book a stimulating exploration of a world outside my own. Heard an interview with the author on The New Yorker podcast, and the book was as interesting as she is.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • barbara
  • 2018-02-13

Stuck inside a 21-year-old's head--not much fun

Any additional comments?

I really struggled with my basic dislike of the main character, almost gave up on the book halfway through, but forced myself to listen to the end. There were some good moments in the book, the author has a great eye for details, uses language well, but oh my goodness, her level of micro-detailed self-involvement and fascination with her own interior process grows old very quickly, and becomes, for this reader anyway, claustrophobic to the point of near asphyxiation. I was so glad when the book ended.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • j phillips
  • 2019-05-11

4.29 stars

I downloaded this one because I recently listened to and enjoyed Normal People, Sally Rooney’s most recent novel. Rooney has a distinct writing style, which is descriptive and insightful. If you like one of her books you’re surely to like her other. But, You have to like character driven narratives. That doesn’t mean the plot isn’t interesting. It is. The narrator is also really good. I’m impressed by this lady’s writing.

Overall rating: 4.29 stars

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kaspar D. Mossman
  • 2019-01-30

Unlikeable protagonist, weak plot

I wanted to like this book. The writing is articulate and fluid on the small scale. But I just could not care less about the main character, nor did the author give me any motivation to continue listening once she'd introduced the setting and the milieu. I totally lost interest--and began listening to "Milkman" by Anna Hunt, also about a young Irishwoman (different era, VERY different) which is the polar opposite. Milkman, go listen to it now!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kait
  • 2019-03-25

cringe worthy in the best way possible

Do you like the office? Do you like romantic comedies? Than this novel is for you! Full of hilarious quips and compelling thoughts, you will be blown away by the story telling of Sally Rooney.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RE Murphy, Jr
  • 2019-01-09

like Mahler or Faure, all mood and not much plot.

Like the composers who wash us over with mood, Rooney packs intention, dialogue, nonverbal tells and contrary emotions into her sentences. Poetic in economy of disparate feelings, she contains more of what is being felt, reacted to, and verbally unsaid. "How does she do that?" I found myself thinking often. If Austen and Mozart gave us the human comedy, Rooney gives it to us times 10.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-04-29

Glad the book was read to me.

This book is fine to listen to while you’re busy. I wouldn’t want to actually read it. It’s full of superficial millennial drama. It’s not too layered or deep.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Northern_Lightz
  • 2019-04-20

Overrated is not a strong enough statement

No redeeming qualities. I’m at a loss as to positive reviews. Drivel. Very occasional witty banter in dialogue does not make up for the 10 hours of life wasted on this plotless, characterless piece of pulp fiction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ailish
  • 2019-03-28

God damn

This was very easily my favorite book of the past 12 months. She just nails the details of specific feelings. Highly relatable as a 20 something.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-03-27

Progressively Enjoyable

Narrator's voice was quite pleasant. Struggled to get into the story line until about 15 chapters in, but pleasantly surprised at my enjoyment of the entirety of the second half. Would recommend.