Get a free audiobook

Deception Cove

Written by: Owen Laukkanen
Length: 11 hrs and 16 mins
5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of CJ Box and Michael Koryta, an "intimate and cinematic" thriller* about an ex-marine, an ex-convict, and a rescue dog caught in the crosshairs of a ruthless gang in remote Washington state.

Former US Marine Jess Winslow reenters civilian life a new widow, with little more to her name than a falling-down house, a medical discharge for PTSD, and a loyal dog named Lucy. The only thing she actually cares about is that dog, a black-and-white pit bull mix who helps her cope with the devastating memories of her time in Afghanistan.

After 15 years - nearly half his life - in state prison, Mason Burke owns one set of clothes, a wallet, and a photo of Lucy, the service dog he trained while behind bars. Seeking a fresh start, he sets out for Deception Cove, Washington, where the dog now lives.

As soon as Mason knocks on Jess' door, he finds himself in the middle of a standoff between the widow and the deputy county sheriff. When Jess' late husband piloted his final "fishing" expedition, he stole and stashed a valuable package from his drug dealer associates. Now the package is gone, and the sheriff's department has seized Jess' dearest possession - her dog. Unless Jess turns over the missing goods, Lucy will be destroyed.

The last thing Mason wants is to be dragged back into the criminal world. The last thing Jess wants is to trust a stranger. But neither of them can leave a friend, the only good thing in either of their lives, in danger. To rescue Lucy, they'll have to forge an uneasy alliance. And to avoid becoming collateral damage in someone else's private war, they have to fight back - and find a way to conquer their doubts and fears.

*Alex Segura, author of Blackout and the Pete Fernandez series

©2019 Owen Laukkanen (P)2019 Hachette Audio

What the critics say

"I could write pages singing the praises of Deception Cove's vivid characters and ruthless pace - but here's the short version: Owen Laukkanen sure as hell knows how to tell a story. Read this one, you won't regret it." (Nick Petrie, national best-selling author of The Drifter)

"In Deception Cove, Owen Laukkanen gives you everything you could want in a thriller - rich setting, breakneck pacing, thrilling action, a ton of heart, and a great dog. This is a cancel-your-plans-so-you-can-stay-in-to-read book." (Rob Hart, author of The Warehouse)

"Laukkanen has never been better. A crackerjack plot enhances the moving portrayals of the leads' inner lives." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • shelley
  • 2019-05-24

Excellent!

I sincerely hope that Owen Laukkanen is planning to continue with his Stevens and Windermere series. This is his second stand alone since his last in that series.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this new book and didn't want to put it down until I knew how it ended. The publisher's summary gives away probably the first 1/4 of the book. With a dog (Lucy) as the pivotal point , this story takes some very interesting and complex turns. Lucy is being used by corrupt local law to get her owner to find a package her murdered husband stole. The deputy has threatened to destroy Lucy. Her owner is a veteran who suffers from PTSD.
The man who trained Lucy is able to track her down and joins forces with her owner.
This is a very clear good vs evil with three unlikely heroes. Somehow each has the missing piece of what's missing from the other's broken life and it works.
Kevin Stillwell and Courtney Patterson do an excellent job narrating. They work well together.
This book has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

24 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cheryl
  • 2019-06-06

Good Story, Weird Narration

I’m glad I didn’t quit this book even though the strange upspeak style of narration annoyed me every step of the way. Since both the narrators did it, I can only assume they were directed.
Storyline kept me interested and the main characters had me rooting for them all the way. And there’s a dog. I’m a sucker for animals pervading the story, yay!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Courtney Harrington
  • 2019-06-17

Excellent,

Laukkanen crushes it again. Deception Cove isn’t my favorite book by this author but only because some of his other books are so tremendously good. This one is top tier as well and a great read / listen. I can’t recommend it enough. Grab any of his books and dive in and you’ll find yourself quickly wanting to read them all. Enjoy!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • G
  • 2019-10-19

By the Book To Skim the Overload of PTSD Scenes

The Narrator is excellent however there is way too much description of Jess's PTSD especially since it's difficult to skim an Audiobook, I don't have to be lead by the nose (ears actually) each time there's an opportunity for Jess to have an episode at the worst moment. The story would be a 5 for me if it had been 8-9 hours without so much "Jess has PTSD" excess.

I've listened to all Owen Laukkanen's books, have recommended them to friends. Even with this being my least favorite book of his, I still like it, just not as much as the others.

The rest of the book is what all the 5 star reviewers say it is, first rate, he can tell a story!