Listen free for 30 days

  • Dreams Lie Beneath

  • Written by: Rebecca Ross
  • Narrated by: Chloe Dolandis
  • Length: 12 hrs and 7 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Dreams Lie Beneath cover art

Dreams Lie Beneath

Written by: Rebecca Ross
Narrated by: Chloe Dolandis
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $40.01

Buy Now for $40.01

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Rebecca Ross, acclaimed author of The Queen’s Rising duology, comes a story about magic, vengeance, and the captivating power of dreams. A must-listen for fans of The Hazel Wood and The Night Circus.

The realm of Azenor has spent years plagued by a curse. Every new moon, magic flows from the nearby mountain and brings nightmares to life. Only magicians - who serve as territory wardens - stand between people and their worst dreams. 

Clementine Madigan is ready to take over as the warden of her small town, but when two magicians arrive to challenge her, she is unknowingly drawn into a century-old conflict. She seeks revenge, but as she gets closer to Phelan, one of the handsome young magicians, secrets - as well as romance - begins to rise. 

To fight the realm’s curse, which seems to be haunting her every turn, Clementine must unite with her rival. But will their efforts be enough to save Azenor from the nightmares that lurk around every corner?

©2021 Rebecca Ross (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Dreams Lie Beneath

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book, okay narration

What a delight! It's so wonderful when you discover a book in your favorite genre that actually surprises you. Where you have predictions based on so many books and years of reading that turn out to be completely wrong because the author had a trick up her sleeve. Oh the joy!

This is actually crafted like a fairy tale of old. With twists and turns and world building and plot. Remember original plot anyone?

There is a central buildup and momentum of the MC around which everyone else swirls. Instead of stopping and starting or branching into areas that seem to be specifically designed for off plot entertainment and shock value. As if written specifically to be picked up as a TV show or movie. (Authors, can you quit doing that? We know what you're up to.)

It's a very good coming of age and personal growth story. One that seems to progress in a way that even for a fantasy, seems highly plausible. Where the delusions of self and past patterns around family and belief systems really need to be examined, released or rehashed in order to move forward.

The magic and world building is solid and truly lets you jump into another way of being, far away from the difficulties of real life in this decade.

I really enjoyed that it was in three parts and yet they seamlessly moved into each other and it was great to have an ha, but one that made sense and wasn't forced or just simply too easy.

Something that I think is overlooked in many na fantasy books which was present here, was a reality to the healing and injuries characters suffered. Instead of somebody being stabbed and magically healing in 20 minutes, there was a legitimate timeline which was also part of the story. And also a great opportunity for the reader to do some self-examination about our personal obsession with speed. To understand that healing takes time and that real cure comes from allowing yourself to sit in the moment and feel the pain. Then choose how you're going to move forward.

And lastly double yay for enemies to friends to lovers trope in a fantasy novel where the male wasn't 200 plus years older

A very enjoyable read and now I want to delve into this author's entire oeuvre.
(Finally got to use that word in a review).

🎙️🔊
Narration is good. Maybe 3.5
Yet by the end of the book unfortunately everyone starts to sound like a 90-year-old woman. It's like the character of nazreen has slipped into everybody else's voice. I don't know why our young male MC Phalen has suddenly become dry and creaky.

I was also annoyed and thrown off by a few moments throughout the book where some of the characters really sounded like whining teenagers. What the heck was going on then? Totally out of place from the rest of the book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!