Listen free for 30 days

  • Edge of Defiance: A Post-Apocalyptic EMP Survival Thriller

  • Edge of Collapse, Book 5
  • Written by: Kyla Stone
  • Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski
  • Length: 10 hrs and 26 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Edge of Defiance: A Post-Apocalyptic EMP Survival Thriller cover art

Edge of Defiance: A Post-Apocalyptic EMP Survival Thriller

Written by: Kyla Stone
Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Amid chaos, tyranny rises. Freedom demands a price....

As the United States unravels, the town of Fall Creek, Michigan struggles to survive. Hannah and Liam have endured the brutal winter and ruthless adversaries, but the threat has never been greater.

Enemies from within have wrested control of the town — including what little remains of the food. Isolated, overpowered, and on the verge of starvation, the townspeople are faced with a desperate choice.

To be free, Fall Creek may have to sacrifice more than they ever thought possible.

When the country goes dark, ordinary people find themselves facing the end of the world as they know it. As society collapses before their eyes, they'll have to risk everything to protect their home and the people they love.

From USA Today best-selling Author Kyla Stone comes the fifth installment in the Edge of Collapse series. Featuring flawed, complex characters and fast-paced action adventure, this survival thriller is perfect for fans of Franklin Horton, Tom Abrahams, and Jack Hunt.

Rated PG-13 for mild language and moderate violence.

©2020 Kyla Stone (P)2020 Kyla Stone

What listeners say about Edge of Defiance: A Post-Apocalyptic EMP Survival Thriller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A twist with every chapter.

It's like binge watching only ten times better. So enjoyable. I've been hooked since book one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping 5th book!

Obviously I’m nice about to listen to book 6! I love this series, thank you Kyla 🙏

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Poorly written and not romantic, but entertaining

These books are 100% plot, mostly related to battles of increasing scale, with extremely light romantic subplot. They have an interesting and compelling story that kept me reading through all 8 books (1 - 7 plus the prequel), but they were somewhat poorly written.

I felt like I was a teenager reading Twilight again, with Edward's features constantly being referred to as cold and chiselled as though from marble, every other page. Every single time Hannah experienced anxiety, blood rushed in her ears, her vision would narrow, she'd look desperately around the room for something, anything, to count, and she'd slowly come back to herself. We'd get the same word-for-word schpiel every time. When characters experience pain, pain "exploded" in their ___. Why is the pain always exploding? Liam was always described as "ruggedly handsome". After reading the same description for the 100th time, you start to ask yourself whether an editor ever looked at it. Liam has striking gray blue eyes. I get it. We get it. We know. Yes, Milo loves peanut butter. Does he have ANY other traits? Do the people in this story know a single thing about this child other than a single food he likes to eat? Does he eat citrus and vegetables? Are you going to give this boy scurvy? Did you know that everyone loves classic rock? Do you? Do you? Do you wanna hear Black Bird again? Have we mentioned the song Black Bird by the Beatles?

Probably because so much of the material is re-explaining what happened in the prior books, and copying and pasting the exact same descriptions of pain, fear, anticipation, anxiety, and the major characters, this 8-book-long-series feels like it drags on and should have been abridged into one longer novel.

Throughout the first books, it also transformed from what appeared to be a slow-burn romance set during the apocalypse to a play-by-play military fiction with the slightest hint of romantic undertones. If you're reading it for the romance aspect, I wouldn't. It was weirdly sanitized and slightly religious, without any hints of anything remotely sexual, and without any swearing of any kind. One climactic moment is completely ruined by calling the evil-doer "jerkface" like it's some extremely insulting gotcha. I've read some criticisms that say, "You really think that a battle-hardened 30-something man would never say 'shit' or something similar?" I honestly find that more believable than the idea that a teenage girl with blue hair and piercings is going to unironically call someone a jerkface.

It's not all bad. Some characters had some interesting character development, like Noah. I loved the character of Quinn. Most people fail to write teenage girls with any sense of humanity, whereas Quinn was extremely interesting, complex, and subverted expectations. That said, other characters -notably, Liam and Hannah, the main protagonists - don't seem to grow all that much and were pretty one dimensional. I enjoyed the multiple perspectives, especially since it was some of the "minor" characters were the most interesting. I also enjoy it when they give perspectives of the "villains" of the story, though most of the villains were fairly one dimensional, pure-evil people. I noted that there were people of every background and nationality included in the story, without leaning into any tropes. They were just written like any people would be written. I like that approach, it makes for more believable people.

I read this in audiobook format and the narrator was great. One of my pet peeves with narration is when someone tries to transform their voice into another age, gender or regional accent that they can't accomplish, and it completely takes you out of the book. Think, a man suddenly reading in an extremely light and airy voice like he's trying to be a little girl, or a woman suddenly talking in an extremely low and gruff voice like she's trying to be a huge burly man. She changed her voice slightly to make it clear that it was a new character, and it was always clear that it was, but not in a way that took you out of the story. There's also quite a lot of shooting and carrying on, and she even made that interesting, reading out each "boom" "bang" and "pop" in a way that actually sounded pretty accurate and didn't make me physically cringe. I think the narrator saved the writing a lot of the time, honestly.

All in all, I read this series because my mom said they were her favourites and while I feel like I'll never get that time in my life back, I also can't give it less than 3 stars, because to sit through 8 books of anything says they must have been at least entertaining.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

Good story but a bit too wordy for me. Somewhat predictable. There are 2 more books but this is where I get off.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!