Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Inheritance Games cover art

Inheritance Games

Written by: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Narrated by: Christie Moreau
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $28.27

Buy Now for $28.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Don't miss this "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets - perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: Survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why - or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.

To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch - and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: Dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions.

Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: A twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

©2020 Jennifer Lynn Barnes (P)2020 Little, Brown Young Readers

What the critics say

"A thrilling blend of family secrets, illicit romance and high-stakes treasure hunt, set in the mysterious world of Texas billionaires. The nonstop twists kept me guessing until the very last page!" (Katharine McGee, New York Times best-selling author of American Royals)

"Part The Westing Game, part We Were Liars, completely entertaining." (Kirkus)

"This strong, Knives Out-esque series opener...provides ample enjoyment." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

What listeners say about Inheritance Games

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    82
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    116
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

I enjoyed this book so much I couldn’t stop listening to it. It was illustrated well and read well.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Be warned: You won’t stop until you’ve gone through all of the books!

This mystery book made me question so many things and the biggest question was how can one start be so captivating that I could binge the whole series in a single week?

The characters are deep and equally flawed in a way that shows the human side to the rich and famous. The plot builds at a wonderful pace and even when you think you know what’s going on, you don’t. And that is probably a huge part of why I haven’t been able to put my headphones down.

The narrator did a magnificent job capturing tones, personalities and unique vocal patterns in the individual characters, making it easy to know who is talking.

The pacing was perfect.

The only thing I disliked was the hen the story ended but I immediately bought the second story

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t stop listening!!

I loved the story, characters throughout the entire story. I also thoroughly enjoyed the ending.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Knives Out Fans Will Love It

I finally decided to give this one a try, since I’ve seen it everywhere. While it wasn’t what I expected, I did enjoy it and can see why it’s so hyped. The story is fun, charming, clever, and fast paced.

Avery is an easy to relate to main character who finds herself tangled in a complicated situation where she inherits billions of dollars from an unknown man, and is forced to contend with his tumultuous family. Though I found her to be a bit of a Mary Sue at times, I enjoyed the moments where she reflected on her vulnerabilities and the consequences of inheriting so much wealth.

All of the Hawthorne boys have distinct and charismatic personalities. They are the centre of the story and I loved reading about them and their secrets.

The story also splits between the consequences of a normal girl becoming one of the richest people on the planet, and the secrets ad puzzles in Hawthorne house. While I did appreciate the realism in this setting and the drama that came with it, I wanted a bit more of the puzzles and danger.

That said, this is a really fun book with complicated characters, ,emotion, and excitement. Perfect for anyone looking to dive into a mystery over the weekend

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So many puzzles!

So good!
Many puzzles and twists and turns! Many mysteries inside a mystery!
Such a great story, highly recommend!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good read, not sure if I’d continue

I think this was a good read but not great. Narrator made it easy to listen to, was a little slow at some points. Don’t think I liked it enough to continue onto the next books. Was pretty mediocre in my opinion.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I really enjoyed this book and it’s characters. It is cleaver, and funny with an elaborate story line . Would definitely recommend!!!!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

it took me a couple of chapters to really get into the story, but once I was hooked I couldn't stop listening. great narration!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

captivating

what a great story! so captivating. must read so good!

would listen to again! narrator did great job

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Start

Overall I though it was a great concept for the book just a bit predictable in the end, I was missing the shock factor in the surprise reveal.
Hope that the next book dives deeper in the protagonist's past more and develops the side characters more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful