Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen series, rebellion is rising and allegiances will be tested on every side.

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother's web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare's heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

Perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series, King’s Cage is the third high-stakes installment in the #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen series.

And don’t miss War Storm, the thrilling final book in the bestselling Red Queen series!

©2017 Victoria Aveyard (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What listeners say about King's Cage

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

wasn't my favorite

hasn't been my favorite book of the series but it was still a good book

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Emily
  • 2017-03-17

stay away!

Not only is the story incredibly slow and boring the narration is horrendous. the narrator for "camren" literally whines throughout the entire story. I struggled to get through this I would not recommend it!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • S. Williams
  • 2017-03-17

torture

I don't know where to begin with this review. All I know is that the book was really drawn out, unnecessarily long and not that good at all. Mair was a pitiful mess throughout most of the book. Her capture lasted way too long. I couldn't really connect with anyone in the book. I felt like I was being tortured as I continued to listen to see if they would finally get to the climax. By the 26 chapter I could not take it any longer. A huge disappointment in the heels of the other two books in the trilogy.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Marcey
  • 2017-04-07

Voice issues

So, I'm 2 hours into this book-and I already don't like the narrator for "Camren"-she's supposed to be a hard, bossy, street smart 15 year old girl, not a breathy, soft & slow spoken women??? Don't get that change at all! And Farley-had an accent in the last two books, now she sounds southern?!? Bad narration. I'm wondering how long the prison interment is going to last-bc 2 months with nothing going on, is way to long.
I really don't want to continue with this book-based on the first 2 hours and distracting narration. I think I'll return it to audible and skip on to the next book! Disappointed!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • peppers
  • 2017-02-16

Great Idea with Horrible Execution

Here's the thing. I really, really want to like these books. However, I find the narrator, Amanda Dolan, to have one of the most annoying voices I have ever heard. Mare, the main character, is annoying and I spend most of this book rolling my eyes at how childish she can be. The entire book feels like it was written by inexperienced, aspiring author and not someone who has sealed a publishing deal.
The first portion of the book, where Mare was stuck with Maven, felt slow and drawn out. I found myself falling asleep or losing focus while listening to it. The second half felt unnecessary, like the whole purpose was just to showcase Mare's relationship with Cal. It was boring and relatively unexciting. I'm glad to read that Aveyard decided not to turn this drama filled love triangle between Mare and the two princes into an angst-ridden love square (rectangle?) with her best friend whose name I cannot remember because his part in this book was that insignificant.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • gldscott
  • 2017-02-10

Voice

Ok so the voice was so bad I loved the overall story and I love audio books but this lady's voice was just bad I listened for all of 2 minutes before I could not take this lady's voice anymore

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • D. Witherspoon
  • 2017-02-20

Not as good as the first 2

I loved the first 2 books but this one was a drag. I wanted it to be over. mare was so whiney and there was little action. it truly felt like a filler book. very disappointed.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • daniela
  • 2018-08-06

Just ok

Do yourself a favor and skip to about halfway through this book. Know that you’ll only miss out on moping and politics. The second half is whats interesting and actually worth reading. But the fact that the book tries too hard to be GOT (and fails) and that the first half bored me to literal tears, im not sure if I recommend this read.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Shelby Ence
  • 2017-04-01

Soooooo Boring

I had tuned out the whole, New Blood search in the last book for the most part because it was so boring, but the ending was promising, so I hoped that this book would be better.
Man was I wrong.
I haven't even been able to finish this book yet, it's so dull. It could probably have been about half as long and not suffered at all. In fact, it definitely would have been better.
There is way too much time focused on things that don't matter, and it slows everything down. I hated every chapter with the new narrator, the one who narrated for... Cameron? Is that her name? I think she's been in two books now and I could not care any less about her. It's not even the narrator... although she was a bit monotone. It's just that the POV itself was just so unnecessary.
All in all a huge disappointment. I probably won't be buying the next book.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Scott
  • 2017-02-17

Wrote this just to get to the next one!

Very disappointed in this book. Spending chapters on the mundane. Tell an exciting story like you usually do.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Nikole Peed
  • 2017-02-11

If it ain't broke .......



The format change (each chapter belonging to a different character), I can deal with. It flows with the story line. Mare is a prisoner, so we have to fill the gaps. Having different narrators for each chapter/character change is, I guess, the next step. However, when the new narrator pronounces names, places, etc. differently than the first two books, I tend to get distracted.

Ms. Ojo's narrative actually made me stop listening more than once. Cameron (the character she voiced) was written as an angry young woman who hated the world. Her voice conveyed none of that. Instead, she sounded sleepy and bored. Throw that on top of the mispronounced names, and you see my issue. Amanda Dolan could have read all the characters without the "reader" getting lost. She's that good.

I was so excited for this book. I loved the first two, and I'm a sucker for a cliffhanger ending. As I was listening, I found myself thinking it all seemed thrown together too quickly. The battle scenes were well written, while the other parts seemed to just be filled with enough words to get by. Maybe by the time the next one comes out, I will have listened to it again and changed my mind. I sincerely doubt it, but maybe.

17 people found this helpful