Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.72

Buy Now for $25.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

2020 Audie Awards® Finalist - Middle Grade

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature, and an Audie Award finalist!

An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey, and Ron Butler.

Named an Audible Best Audiobook of the Year!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds - and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Filled with sound effects and original music, this audio adventure is one the whole family will enjoy.

A selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act!

©2019 Jerry Craft (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Featured Article: Best Audiobooks for Comic Book Fans

Comic books continue to be popular across various forms of media, and certainly don’t appear to be losing any momentum.

From exciting marvel tales to classic DC characters, the world of comic stories is full of life and energy. Whether you’re a first time listener or a die-hard fan, we’ve compiled a list of some of our favourite audiobooks that any comic book fan or cartoonist will love.

More from the same

Author:

Narrator:

What listeners say about New Kid

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Citizen M
  • 2019-03-20

The best little story for your whole family

This is book is totally entertaining and engaging for all ages. You can have your kids listen in.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Xin GUAN
  • 2020-06-23

BEST BOOK EVER BOIZ

OK LET US FACE IT THIS IS A GREAT BOOK AND WHOEVER RATES IT BADLY IS AN IDIOT AND A FREAK!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jodora
  • 2019-02-05

Awesome, fun, funny

What a great experience listening to this audio book. Poignant and timeless. Jerry Craft is masterful.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ollie Jones IV
  • 2021-03-29

Loved it

Me and my 11 year old son thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. This was my first selection to listen together on his way to school as a way to encourage him to read more.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Darabee
  • 2021-10-20

Very entertaining!

I have a confession. i bought this audiobook for my 11 yr old grandson. I decided to listen to a snippet of it b4 turning it over to him. I ended up listening to the whole thing while cooking dinner. The story, the performers, the humor was so entertaining. I cant wait for my grandson to listen. Highly recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-08-25

hard to follow along

I was reading this book while listening to it on audible and I have to say the audible story is a little different then the actual book so it ends up being hard to follow along. Still a good book though! Would recommend definitely.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • tracy stroud
  • 2021-08-10

pretty good

loved it the narrator was funny and smart and really nice and he acts like me i love art and I'm going to a new jr high.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-08-04

I remember when

I loved this story so much I definitely could relate to the story because I went too boarding school. It brought back such memories ,I'm in my sixties and I enjoyed this book so much, of course I brought the book for my grandson who will start middle school in September. This book is a great read and even better audiobook.
Thank you Jerry Craft for memory lane❤

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carie E.
  • 2021-08-05

Summer reading

I have dyslexia as well as adhd and a few other learning disabilities , I usually hate my summer reading books but this book was really good and I was able to get it done within three weeks a book for me usually takes a couple months or even years to finish so I really am great full for audible .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Grace
  • 2021-05-14

Great read

was a great book for my daughter especially since she also joined a new school