Get a free audiobook

New Kid

Written by: Jerry Craft
Length: 1 hr and 58 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

2020 Audie Awards® Finalist - Middle Grade

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature, and an Audie Award finalist!

An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey, and Ron Butler.

Named an Audible Best Audiobook of the Year!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds - and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Filled with sound effects and original music, this audio adventure is one the whole family will enjoy.

A selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act!

©2019 Jerry Craft (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

Author:

What listeners say about New Kid

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Citizen M
  • 2019-03-20

The best little story for your whole family

This is book is totally entertaining and engaging for all ages. You can have your kids listen in.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jodora
  • 2019-02-05

Awesome, fun, funny

What a great experience listening to this audio book. Poignant and timeless. Jerry Craft is masterful.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Xin GUAN
  • 2020-06-23

BEST BOOK EVER BOIZ

OK LET US FACE IT THIS IS A GREAT BOOK AND WHOEVER RATES IT BADLY IS AN IDIOT AND A FREAK!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Maritorious1
  • 2020-08-30

Important

It was just short enough not to be overwhelming. This was a personal story for me. There is so much going on between the lines; important nuance about boundaries, trust, denial, and misdirected and shared pain. I kept wanting to stop and note every microagression and boundary violation, every cultural roadblock ,and resulting shock or misunderstanding to create a sort of catalogue of them all. There are so many in just the first two chapters, you begin to get a sense of the weight of the exponentially heavier weight of being young, male and black among white people than average. I want a sequel for how Jordan manages in college, and that explores his father's journey more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Justin Bruce
  • 2020-08-26

Pair it with the Graphic Novel

The story and the characters are awesome. I find that this narrated version does best when paired with the Graphic Novel (Available on Comixology). I'm currently using this as a novel study with my middle school students and they are enjoying it, not only because it is a graphic novel, but also because the voice acting helps my struggling readers become fully immersed in the story. This is a great book with an interesting story. We're only on chapter 3, but I'm sure I'll need to find another book soon as this one is quite popular with my students. I definitely can't wait until the next graphic novel (Class Act) is released as we will be picking up right where we left off.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stefanie
  • 2020-08-16

Loved this book!

This book is great in hard copy but the audio brought it to life. I especially liked having so many voices which add a special touch.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-08-11

Sounds Like My Story

Easy listening. I can definitely relate to the events in this story. Public to private school transition.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mikki Patane
  • 2020-08-02

Amazing book

Great perspective view on the story and great story line and a really great lesson to learn

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Dale
  • 2020-04-28

New Kid

It was a short little good book I like it a lot and how there are different voices

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • 26Kldray
  • 2020-04-26

Brilliant 🥰

I really loved the narration of this graphic novel....I felt the story line was timeless