Get a free audiobook

One Summer in Paris

Written by: Sarah Morgan
Length: 11 hrs and 19 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

“Morgan is a masterful storyteller, and readers will be fully immersed in this realistic but magical summer in Paris. Packed full of love, loss, heartbreak, and hope, this may just be Morgan's best book yet. For fans of Jojo Moyes, Taylor Jenkins Reid, and Stacey Ballis.” (Booklist

USA Today best-selling author Sarah Morgan returns with this heartwarming novel about the power of friendship, love, and what happens when an ending is just the beginning....

To celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary, Grace has planned the surprise of a lifetime for her husband - a romantic getaway to Paris. But she never expected he’d have a surprise of his own: He wants a divorce. Reeling from the shock but refusing to be broken, a devastated Grace makes the bold decision to go to Paris alone. 

Audrey, a young woman from London, has left behind a heartache of her own when she arrives in Paris. A job in a bookshop is her ticket to freedom, but with no money and no knowledge of the French language, suddenly, a summer spent wandering the cobbled streets alone seems much more likely...until she meets Grace, and everything changes.

Grace can’t believe how daring Audrey is. Audrey can’t believe how cautious newly single Grace is. Living in neighboring apartments above the bookshop, this unlikely pair offers each other just what they’ve both been missing. They came to Paris to find themselves, but finding this unbreakable friendship might be the best thing that’s ever happened to them....

©2019 Sarah Morgan (P)2019 Harlequin Enterprises, Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • K. Taylor
  • 2019-04-22

Trite

I was engaged enough to finish this mostly because I invested time in it. It became nauseatingly self righteous.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • RacoonBandit
  • 2019-05-25

Like a Trip to Paris

I loved the imagery of this book. The food descriptions, the clothing descriptions, etc. However, Grace annoyed me a bit, especially at the beginning, when she said she felt she needed to be appreciated and said that meant she was needy. Someone who wants to be a appreciated is not "needy", its a basic human need.
Secondly, her husband leaves her and complains that she is too much into routines and likes to have a plan. So basically the whole book is about her purposefully not having a plan and trying not to be predictable and "safe", which I didn't like because it seemed like she was basically changing herself just for her husband.
Thirdly, Grace had "ghosted" a past love interest and he tells her that it "was okay" (trying not to spoil it). However, she continually brings it up with him and keeps saying how she is so sorry she "ripped apart his heart and ruined love for him". And it's not even like that! So I kept rolling my eyes whenever she would start with that. Like Grace get over yourself. He's fine. For whatever reason she had a hard time believing that or she was just trying to save her self-esteem. I don't know but it was annoying.
Audrey also got on my nerves a bit because she judges her mother for being an alcoholic without stopping to wonder why she drinks so much. She calls her mother unlovable and it's like "hello Audrey, she drinks because she feels unlovable and you saying that is not helpful". However, both characters also have their good moments. They are best together. Their friendship really brings out the best in each. Audrey helps Grace to not feel like the blame is all on her for the split from her husband. And Grace lets Audrey know that she is at least one person that will always be there for her and she is! They have a really good friendship and again the imagery and descriptions gave me a taste of a summer in Paris, which is what I liked most!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie S.
  • 2019-05-12

Loved it!

This book showed you how when you give so much of yourself love can hurt. It shows how a long lasting friendship can begin. It shows how you don't have to conform to others people's habits just to fit in, hence the drinking. It also shows you that just because you may think what you really want, is not always it...a past love interest. In all actuality, what you have now is really just the two of you sorting out your differences. But love can especially bring two people all the way back around, full circle to the time they first met. A lot of parts to this book i could relate to. Loved it!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Talb
  • 2019-05-10

Slow and depressing

The details with the cheating husband and circumstances that accompany the whole boring ordeal had me depressed and anxious to move forward. Too much negativity for what the title and book cover suggested, even after reading the short hook. More adventure and faster moving story line are what I am looking for. This one got returned.