Get a free audiobook

Serpent & Dove

Written by: Shelby Mahurin
Length: 14 hrs and 13 mins
5 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"A brilliant debut, full of everything I love: a sparkling and fully realized heroine, an intricate and deadly system of magic, and a searing romance that kept me reading long into the night. Serpent & Dove is an absolute gem of a book." (Sarah J. Maas, number-one New York Times best-selling author of A Court of Thorns and Roses series) 

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland. 

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned. 

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation - marriage. 

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all. 

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave listeners burning for more. 

©2019 Shelby Mahurin (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just okay

The general idea is good but the male performance just take me out of the story everytime he talked

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • The Atkinsons
  • 2019-09-10

a new favorite

I had high hopes going into Serpent & Dove and was not disappointed. Which is great, because before I read the book I had already ordered two copies and know it’s coming in a subscription box. Oh, and I had also already bought tickets to the Epic Reads Meetup fall tour to meet her, so there was a lot of hype for this book to live up to and it absolutely did.


Serpent and Dove is a dual-POV YA fantasy debut from Shelby Mahurin. There are so many things I loved about this novel I just made a list. Also, I’m super busy this week at work and my kids are back to baseball this week so I have to make it shorter.

-STRONG WOMEN
-excellent enemies to friends love story (my favvv)
-witches! And a unique take on how they cast spells
-flawed characters – I love this especially. Please don’t give me a Mary Sue. I’m not interested.
-swearing. Why is this on the list? Because I’m a sailor and I love to swear. Characters who swear are instantly more relate-able to me. Mahurin uses real swear words too. Made up swear words are tiresome.
-sexy. The sex isn’t explicit and no parts are actually named, but the sex scenes are really well done. The fade-to-black gets annoying sometimes so I’m glad to see authors writing about loving consensual sexual relationships. Shelby tweeted about this as well.
-lots of action and strong character development. It was like the perfect combo for me and I never once got bored or wanted to fast forward the audio. Seeing the characters grow and develop was something I really enjoyed, and I am normally much more of a story-driven reader.
-super funny -the witty banter between Lou and Reid was 10/10
-well-built story arc. No plot holes (that I found) and a satisfying ending. Of course I still have questions because this is a series, but that’s to be expected.
-piggybacking off the one above – the REVEALS. I loved the way the story unfolded and how major surprises were revealed. They felt natural.

The absolute worst thing about this book is that I can’t read what happens next until 2020. ugh.


Audio:------------------------------------------------------------------
I've listened to books narrated by both Holter Graham and Saskia Maarleveld before, so I knew going in that I would like them. As expected, they were great. Saskia Maarleveld in particular is so easy to listen to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-09-12

Holy Witches Batman

Honestly, I was pretty skeptical with the first chunk of this book. I wasn’t sure I’d be able to stick with it, but I’m glad I did. The characters, the world building, the French influence.... it’s actually amazing. Such a magical story, you won’t be able to put it down!

I deducted a star only for the first 30% being a bit slow and the male lead INITIALLY being incredibly unlikable. However, he quickly develops and grows on you. Additionally, Lou, the female lead, is a hilarious gift and I LOVE HER.

The male narration leaves something to be desired. It’s not awful, but his cadence is choppy and a little off putting. In contrast, the female narrator is exquisite so they balance out.

Overall? Definitely worth a listen/read. I can’t wait for the next one!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tyffanie
  • 2019-09-10

Loved it!

The only thing I didn’t like was the male narrator. He was inconsistent with the different characters’ voices.. However, the story is great. I fell in love with Lou. She’s funny and so real. I adore the world Mahurin built. I could imagine everything easily and I want to go back into it already. I wish I had gotten a hard copy instead of getting the audiobook, but I’m glad for the experience overall.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-10-02

WOW

Anything recommended by Sarah J. Maas is a must read in my book.

Very well narrated and the story kept me on the edge of my seat toward the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Shelby
  • 2019-09-12

Good story...

The story was fine, it kept me reasonably engaged but I had a big problem with the male narrator. His voices were inconsistent and the cadence was at best distracting and at worst unbearable. I probably won’t pick up a sequel.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • heather cocco
  • 2019-10-12

Great listen

First I want to say these to narrators are my all-time favorite! I love listening to these to voice actors. I enjoyed this story very much, I’m not overly excited about the ending but I will eagerly wait the next!⭐️⭐️⭐️ ⭐️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • N. Egbuonye
  • 2019-10-11

Wow wow wow

I loved everything about this book. I can’t wait for book 2. Shelby just kept me up for 2 days, once I started I couldn’t stop. Sooo engaging and not one single pace issue IMO. The plot, characters, world building were on point. I loved the twists. Love love love Reid and Lou. I ship them like crazy and I want Ansel and Coco to ship too. Good job Shelby. Great writing too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-10-10

Actually as good as everyone says

This is really just...brilliant. I hope a sequel doesn’t ruin it.
Truly, though—the pacing, the prose, the narration, the fresh take on magic, the romance...It was all executed brilliantly.
Usually when other reviewers comment on how great the “banter” is in any given story, I’m either underwhelmed or I find it cringe-worthy. This one had me laughing.
I also thought both narrators were well casted and the dual POV was effective in its purpose, and not simply used as filler.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Britney
  • 2019-10-08

Wow.

I have not loved a book this much in a long time. It was so great, I loved the lore, the characters, the background, and the plot build. It was so refreshing to have a young adult book with actual real substance.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Aundreya mundt
  • 2019-10-06

Stunner

Witches and witch hunters?
Sign me up!


This book did not disappoint. A romance between 2 complete opposites (so we think) forced into marriage and leaving their loves and past lives behind.

Killer character. My only regret is a read it so soon now I have to wait for the 2nd.

As for the narrators they were great, but sometime the guy had a growly voice that seemed unnecessary and left me giggling