Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A family returns to their hometown - and to the dark past that haunts them still - in this masterpiece of literary horror by the New York Times best-selling author of Wanderers.

“The dread, the scope, the pacing, the turns - I haven’t felt all this so intensely since The Shining.” (Stephen Graham Jones, New York Times best-selling author of The Only Good Indians)

Long ago, Nathan lived in a house in the country with his abusive father - and has never told his family what happened there. 

Long ago, Maddie was a little girl making dolls in her bedroom when she saw something she shouldn’t have - and is trying to remember that lost trauma by making haunting sculptures. 

Long ago, something sinister, something hungry, walked in the tunnels and the mountains and the coal mines of their hometown in rural Pennsylvania. 

Now, Nate and Maddie Graves are married, and they have moved back to their hometown with their son, Oliver.

And now what happened long ago is happening again...and it is happening to Oliver. He meets a strange boy who becomes his best friend, a boy with secrets of his own and a taste for dark magic. 

This dark magic puts them at the heart of a battle of good versus evil and a fight for the soul of the family - and perhaps for all of the world. But the Graves family has a secret weapon in this battle: their love for one another.

©2021 Chuck Wendig (P)2021 Random House Audio

What the critics say

“Only Chuck Wendig can blend horror, fantasy, and science fiction into a propulsive thriller that is as funny as it is frightening, clever as it is uncanny, tender as it is terrifying. A magical ride.” (Alma Katsu, author of Red Widow and The Deep)

“Chuck Wendig’s The Book of Accidents transported me to the golden age of sprawling horror novels that I loved so much as a kid. Sweeping yet intimate, multilayered and bighearted, this is a novel to sink deeply into.” (Dan Chaon, New York Times best-selling author of Ill Will)

“In the tradition of Stephen King’s Dark Tower books, Wendig views the cosmic and terrifying through the lens of the domestic, anchoring his visions of the sublime in the grit of the familiar. The result is a novel to ramble around in, to get lost in.” (John Langan, author of Children of the Fang and Other Genealogies)  

What listeners say about The Book of Accidents

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a ride!

I had no idea what I was in for, and this was so much fun! I love the blend of narratives, so perfectly woven together to pull you in gradually like sinking into the ground.

love the genre mashup of mystsry/horror/comedy/pop-culture/occult/scifi/multiverse etc.

great performance too!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Nana
  • 2021-07-26

really?!

I could have done without the political one liners from the radical left. enough already!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-07-26

not worth my time.

couldn't finish when they made the little boy eat a human leg. was interesting at first but became gruesome, which I dont usually mind but with children

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • cfett
  • 2021-07-30

Don’t waste your credit

One of the worst I’ve TRIED to listen to!! The mother/wife character is beyond annoying-I mean made me stop listening annoying!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • E Enriquez
  • 2021-07-30

Down to earth horrific fantasy horror dark comedy

Some genre spanning greatness written here. Xe sands and George Newbern did some stellar narration as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kaylabeth
  • 2021-07-24

absolutely great

I loved it! Two hinges, one nob. Will you enter? amazing twist and turns.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lark S.
  • 2021-07-31

My Favorite Book This Year!

Very creative and well done! Loved all the different creative and philosophical elements that puts this book up there on my personal list along wrinkle in time, miss peragrines school for unusual children and Steven Kings Outsider!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K.C.
  • 2021-07-28

I loved this book

(SPOILERS AHEAD)

It's been several books since I found it worthy to do more than just do star ratings on a book. This also might be the first book I've enjoyed an author's take on alternative universes and mild time travel. That alone says a lot. I am a TOUGH critic of time travel stories. I wasn't even expecting alternative worlds. It took me by surprise which is a rare thing; even more rare is how smoothly it all came together in the end. The supernatural villian was a master piece and unique. The apocalyptic conflict was real and believable; it made total sense to me. There is nothing worse than a decent villian with flimsy motivation.

I MUST have follow up on all three of these main characters. Oliver's gift of darkness siphoning and Maddie's creation powers are amazing and I think they'd be a great team out on the road. I also want a whole alternate world traveling series on Nate trying to get back "home". I'm literally begging. There is so much juicy potential there.

Finally, my one criticism: If I'm tough on time travel plots, I'm way tougher on American female narrators (females with non American accents do better for me). I've been told I'm too critical and maybe I have some strange aversion to female narrators IDK. I just cannot handle such things as vocal fry, doing voices in forced too low octive, and monotone. This female narration had this funny-like "wavering" like mild Earth tremors that got to me a little. All I'm all, it was minor though. I was happy that there was a female narrator included because it helped the immersion aspect. Plus, men doing female voices can really stink sometimes.

Anyway, this book was amazing and I will be checking out more novels by this author - he created a fan.