Get a free audiobook

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

You thought you’d always be safe there…you were wrong. 

Carly had thought they’d always live there. The beautiful Cornish cliffside house they’d taken on as a wreck, that Mark had obsessively redesigned and renovated - a project that had made him famous. It was where they’d raised their children, where they’d sat cozily on the sofa, watching storms raging over the sea below. It was where they’d promised to keep each other’s secrets.... 

Until now. Because Mark has fallen in love. With someone he definitely shouldn’t have. Someone who isn’t Carly. And suddenly their family home doesn’t feel like so much of a safe haven. 

Carly thinks forever should mean forever, though: It’s her home, and she’ll stay there. Even the dark family secrets it contains feel like they belong to her. But someone disagrees. And, as threats start to arrive at her front door, it becomes clear, someone will stop at nothing. Because someone wants to demolish every last thing that makes Carly feel safe. Forever. 

A utterly psychological thriller about what lies are hidden in the most beautiful homes. Perfect for fans of Date Night, Gone Girl, and The Woman in the Window.  

©2021 Sue Watson (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Forever Home

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Meh. Just okay.

I didn't enjoy this book like I have the others. the performance of the narrator was excellent. This story itself was not overly compelling and I kept waiting for something more to happen. I was disappointed that there really wasn't anything more. other than a small twist at the end, I really didn't enjoy this book and finished it just to get through it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kristen Chappell
  • 2021-06-07

Love!

I have attempted to listen to several books lately but none of them caught my attention like this one. Loved it from start to finish. Great story. Kept me guessing. Perfect narration. Don’t hesitate with this one.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Brian A
  • 2021-06-06

narcissistic disturbing people

I don't know why people in these type of books act so differently than people would Irl but they do. These people made me feel dirty however it was well written and held my interest. I'd recommend just know that there isn't likeable characters in here. They are a messed up bunch.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • 2021-06-16

Hated It.. TOTALLY UNBELIEVABLE

SPOILERS! Nothing annoys me more than a women portrayed as a doormat. What’s worse a character that doesn’t evolve. The main character of this book is a pushover, she lets everyone walk all over her and then makes excuses for them. The whole book, I wanted her to grow a backbone.

The ending is ridiculously far fetched and wrapped up in a pretty bow. I HATE when authors choose happy endings for everyone including the bad characters. A little revenge would have gone a long way but nope, doormat wishes everyone the best.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2021-06-12

very good!

Different take on the classic good/bad husband drama. Great characters and the story flowed well. Great pool read/listen.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • 2021-07-21

Definitely Not A Psychological Thriller

The Forever Home is what I would classify as 'an easy read.' It's a pleasant enough story and it's well read. However, this is not a psychological thriller that will keep you guessing. The cover makes it seem like the people in the home will be somehow in danger.

In reality, The Forever Home is a simple cliche about a marriage that is dead, a cheating husband, and his stupid new floosy who is the same age as the couples' twenty-something daughters. The wife wants to keep her home, the ex spends all of her money, and she is tired of it.

I always enjoy Sue Watson's books for the most part but when I reached the end of 'The Forever Home' I heard myself say 'That's it??'

This book is just okay. I would wait until there is a sale to order it, and listen on a rainy day.

-Wendi

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • JessB
  • 2021-07-21

Entertaining!

I'm baffled by the not-so-kind reviews about this book; I quite liked it! The narrator was great, and the story was so good I found myself making a point to listen to it at times when I normally wouldn't have an audiobook playing, just to see what happened next. If you put yourself in the shoes of the main character, it's a pretty dramatic story! I felt it was well-done, and was well worth a precious credit!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Petrina
  • 2021-07-31

Not as good as some of her other books

I found the main character a bit simpering and somewhat predictable. And this book was really as suspenseful as I hoped for. Not my favorite read this summer.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Summer Layne
  • 2021-07-07

Incredibly Absurd

Jaw-dropping. Yep. Jaw-dropping as in: "Are we expected to accept this ridiculous plot ... this rudimentary writing ... these stock characters ... without rolling our eyes?"

Even Tamsin Kennard's impeccable narration fails to lend this amateurish palaver the gravitas required to keep it afloat.

A word of advice: Take any and all gushing reviews with a large grain of salt.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • jerelyn Tiller
  • 2021-09-16

Where were the attorney’s?

Good book , but it seems unrealistic that niether character talked with an attorney regarding divorce

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • liz
  • 2021-08-25

really was pretty good.

as always there will be no spoilers in my review
nice read/listen. steady pace, no lulls. good twists. I can't say anything wrong with thos book at all. loved it.
narration top notch. couple of good sinister chuckles. 😊