Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $81.99

Buy Now for $81.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This audiobook includes unabridged recordings of all George Orwell's greatest works: six novels, three books of non-fiction, a collection of his most well-renowned essays and the complete collection of his poetry.

1984 - Winston Smith begins to rebel against Big Brother's totalitarian control and falls in love with fellow worker Julia but soon discovers the true price of freedom is betrayal.

Animal Farm - revolution is afoot for the animals at Manor Farm, and Mr Jones must pay the price.

Down and Out in Paris and London - Orwell recounts his London tramping exploits in Paris and London with a cast of colourful characters.

The Road to Wigan Pier - vivid descriptions of social injustice, cramped slum housing, dangerous mining conditions, squalor, hunger and growing unemployment create a searing account of working-class life in the bleak industrial heartlands of Yorkshire and Lancashire in the 1930s. 

Burmese Days - John Flory, a white timber-merchant in 1920s Burma, sets out to untangle societal conventions and help Dr Veraswami save his reputation.

Homage to Catalonia - having enlisted to fight for an anti-Stalinist communist party in Spain, Orwell is soon forced to flee the country and here discusses the destructive nature of Soviet communism. 

Coming Up for Air - in search of a simpler life, George Bowling escapes London and an impending sense of war to return to his childhood village. 

Keep the Aspidistra Flying - Gordon Comstock quits his advertising job to pursue the creative life in opposition to 'the money god'. Only his ever-faithful Rosemary can rouse him from the stupor and challenge his commitment to his chosen way of life.

A Clergyman's Daughter - intimidated by her father, the rector of Knype Hill, Dorothy performs her submissive roles of dutiful daughter and bullied housekeeper. Her thoughts are taken up with the costumes she is making for the church school play, until her routine shatters and Dorothy finds herself down and out in London.

Essays: a wide-ranging selection of Orwell's essays, through which he ranges from reflections on his boyhood schooling and the profession of writing to his views on the Spanish Civil War and British imperialism.

Poetry: the complete collection of Orwell's published poetry.

The full list of narrators include: Jonathan Keeble, Peter Noble, Leighton Pugh, Malk Williams, Karen Cass, Jonathan Oliver, Hugh Kermode and Roger May.

Full chapter listing: 

  • Chapter 2 to 27: 1984
  • Chapter 28 to 39: Animal Farm
  • Chapter 40 to 79: Down and Out in Paris and London
  • Chapter 80 to 94: The Road to Wigan Pier
  • Chapter 95 to 121: Burmese Days
  • Chapter 122 to 137: Homage to Catalonia 
  • Chapter 138 to 162: Coming Up for Air 
  • Chapters 163 to 176: Keep the Aspidistra Flying
  • Chapter 177 to 201: A Clergyman's Daughter
  • Chapter 202 to 204: 'A Hanging'
  • Chapter 205 to 207: 'Anti-Semitism in Britain'
  • Chapter 208 to 210: 'A Nice Cup of Tea'
  • Chapter 211 to 213: 'Books v. Cigarettes'
  • Chapter 214 to 216: 'Bookshop Memories'
  • Chapter 217 to 219: 'British Cooking'
  • Chapter 220 to 222: 'Can Socialists Be Happy?'
  • Chapter 223 to 225: 'Confessions of a Book Reviewer'
  • Chapter 226 to 228: 'How the Poor Die'
  • Chapter 229 to 231: 'In Defence of English Cooking'
  • Chapter 232 to 234: 'Looking Back on the Spanish War'
  • Chapter 235 to 237: 'My Country, Right or Left'
  • Chapter 238 to 240: 'Notes on Nationalism'
  • Chapter 241 to 243: 'Politics and the English Language'
  • Chapter 244 to 246: 'Reflections on Gandhi'
  • Chapter 247 to 249: 'Shooting an Elephant'
  • Chapter 250 to 252: 'The Decline of the English Murder'
  • Chapter 253 to 257: 'The Lion and the Unicorn'
  • Chapter 258 to 260: 'The Moon Under Water'
  • Chapter 261 to 263: 'Why I Write'
  • Chapter 264 to 266: 'You and the Atomic Bomb'
  • Chapter 138: 'A Dressed Man'
  • Chapter 139: 'A Little Poem'
  • Chapter 140: 'Awake, Young Men of England'
  • Chapter 141: 'Ironic Poem About Prostitution'
  • Chapter 142: 'Kitchener'
  • Chapter 143: 'On a Ruined Farm'
  • Chapter 144: 'Our Minds Are Married, but We Are too Young'
  • Chapter 145: 'A Poem from Burma'
  • Chapter 146: 'Romance'
  • Chapter 147: 'Sometimes, in the Middle Autumn Days'
  • Chapter 148: 'Summer-like'
  • Chapter 149: 'The Lesser Evil'
  • Chapter 150: 'The Pagan'
Public Domain (P)2021 SNR Audio

What listeners say about The George Orwell Complete Collection

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available