Get a free audiobook

The Hiding Place

A Novel
Written by: C. J. Tudor
Narrated by: Richard Armitage
Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The thrilling second novel from the author of The Chalk Man, about a teacher with a hidden agenda who returns to settle scores at a school he once attended, only to uncover a darker secret than he could have imagined.

Joe never wanted to come back to Arnhill. After the way things ended with his old gang - the betrayal, the suicide, the murder - and after what happened when his sister went missing, the last thing he wanted to do was return to his hometown. But Joe doesn't have a choice. Because judging by what was done to that poor Morton kid, what happened all those years ago to Joe's sister is happening again. And only Joe knows who is really at fault.

Lying his way into a teaching job at his former high school is the easy part. Facing off with former friends who are none too happy to have him back in town - while avoiding the enemies he's made in the years since - is tougher. But the hardest part of all will be returning to that abandoned mine where it all went wrong and his life changed forever and finally confronting the shocking, horrifying truth about Arnhill, his sister, and himself. Because for Joe, the worst moment of his life wasn't the day his sister went missing.

It was the day she came back.

With the same virtuosic command of character and pacing she displayed in The Chalk Man, C. J. Tudor has once again crafted an extraordinary novel that brilliantly blends harrowing psychological suspense, a devilishly puzzling mystery, and enough shocks and thrills to satisfy even the most seasoned listener.

©2019 C. J. Tudor (P)2019 Random House Audio

What the critics say

“Tudor maintains a tone of creeping dread throughout the book, of something lingering always in the background, coyly hiding its face while whispering promises of very bad things to come. In the last quarter, however, she goes for broke with outright horror, giving readers an effective jolt of adrenaline that will carry them all the way to the terrifying conclusion. Readers won’t know what hit them. Tudor came out swinging with The Chalk Man, but this one puts her firmly on the map. Not to be missed.” (Kirkus)

“Tudor has crafted another fantastic horror-tinged thriller (after The Chalk Man, 2018) in the vein of John Connolly and Brendan Duffy." (Booklist)

"Some writers have it, and some don't. CJ Tudor has it big time - The Hiding Place is terrific in every way." (Lee Child) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great, until the epilogue

CJ Tudor is an excellent writer and storyteller with a fondness for cheap (and distasteful, or at least unpleasant ) twist epilogues. I marathon listened to The Chalk Man with rapt attention, but groaned at the twist ending. It made me a little hesitant to try this latest offering, but I decided to take the chance and just temper my expectations. I'm glad I did. It was another well written, incredibly engaging story that kept me listening all day. And it also had a cheap twist ending, but at least this time I saw it coming and it didn't bother me as much.
The protagonist was kind of a jerk, but in a way that you could understand and identify with. To me, that's good writing. And the rest of the cast of characters were interesting and fairly well fleshed out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Smart creepy story of course great voice!

The story was creepy and well paced. Not one to listen to before bed. I do agree with another listener that I didn’t like the epilogue. But overall I went to look right away for another by this author and read by RA. But the only other one is the Taking of Annie Thorne. Which is the backstory for this one. So not sure it’s worth trying. ☹️

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Elizabeth P. Fowler
  • 2019-02-09

Horror with a touch of wisdom

This is a wildly implausible story transformed into a very good one owing partly to clever writing, but mostly to the superb performance of Richard Armitage. It's good enough to make me want to hear CJ Tudor's next novel, whatever it may turn out to be, as long as Richard Armitage performs it!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous
  • 2019-03-07

Confused

So many unanswered questions. The main character was annoyingly surly, by which I mean that was his only emotion throughout the whole book. Some plot events were unbelievable and convenient. I listened to the whole thing hoping for an explanation but never got one.
I did like the idea of the story, and the performance was great!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • RDinTx
  • 2019-03-13

Really Interesting Twists

I kept waiting for more horror but by the end I had imagined all the horror necessary! I loved the plot twists, a few I can honestly say I didn't see coming. I didn't even try because the writing kept me engaged and there was no need to try to "jump ahead".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Hunter Burnett
  • 2019-02-16

Terrible

The narration was superb! The story on the other hand was a convoluted mess. I was looking forward to this after reading The Chalk Man. I’m having a hard time believing that CJ Tudor wrote this. Avoid this book!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • cristina
  • 2019-02-16

Meh

The story only gets going towards the end, and then only briefly. Ultimately unsatisfying. Will look at reviews before reading the author’s next

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cherish
  • 2019-02-27

Please Make This a Movie?!

I just finished listening to this book. This was my first time reading anything from @cjtudor I am very pleased. This was a fantastic book. I love the story, very compelling and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading more of her stories. I have heard her called the British Stephen King, but I think this book is better than most of his books. I really and truly hope that this book is made into a movie or a Netflix special or something. Now I just have to go back and listen to the Chalk Man, and wish it was narrated by Mr. Armitage. I was surprised by the prologue and epilogue, I know that Mr. Armitage is talented, but to change is voice so much that its hardly recognizable is amazing. I am in awe of his talent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-02-17

Creepy and suspenseful

I I admit I only ordered this because it was recommended by Lee Child. However I could not stop listening. I usually figure out the plot long before the end but, I didn't figure this one out. Not a dull moment. I very much enjoyed the book and I am headed back for another by this author. Give it a try.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • night owl
  • 2019-03-08

Big disappointment

Another book about a tragic youth. Some of.these stories are good. They offer some mystery. Not this one. Endlessly gloomy ,never gets to the plot. Loved Chalk Man. ' .The Hiding Place doesn't measure up. Big waste of a credit.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • N.
  • 2019-07-11

Excellent!

Tudor's writing is wonderful and the story pulls you along. It was not what I expected and that made it all the more enjoyable. Narration by Armitage is spot on, as always. His voice makes the emotions of the characters live and you feel Joe's frustration tingle in your fingertips and his fear deep in your gut. This author/narrator team woks.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Larry Ostertag
  • 2019-06-13

Amazing Sophomoric Effort!

C.J. is quickly becoming my new favorite author. This is another finely woven tale with some great twists and excellent characters. Her writing is fantastic and I absolutely cannot wait for her third offering. The performer while different from The Chalk Man, still brought to life the characters beautifully. When the reader nails these audible books, it is like watching a picture show without the pictures. Richard Admits he does just that with a superb performance. Get this book and any others you find written by C.J. Tudor.