Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"A romantic comedy that's fun and flirty, young and fresh." (Popsugar) (22 of the Best Books This Winter Has to Offer)

One of Oprah Magazine's 22 Romance Novels That Are Set to Be the Best of 2020

Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy #ownvoices enemies-to-lovers novel, perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!

A wedding planner left at the altar? Yeah, the irony isn't lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina's offered an opportunity that could change her life. There's just one hitch...she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials. 

Marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he'll be working with his brother's whip-smart, stunning - absolutely off-limits - ex-fiancée. And she loathes him. If they can nail their presentation without killing each other, they'll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina's ready to dish out a little payback of her own. 

Soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn't interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again....

©2020 Mia Sosa (P)2020 HarperAudio

What listeners say about The Worst Best Man

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Fun!

This was a cute, fun romance. Loved the culture behind Lina and her family. The messages throughout the novel and character growth were great, too! The female narrator was great but I didn’t love the male unless he was voicing the main character; his voice for literally every other character (especially the female) was nasally, cringeworthy and annoying.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful Narrators

I was really looking forward to this book and then I heard the male narrators voice doing the female parts...had to stop immediately. It was uncomfortable to listen to at best.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth the credit

I’ve listened to this book a few times. I enjoy it. It has some fun moments, some tense moments, and some really moments. The set up of the first chapter is enticing. I like the banter and chemistry between Lina and Max. It’s nice having some insight into Lina’s family and culture. It also acknowledges some challenges women face in the workplace, which is a topic that should be brought into light more.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Into the story - hate the narration

I was super into the story but my goodness the narrators are bad! Neither can really pronounce Portuguese words, but he’s so so bad at it. And what is with his version of a female voice? It’s ridiculous. Immediately takes you out of the story. Huge disappointment.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice bit of frippery

Quite a nice story, but a little cringey in parts. The male narrator had very disconcerting "woman" voice, which pulled me out of the story whenever he used it. would have been better if the narration had been more consistent between the two actors.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It was fine

Wayne Mitchell's narration of female characters sounded like an American version of Mrs. Brown's Boys.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A hallmark kind of read

If you like hallmark movies you'll like this one. I enjoyed it very much.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie C
  • 2020-03-16

Couldn’t finish

I’m going to buy the book and read it. I liked the story okay but got distracted every time the male narrator read a woman’s lines. He has a very attractive voice but used a grating falsetto for every woman’s voice. Even Lina’s voice was like a caricature. I couldn’t finish it.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Shannon
  • 2020-06-02

Somewhat disappointed

I have rarely completed one of these reviews but I did feel compelled to do so this time. I think my greatest disappointment is due to having read multiple reviews regarding this book as one of the best Rom-Coms of 2020, so perhaps I expected too much. The story line isn’t bad, but definitely not the best I have read. However, I think that I was just disappointed by the almost “porn-like” descriptions of the sex scenes in the book. They served no literary value within the story itself. The performances were actually ok.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Gregory M
  • 2020-04-09

What was I listening to?

Though the beginning was promising, I felt the direction of both characters was quite juvenile with no real plot development. It was quite painful to listen to. The story went from something interesting, to an x-rated fan fiction, to a low budget Hallmark movie. Nope, not Lifetime - Hallmark. Extremely disappointed.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • CristinaBonV
  • 2020-07-02

Narrating

The male narrator was not good at all. I can’t even finish this audio book because his voice is so distracting ESPECIALLY when he does a female’s voice. This story is so good, but I’ll buy the kindle edition because I can’t listen to the guy. Female narrator is amazing.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stephanie
  • 2020-02-28

Loved

I loved this series the only thing I didn’t like was how the male reader did his voice for when a woman was speaking other than that it was great

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Hans J.
  • 2020-06-16

The Worst Best Man Turns to Be the Right Man

Left at the Altair and being the badass woman she is, Carolina Santos, Wedding Planner continued with her life like nothing happened. However, when an opportunity for her to expand her Wedding Services into a Hotel project, she has to face her worst nightmare, Meeting her former fiancée and the brother who convinced him not to marry her. Through a lying plan not to relate her acquaintance to the jackass brothers, Carolina fooled the CEO of the project and somehow she ended teaming up with the brother of his former fiancée, Max. In a journey of payback and discovery, Carolina met a man she was unaware and Max at each circumstance met a woman with feelings and vulnerability. At the end, Love was not far to enter the mist of mysteries between the two. Though he has always been in competition with his brother, Max managed to pass it and realize he is the right and only choice of Carolina.

From the beginning to the end, The author presents us with two characters who have been shaped with events connecting their past and their present. With a Portuguese origin to the Big Apple in Manhattan City, the story covers challenges, daily demands, and expectations of real professionals. Accidents and Unexpecting predictions are part of Life. Family as well as friends bring their part in the equation. This book brings touch to all these part of life and more.

The story is sound and concrete. The voice of the actors are efficient and the plot remains on track. Suspense Drama, Excitement, and laughs connect us to the author desire to share this particular story with us. We live the story through the characters and their successive alteration give him the dose of intrigues.

Though I am relief that the book did not focus on the drama the different origin can cause in a relationship as much as the path the two personas chose, not base on their parents' choice. The freedom of choice and the pride of knowing your own desire is respected is a good note in this book.

I will recommend this book if you feel you need a dose of knowing what a woman can do to protect herself and know when to let go. Hearing a story that presents the strength of a woman and the union of a great family, the desire to know that men can be as vulnerable as women do, and sometimes they can be more concerning about a subject than women. I guarantee you will find all these and more.

Enjoy with open heart and open mind.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • april
  • 2021-04-21

male narrator sucked

The male male narrator sucks at making other voices and accents other than his own! Is his natural voice sexy? YES! But his interpretation of female and other male voices are horrific. It was so bad I almost returned the book. I'm glad I didn't because I love this book but I hope he gets an accent coach. The female narrator was awesome.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Terri
  • 2020-10-26

Male narrator is awful

I really wanted to love this. I don't let reviews sway me when it comes to books, however, I wish I had listened to them this time. When the male narrator did a female voice, it was awful. Horribly distracting. I couldn't finish the book and got my credit back.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • 2020-08-20

Could have been interesting....but too trashed out.

It had a good premise and started well. She has good writing skills (word choice etc). But it was full of “thought sex” which just cheapened and trashed a good plotline. It became trite, contrived and totally stupid. Couldn’t finish

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Allison RObinson
  • 2020-05-22

Worst Best Man

Loved it but didn't like the male narrator's voice for women, men other than the main male character and black people.

1 person found this helpful