Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

The Night Olivia Fell

Auteur(s): Christina McDonald
Narrateur(s): Kelly Burke, Laurel Lefkow
Durée: 10 h et 45 min
4 out of 5 stars (33 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain-dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: Her teenage daughter, Olivia, has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain-dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heart-wrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: How well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

©2019 Christina McDonald (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    13
  • 4 étoiles
    13
  • 3 étoiles
    4
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    13
  • 4 étoiles
    13
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    2

Histoire

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    12
  • 4 étoiles
    13
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    1

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

The night Olivia fell

Had me jumping from suspect to suspect, although I should have seen that coming..
the ending is beautiful but so sad 😭

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Great book and good story.

The story was good could have been a few more twists. The reading was a little robotic at times but overall was good.

1 personnes sur 2 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Michael Dodson
  • 2019-03-27

A long, less dramatic episode of SVU...

The narrators did absolutely nothing for the story, unfortunately making it something to bear just to finish. I found myself debating on whether to just buy the actual book and read it with my own character voices.

4 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Erika Croy
  • 2019-03-12

Good story, but narrated by a robot

Really good listen, but the narrator for Abby could have been a robot. Honestly, she was so bad it was distracting and definitely took something away from what should have been a great story.

4 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Catherine Peterson
  • 2019-05-27

Poorly narrated!

I thought the book was average for the genre and although I detest writing reviews I felt it necessary to add remarks about the narrator. The woman speaking Abby’s character was terrible, choppy and halted. I considered not continuing with the book based on this performance.

3 personnes sur 3 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Carrie
  • 2019-04-10

Eh, okay

Decent story but horrible narration. The narrator did okay with the primary character but unless you like over enunciation and robot voices, you'll be dissatisfied with the rest. This why I much prefer actor-narrated books.

3 personnes sur 3 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • RueRue
  • 2019-02-12

Unfulfilled potential

The plot synopsis was intriguing, but the author just didn't make it work. Totally predictable, not one sympathetic character (everyone is either lying or keeping secrets). And the narrators do not help, especially the reader for Abi. Pass on this one.

4 personnes sur 5 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • 2019-03-23

Very Well Written, Story Sucks You In

The Night Olivia Fell was a very pleasant surprise. The book itself is about a depressing issue, but the reader has natural empathy for the characters and we are sucked in from beginning to end.

A young girl has mysteriously fallen and she's brain dead. However, when mom arrives to the hospital in a panic to see if her daughter's alright, she finds out that the tragic fall is only part of the shock. The other shocking news is, she's pregnant. The doctors explain that they have to keep her daughter on life support until the baby is ready to be born.

While her daughter lays as a human incubator, her mother believes that her 'accident' was no accident at all. Frustrating with the way the police are handling it, Mom decides to play detective to see what happened on the night her daughter fell, and what lead up to it.

I was hooked from beginning to end. The story has an excellent flow and it's beautifully narrated.

Four solid stars

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jan Loucks
  • 2019-02-28

interesting story line

I liked this book from the start. Suspenseful, interesting characters and the back & forth chapters worked.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rose in Ohio
  • 2019-09-18

Quite unexpected

I had no idea whether I would like this story when I downloaded this book But the turns, the unexpected subplots were amazing. The author's voices distinctive and gentle for each character. I found myself unwilling to put it down for very long at all.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KC
  • 2019-09-02

Intense, book with many twists

You have Abi Knight a mother who receives a call that her daughter was in a car accident and transferred to the hospital. When Mom gets to the hispital she finds her daughter is brain dead and she is pregnant. Most of the book is set in present tense and some in past tense. The characters are realistic and interesting. Abi doesn't believe this was an accident. The storyline is well plotted and believable. You end up with realistic feelings and emotions. There are many twists and turns that are gut wrenching and heartbreaking. Kathy Burke does the narration and will grab your interest and pull you to the end of the book. i highly recommend this book

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2019-08-28

Intense, passionate, and emotional

Storyline is so good it should be a movie! Highly recommend for love and intense readers