Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Après 30 jours, 14,95$/mois + taxes applicables. Annulation possible en tout temps.

Description

Zoe fainted on her wedding day, and she never knew why. She’s always felt sure something bad happened. Ten years later, she’s going to find out what....

It was supposed to be the happiest day of her life. Zoe was sitting in her hotel room, in her perfect white dress, looking forward to the moment when she would make kind, handsome Toby her husband. 

Then, there was a blank. 

They said she must have fainted, overcome with emotion. But nothing felt quite right afterward. Did something happen in that missing time? 

Now, Toby and Zoe have two beautiful children and a perfect life. They’re planning their 10-year anniversary party for their family and friends. The invitations have been sent, the food ordered. They’re going back to the grand hotel where they got married. 

But as the anniversary gets closer, it becomes clear not everyone is looking forward to celebrating. She catches Toby lying about where he’s been. One of her best friends seems to be ignoring her. And someone is spreading stories that might stop the party from happening at all. 

Zoe is increasingly sure that she doesn’t have the full story. But does she want to know the truth if it will destroy everything? 

From the million-copy best-selling author, this totally gripping psychological thriller will have you hooked to the last jaw-dropping twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, and The Wife Between Us. 

©2020 Shalini Boland (P)2020 Bookouture

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Wife

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    26
  • 4 étoiles
    16
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    29
  • 4 étoiles
    10
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    24
  • 4 étoiles
    11
  • 3 étoiles
    4
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    2

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars

Too much filler, not enough story

This story struck me as a short story dragged out to fulfil the required novel word quota. Characters redundantly describing in minutiae their every bland thought and observation from chapter to chapter. Not her best work.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • littlesimone
  • 2020-09-10

A Quiet Yet Intriguing Read

This is the first book that I have ever read from this author and I have to say that I rather enjoyed it. It was quiet in nature yet steady in pace with an interesting plot. Although the protagonist was a bit more naïve than is believable, I found myself very much in her head, as it were, and sympathizing with her thought process. I don't know why but I kept picturing Emily Blunt portraying the protagonist. Not that I regularly envision books as movies but I could see this one made into a screenplay. It held my attention and I listened to straight through which is rare for me. Well done!

14 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ida
  • 2021-03-12

Huh?

Excellent narration. The back story from 10 yrs ago was helpful in understanding this story. Switching between the past and present resulted in the story staying interesting throughout. One reviewer referred to the main character, Zoe as naive, etc. In my opinion, she was not. She was a strong woman and and attentive mother. Zoe was a hard worker who investigated and responded to issues as much as she could. She was not aware of the extent of the duplicity surrounding her. The listeners cruise along until the last 5 or so chapters. Be careful not to get whiplash with how quickly things change and start moving forward. My mouth dropped open as we were heading towards the conclusion. All I can say is “wow, didn’t see that coming”.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • N. Shaw
  • 2020-10-25

Lies, deceit, betrayal REPEAT!

Rating: 4 🍷 🍷 🍷 🍷 !!!!!!!
Book: The Wife
Available NOW -Release Date: September 9, 2020
Author: Shalini Boland
Genre: Thrillers, Mystery, Suspense
 
The Wife is a book packed with secrets, betrayal, and mystery. I felt for the main character Zoe. The story follows her as she is planning her 10-year wedding anniversary. Only thing is, ten years prior, on her wedding day, something happens, and she cannot remember. As the day gets closer, she realizes something bad happened and the people she love may hold the key.
There are hardly any redeemable characters in this book besides Zoe and maybe one other. With the betrayal, lies, and coverups, I just wanted Zoe to lash out at everyone. Boland gives you just a peek chapter after chapter to keep you reading to see what actually happened on that fated wedding day. There were small twists and reveals that tied up the story in a nice little package. I can say that at the very end, one character made me want to shake the life out of her which I think was probably the desired feeling from Boland. I am interested in checking out more of her stuff as I liked her writing style.  

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2020-10-05

kept me entertained

Kept me entertained but was not on the edge of my seat. I did enjoy the characters and the story flowed well. To me the aha moment was not large or intriguing but it was written well.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Kali Goddard
  • 2020-11-25

Way too far fetched, even for me.

Couldn't connect with the plot or the characters, because of how unrealistic the whole story was.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rhonda M. Johnson
  • 2020-10-30

Great book

great book, surprising ending keeps you guessing and intrigued. Enjoy........good bookclub read...what would you do

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rhonda Madison
  • 2020-12-29

Nothing is as it seems

This is a very intriguing suspenseful story. Lost memories are dangerous when they start to return for Zoe. I couldn't stop listening. The epilogue was very chilling. Kate Villa does a great narration. I'm looking forward to more books by Shalini Boland.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Angel J
  • 2021-05-14

Unpredictable Emding

This was an interesting book and the story kept my attention. Mixed emotions about the ending.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Joanna Kamil
  • 2021-05-10

Amazing as always

This is another great, thrilling and well written book . I highly recommend it as all of the authors previous ones. Don’t miss out !

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cherie Appleton
  • 2021-05-06

Entertaining. Loved it.

I read the reviews, as usual prior to reading the book. I know that sometimes this deters me from a good book and sometimes the opposite. I found this book to be entertaining, it wasn’t dark, like some in the mystery/thriller genre, which I also like. The narration is so good!! Reading other reviewers comments prepared me to enjoy a slower paced book. There a lot of detailed descriptions of the main character’s observations of other characters, or events. Some of these details are more revealing of how she thinks and processes information versus clues on a twist. I’m impressed with the author’s ability to use beautiful imagery for some of these small outtakes in a life. Specifically, in the end describing one with her Father. There are thoughtful moments in a fun book with an entertaining, original plot. Have a drink and enjoy!!