Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Which list are you on? 

When a young man is found frozen to death on a Highland street in mid-December, DCI Jack Logan initially puts it down to a Christmas night out gone tragically wrong. 

But, when a postmortem reveals something more sinister, Jack discovers he is dealing with a cold, calculating killer with a long line of victims, a talent for torture, and a perverse sense of justice. 

Half a decade ago, the press dubbed him "The Iceman" - a twisted vigilante who successfully evaded capture for two years, before melting away into the night. 

Now, The Iceman has come back. His naughty list is longer than ever. 

And it contains some worryingly familiar names....

A Snowball’s Chance in Hell is the ninth book in the internationally best-selling DCI Jack Logan Scottish crime fiction series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart Macbride, and Val McDermid.

©2020 JD Kirk (P)2021 JD Kirk

What listeners say about A Snowball's Chance in Hell

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great

More! Please sir, I want some more!
I love this series, and this installment just hits it right out of the park. I find myself seriously invested in the characters. And the protagonists are, unusually, all decent people! Not a messy maverick in sight. There was one scene that, not even joking, had me kind of emotional.
The mystery was great, and I loved the fact that we get to see how the incarcerated mobster's now 13-year-old daughter is doing. Hoo boy, what a subplot!
They're just such good, solid procedurals, with a perfect balance of grimness, humor, violence and pathos.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Debbie
  • 2021-02-06

Absolutely engaging!

As always, JD Kirk writes some pretty captivating stories, and after having read all of the previous Jack Logan installments I can't imagine anyone but Angus King narrating them. They are smart, irreverent, funny, and endearing, and I look forward to more. I SO LOVE the relationship that our hero has with fellow officers, who are also lovable in their own right. I wish these books would go on forever!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • matt harrington
  • 2021-02-08

Another Winner

This series is one of the best I've listened to in years. The characters are brilliant. Hope the series last for years.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chris
  • 2021-01-27

I Am The Ice Man

Another stellar story, new storylines opened up for us to follow in the next books. This book even brought a tear to my eye. Again Angus King did a fantastic job with the narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • italoromano
  • 2021-01-23

Incredible Narrator!

I very much enjoy this series , especially due to the fantastic narration. Angus King is one of the very best

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cynthia Hawk-McDowell
  • 2021-05-19

Amazing!

Such an enjoyable series! Always a twist and never able to figure it out. I'm sad tho. only 1 audio book left, 2 more after but they are not available on audio ... yet.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J.Durant
  • 2021-03-23

Love this writer and the narrator is a genius!

Angus King is a genius at narration. No matter who he is dialoguing for, you know exactly who it is. He also does a great Yoda and Sean Connery.

The writer is witty and all of the books (yep, I’ve listened to all in this series now) are solid and watertight. The characters of DC Logan’s team are all endearing - especially his old boss 😅 You’ll find yourself rooting for them and hoping they find a way through the predicament because any future stories without them seems impossible.

I really didn’t think I was going to love this series as much as I have. So happy I found it to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lynmarwat
  • 2021-03-18

Fabulously entertaining!

Although JD Kirk’s books stories are enthralling, Angus King’s narration brings Mr Kirk’s colorful characters to life. Listening to the audible books in this series is some if the best entertainment I have ever experienced.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • 6catz
  • 2021-03-16

Enjoyable

Good characters, engaging plot, good read. Not quite as funny and weird as Stuart MacBride, but kept me interested throughout. Can’t get enough Celtic Noir myself, so always glad to discover another good series of this kind.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kathleen D
  • 2021-02-23

On the edge of my seat the whole way through

I have thoroughly enjoyed this series and really like the characters. But this book, this one was truly terrifying. The idea of using cold as a weapon was unique and almost more grisly than a slice and dice murder. And the sub plot kept me guessing. I can not express how much I enjoyed this book!! I do have to say that sometimes I have difficulty with Angus King's accent, but that just gives me reason to listen again. I am so glad I got this one as an audio book! I plan to listen to it again!