Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Which list are you on? 

When a young man is found frozen to death on a Highland street in mid-December, DCI Jack Logan initially puts it down to a Christmas night out gone tragically wrong. 

But, when a postmortem reveals something more sinister, Jack discovers he is dealing with a cold, calculating killer with a long line of victims, a talent for torture, and a perverse sense of justice. 

Half a decade ago, the press dubbed him "The Iceman" - a twisted vigilante who successfully evaded capture for two years, before melting away into the night. 

Now, The Iceman has come back. His naughty list is longer than ever. 

And it contains some worryingly familiar names....

A Snowball’s Chance in Hell is the ninth book in the internationally best-selling DCI Jack Logan Scottish crime fiction series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart Macbride, and Val McDermid.

©2020 JD Kirk (P)2021 JD Kirk

What listeners say about A Snowball's Chance in Hell

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great

More! Please sir, I want some more!
I love this series, and this installment just hits it right out of the park. I find myself seriously invested in the characters. And the protagonists are, unusually, all decent people! Not a messy maverick in sight. There was one scene that, not even joking, had me kind of emotional.
The mystery was great, and I loved the fact that we get to see how the incarcerated mobster's now 13-year-old daughter is doing. Hoo boy, what a subplot!
They're just such good, solid procedurals, with a perfect balance of grimness, humor, violence and pathos.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • matt harrington
  • 2021-02-08

Another Winner

This series is one of the best I've listened to in years. The characters are brilliant. Hope the series last for years.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Debbie
  • 2021-02-06

Absolutely engaging!

As always, JD Kirk writes some pretty captivating stories, and after having read all of the previous Jack Logan installments I can't imagine anyone but Angus King narrating them. They are smart, irreverent, funny, and endearing, and I look forward to more. I SO LOVE the relationship that our hero has with fellow officers, who are also lovable in their own right. I wish these books would go on forever!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chris
  • 2021-01-27

I Am The Ice Man

Another stellar story, new storylines opened up for us to follow in the next books. This book even brought a tear to my eye. Again Angus King did a fantastic job with the narration.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • italoromano
  • 2021-01-23

Incredible Narrator!

I very much enjoy this series , especially due to the fantastic narration. Angus King is one of the very best

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Norma Harris
  • 2021-06-27

characters need a lifeline

have read many novels in this series and found this one of the least satisfying. for me, there is too much banter between characters and not enough attention given to developing those characters and advancing the plot. maybe I 'm missing the point and this is intended to be a comedic murder mystery, but if not it needs better editing. in real life, a woman with as much on the ball as Sinead would never be linking up with a buffoon like Tyler, unless there are sides to him that have not been revealed to the reader. In this novel, the most fully realized character is Olivia -- I am truly interested in her. I hope the same can be done with the characters that surround her.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Barbara Adams
  • 2021-11-18

Great Series!!

Angus King brings these characters to life. I am entertained for hours by him telling the funny yet edge-of-your-seat-sitting mystery written by JD Kirk.
The repeating "minor" characters allow multiple stories to be told. I always know who's talking as Angus King gives each their own undeniable voice. Can't wait for the next one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SMacfie
  • 2022-02-12

Love these books

I love these books and Angus King is brilliant! On to the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • DanyelleScottSkinCare
  • 2021-12-04

Had to quit at chapter 22.

Such a shame, as Angus King is a talented narrator. I've enjoyed other books he's narrated, but the way this one was written, made the general narrative sound somehow fake, monotonous, and boring.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christie
  • 2022-07-23

Angus King is the best narrator!

Love JD Kirks characters and how Angus King really brings the to life with is excellent narrative skills.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rebecca Linkenmeyer
  • 2022-06-13

great

these books are always a great story line and the narration makes the book amazing.