Get a free audiobook

Blood & Honey

Serpent & Dove, Book 2
Written by: Shelby Mahurin
Series: Serpent & Dove, Book 2
Length: 14 hrs and 18 mins
4 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The stakes are higher. The witches are deadlier. And the romance is red-hot. The eagerly anticipated sequel to the New York Times and Indiebound best seller Serpent & Dove is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. 

Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church - fugitives with nowhere to hide. To survive, they need allies. Strong ones. But as Lou becomes increasingly desperate to save those she loves, she turns to a darker side of magic that may cost Reid the one thing he can’t bear to lose. 

Bound to her always, his vows were clear: Where Lou goes, he will go; and where she stays, he will stay.  

Until death do they part.  

©2020 Shelby Mahurin (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Blood & Honey

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Good. So Tragic.

This novel explores the complex nature of morality and relationship. I devoured the entire story. Romance. Heartbreak. Consequence. Readers are forced to feel all the feelings; the good and the tragic.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Rachel Simmons
  • 2020-09-04

Borderline good.

I enjoyed this book, however I definitely enjoyed the first one better. You never know it might be a great build up to the next book. It did kinda drag in some parts. But overall I would read it again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • D Y
  • 2020-09-03

Author's Announcement Ruined Experience

It was good, but I would have preferred if Shelby Mahurin didn't announce that there was going to be a death. I immediately assumed (right) who was going to die without knowing anything else. It took away from the experience for me since I was expecting it for months before B&H was released.

Narrators are okay. Not my favorite but I mostly got used to their voices. They did a pretty good job changing their voice for different characters. I didn't care for Maarleveld's Reid voice too much.

I think it would have been better to read, not listen to. There was a lot going on and a lot of new characters to remember.

I still liked it though! I will purchase the physical copy and see if I like it better. Right now I just feel sort of blah about it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rebecca T.
  • 2020-09-21

Great Story - Bad Male Narrator

The story was a great continuation of Serpent & Dove (though it wasnt quite as good), however it has the same male narrator which was a let down. He speaks choppily and like he is grunting the whole time. It is jarring and unpleasant but it was the only thing about this book that I disliked.

9/10 for the book
10/10 for the female narrator
2/10 for the male narrator

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Heidi S.
  • 2020-09-19

So much heartache

I don't even know what to do with myself right now. This book shredded my heart in so many ways. Watching Lou and Reid fall apart, watching Coco struggle with Lou, that ending... I don't have the appropriate words.

Serpent & Dove will forever live on in my top 5 list, but Blood & Honey won't join it there. I knew this book was going to be rough, but I didn't know how tough it would be. The fantastic Lou lost herself in this book and just about lost everyone she cared for as well. While she had her funny moments in the beginning, she lost it further on into the book. Although, her continuation of Big Titty Liddy was pretty phenomenal!!!

Big Willy Billy talked sort of silly but his knob was as long as his arm.
It's shape down his thigh soon caughy Liddy's eye and in nine months a nipper was born 😂😂😂

I still love this book, even with all of the heartache involved, and I can't wait to see what happens next.

The Narrators were phenomenal!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • nereyda
  • 2020-09-15

Where's the romance

What happened from book 1 to book 2. Very little was given to the reader in the romance department. I mean, come on, they've newly weds! Hello.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-09-08

CLIFFHANGER ALERT 🚨

How Am I suppose to wait until the next book!!! I just finished the book, and I'm so mad at Shelby Mahurin.....

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly
  • 2020-09-07

Really really awful

I loved Serpent and Dove, but the entire plot of Blood and Honey seems so forced. It just feels as if there are a bunch of contrived side quests the characters need to go on without much logic behind them. The story moved so slowly and could not hold my attention. On top of that, there is absolutely no believable love between Lou and Reid, even during the times where there is supposed to be love and heat and passion between them, so this really deflates the whole story.

On top of all of this, the performance of Holter Graham, who plays Reid, is SO SO bad. He is so nasally and does the weirdest, most over the top scratchy straining voices for each character. Saskia Maarlevedly (Lou's voice), on the other hand, was really great.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kayla Clark
  • 2020-09-05

Solid Sequel

Enjoyed this sequel a lot. New characters lots of suspense. The voice for Lou is great. The voice for Reid is terrible. Weird cadence, and way over the top for other voices. It totally would take me out of the story, and I would rather read the kindle version, than listen to his bizarre performance.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-09-05

I didn’t see that coming

Ok, Lou’s voice after is lovely! Wish she narrated the whole book. Reid’s (and Bau’s)..:well like the first he sounded pained and angry all the time. The halting speech pattern and the talking around a mouth full of rocks distracted me too much. Though he killed it with Claud’s voice. So wtf? It’s in his wheel house!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JTK
  • 2020-09-04

B&H WAS BRILLIANT!

WOWOW. The narrators were perfect and the story so captivating! I am absolutely obsessed with his series and can't wait for book 3!