Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The stakes are higher. The witches are deadlier. And the romance is red-hot. The eagerly anticipated sequel to the New York Times and Indiebound best seller Serpent and Dove is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. 

Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church - fugitives with nowhere to hide. To survive, they need allies. Strong ones. But as Lou becomes increasingly desperate to save those she loves, she turns to a darker side of magic that may cost Reid the one thing he can’t bear to lose. 

Bound to her always, his vows were clear: Where Lou goes, he will go; and where she stays, he will stay.

Until death do they part.

©2020 Shelby Mahurin (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Blood & Honey

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Holy Sh*t What A Ride

Blood & Honey Written by: Shelby Mahurin Plot The story picks up right after the end of Serpent & Dove. Lou, Reid, Ansel, Mme Labelle, Coco, and Beau are hiding in La forêt des Yeux, they need to find allies to fight against Morgane and they need to do it fast. They want to talk to the blood witches, the loup-garou, and even the king. They also encounter new characters and even though I was wary of Claud at first, I admit that I really loved him, he is a great character.This book is more serious and darker. Reid is trapped in his dark thoughts most of the time, he hates himself for killing the archbishop, he hates magic but he loves Lou. We could feel anger between them for the first 300 pages or so. Sure it added drama (and I love drama), but I still missed their funny and sarcastic dialogues.The storyline is great. The beginning is a little slow, and some parts were a little long, but the book as a whole is really worth it. The ending was heartbreaking even though I expected it a little. There is also a kind of cliffhanger and I can't wait to read the next book. there are many action scenes and overall I really liked this book, but it was not as good as the first one. Plot Thoughts Ok so let me start off with I know that Lou making the decision to split up to get more accomplished may have seemed like a good idea at the time however I personally believe it wasn't smart. Secondly, How did I know that the missing boy from the witch oven was going to end up either tortured or dead? SURE ENOUGH! Lastly, How Reid managed to make himself feel uncomfortable with the conversation between himself and the circus people I have no idea. Men may not be experienced with talking as much as women most times but COME ON REID! its small talk to build a relationship. When I got to the part of the book where the group finds the wolf pack all I could think of was that scene in Jurassic Park 3 when Alan and the group confronts the Raptors and give the eggs back. "Get down everyone it's a challenge" Overall All in all I loved this sequel. I didn't get all the feels I was expecting. However, with that being said I think this book just conveniently sets us readers up for what's to come. The epic battle, the characters finding what they lost in the journey along the way, and ultimately reuniting accepting their fates to overcome. Predictable yes, but at the same time a uniquely adventurous ride. Most definitely looking forward to the impressive conclusion, but please I beg of you Mahurin don't make this more than a trilogy or I am bound to lose interest.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Good. So Tragic.

This novel explores the complex nature of morality and relationship. I devoured the entire story. Romance. Heartbreak. Consequence. Readers are forced to feel all the feelings; the good and the tragic.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly
  • 2020-09-07

Really really awful

I loved Serpent and Dove, but the entire plot of Blood and Honey seems so forced. It just feels as if there are a bunch of contrived side quests the characters need to go on without much logic behind them. The story moved so slowly and could not hold my attention. On top of that, there is absolutely no believable love between Lou and Reid, even during the times where there is supposed to be love and heat and passion between them, so this really deflates the whole story. On top of all of this, the performance of Holter Graham, who plays Reid, is SO SO bad. He is so nasally and does the weirdest, most over the top scratchy straining voices for each character. Saskia Maarlevedly (Lou's voice), on the other hand, was really great.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Rachel Simmons
  • 2020-09-04

Borderline good.

I enjoyed this book, however I definitely enjoyed the first one better. You never know it might be a great build up to the next book. It did kinda drag in some parts. But overall I would read it again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • D Y
  • 2020-09-03

Author's Announcement Ruined Experience

It was good, but I would have preferred if Shelby Mahurin didn't announce that there was going to be a death. I immediately assumed (right) who was going to die without knowing anything else. It took away from the experience for me since I was expecting it for months before B&H was released. Narrators are okay. Not my favorite but I mostly got used to their voices. They did a pretty good job changing their voice for different characters. I didn't care for Maarleveld's Reid voice too much. I think it would have been better to read, not listen to. There was a lot going on and a lot of new characters to remember. I still liked it though! I will purchase the physical copy and see if I like it better. Right now I just feel sort of blah about it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Younghee
  • 2020-12-02

I’m proud of myself for finishing.

If this was a 2 part series I might’ve loved it. I really enjoyed the Serpent and Dove. I even listened to it twice, despite not liking the performance as much. But, oh my god, I’ve never felt so frustrated with a book in my entire reading history. Blood and Honey was probably never meant for me since I don’t like to watch or read things that are dripping in drama. And it was FULL of drama, tension, angst and woe is me, to the point where I had to stop listening for a while. Not to mention random characters popping in for convenience sake but in the end they are useless or unnecessary (most likely a build up for the next book, but it felt so forced). And there were scenes that felt rushed (while others dragged on) to tie some loose ends or to quickly explain, or foreshadow situations, which I honestly wouldn’t have minded if this saga ended with this book. All in all, it really dragged on when it didn’t need to. It was a ride, but I don’t see myself picking up the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Annette
  • 2020-11-30

Fantastic

Loved this one even more than the first. Strong story all the way through. Can’t wait for the next book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ashton Swapp
  • 2020-11-25

male narrator is horrible

horrible isn't even enough to describe the male narrator. he is really really really bad and made it extremely difficult to get through this book. his horrible voice takes away from the story. he pauses wrong and his female interpretations are insulting. the female narrator is pretty good and I wish she just did the whole book. probably won't be continuing in this series unless I read the next book myself.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Melinda
  • 2020-11-17

Disappointing

I enjoyed the first book in the series I enjoyed the character development that took place it was interesting to watch the dynamics of a witch and a witch hunter falling in love. But this book was a sharp departure from the character development. It seemed like the characters were written by a different author and with a different development arch every other paragraph. The whiplash was RIDICULOUS. I love you I hate everything about you but also you’re my wife so I love you but also you’re terrible. I hated nearly every minute of this book. Don’t bother reading this sequel the ending you make up in your head is better than what the author actually wrote.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Tanya Fluke
  • 2020-11-15

Story & Female Narrator good....Male narrator TERRIBLE!!!

I was hoping the male narrator from the previous book would not follow the sequel. I was disappointed when I saw his name. If’s it’s even possible, he is worse this story than the last. So bad he takes away from the story in its entirety. On a positive note, I love the female narrator and the overall concept of the story.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-11-10

Hard to understand

The male narrator is very hard to understand. The use of the overly heavy accents made it near impossible to focus on the story.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Karissa Maultsby
  • 2020-11-05

If I could give this book negative stars I would!!!

This the worst book I’ve ever listened to or read! I loved loved loved the first one so major disappointment when I started the second one and it’s so badly written that I can’t even tell what’s going at the point that I’m half way through the book. It didn’t feel anything like the first one, the characters are confusing and not the same at all and the man that reads reeds part is literally painful to listen too!! He sounds like he has cramps while trying to read and you can’t even understand what he’s saying when he try’s to read another character! The story line was so bad I got to only having an hour left one this book and stopped it and never went back. Do not waste your time or your life on this book!