Get a free audiobook

Boyfriend Material

Written by: Alexis Hall
Narrated by: Joe Jameson
Length: 13 hrs and 11 mins
Categories: LGBT, Literature & Fiction
5 out of 5 stars (27 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Luc O'Donnell is tangentially - and reluctantly - famous. His rock-star parents split when he was young, and the father he's never met spent the next 20 years cruising in and out of rehab. Now that his dad's making a comeback, Luc's back in the public eye, and one compromising photo is enough to ruin everything.

To clean up his image, Luc has to find a nice normal relationship...and Oliver Blackwood is as nice and normal as they come. He's a barrister, an ethical vegetarian, and someone who has never inspired a moment of scandal in his life. In other words, he’s perfect boyfriend material. Unfortunately, apart from being gay, single, and really really in need of a date for a big event, Luc and Oliver have nothing in common. So they strike a deal to be publicity-friendly (fake) boyfriends until the dust settles. Then they can go their separate ways and pretend it never happened.

But the thing about fake-dating is that it can feel a lot like real-dating. And that's when you get used to someone...start falling for them...don't ever want to let them go.

©2020 Dreamscape Media, LLC (P)2020 Dreamscape Media, LLC

What listeners say about Boyfriend Material

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Adorable

Absolutely loved it! It has me laughing out loud less than a minute in. Loved the characters and their beautiful imperfections!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved This Book

The plot might seem really trope-y, but it’s executed in an interesting and innovative way. Thoroughly enjoyable and I was really sad when it was over. I wanted to live with these characters for a little while longer! Audiobook performance was masterful. Amazing character voices!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Truly a Surprise

as a fan of Red White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston i was a little weary on starting this as it seemed fairly similar.
But i was surprised, both in how different it was but also in how much i adored this book.
Joe Jameson does a wonderful job at bringing all of Hall’s characters to life and the listening experience over all was very good
my only fault to this book is the abrupt ending, it left me wanting so much more
but overall, for a fantastically tropey and soft NA rom com, it’s everything you could want and more

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Clean and Funny

This book is very funny, and definitely enjoyable if you're not expecting much in the way of plot or romance. I laughed out loud several times. The characters are genuinely lovely.

What made me put it down was the intimacy between Luc and Oliver. While there wasn't any suspense in the romance (no heat, no build-up), things had certainly been leading to the moment of their first "joining", especially after Oliver had put a stop to any intimate connection between them. That led me to expect a spectacular first sex scene when it finally arrived. Unfortunately, this book was clean and all intimacy was fade-to-black, removing what I feel is the most deeply emotional, and meaningful part of romance novels.

If you like clean romances with lots of great humour, this book is for you. It's just not for me. Enjoy!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Smart and Funny Brit Rom Com

Adorable and funny. I was snickering after just a few minutes - wow Luc does some excellent snark, and his POV can be hilarious. Luc has massive self esteem and trust issues, and really should be annoying, but isn't. Oliver, his pretend boyfriend is polite, professional, erudite and clearly a modern adonis. If they can just make it through the next two months...


The narration by Joe Jameson is just wonderful.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cranky Reader
  • 2020-07-08

The right material!

Boyfriend Material hit the right note of fun & funny yet serious enough to care.

I’ve been in a reading slump recently. It’s been hard to find a romance with real emotional growth from trying situations that aren’t so tragic that they’re too much to take because 2020 is a dumpster fire. I completely forgot about social distancing while watching Luc deftly schmooze donors for CRAPP. I liked Oliver enthusing about his career & making sure jokes weren’t mean spirited. I cheered when the hotelier refused to give out personal information about a guest. It was great that no one went stalker - they said their piece & took no for an answer. The solid couple of chapters full of parents and (appropriate) F-words were tense and interesting and healthy. I liked the use of internet grammar (such van, much emergency; clean all the things: we baconed in silence) and supportive friends.

I agree with the SBTB review that suggested a longer or additional final scene or epilogue would be in order. Not so much because they were lacking, but because I wanted more time with Oliver and Luc being together & good for each other. Revisiting the hedgehog boxers was a nice touch, but what I like about fake relationships is how they nudge the characters back together again and again until they catch their groove. There was so much good togetherness in the book as a whole, after a couple chapters of apartness (forgive me), I wanted more time with them being together again.

If you want a comedic romance that has light & fluffy moments, a running side gag of escalating book emergencies, good & bad parents, and emotion enough to tug the heartstrings, read Boyfriend Material. (If you haven’t belly laughed by the ~3rd page/chapter, it’s not your kind of humor. It is exactly the kind of humor I enjoy so I LOLed a lot.)

Steam: Low. The M/M sexytimes were slow to get going then off page.

Narration: Generally well done. Narrator used different voices for dialogue. Some of the choices made for female voices seemed a tad odd but overall it was pleasant listening. Good audio quality.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jennycita
  • 2020-07-11

Great read for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue

I always enjoy a good fake boyfriend yarn and these characters were compelling. The author’s breezy tone made it very hard for me to put this down! The narrator is an asset to the prose and a delight to listen to. Highly recommend! ❤️💙❤️💙

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Texan2
  • 2020-07-21

Fabulous

My favorite book of this year, and my favorite narration. Both have helped to keep my world afloat in the chaos that is the year 2020.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mehecske
  • 2020-07-11

Wonderful

Alexis Hall is a wonderful writer whose characters are full of life and joy. You can feel the fun he has playing with language and the thoughtfulness put into it.

Joe Jameson did a fabulous performance. He was a full cast of characters himself. I particularly liked his upper class nitwit performance.

I highly recommend this book.

All the heart eyes emojis.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AmazonReviewer
  • 2020-07-10

Quirky, emotional, humorous , and sweet.

I loved this very typically quirky and often hilarious romance. All the characters - even the ridiculous over-the-top posh ones were well developed and truly made the book in my opinion. Like almost all of this author’s books it was outstanding! Between the times I found myself chuckling at the humor, I was tearing up because of Lucian’s pain and emotional damage. It was not an easy path to the HFN finale. I hope Hall has more books in the works because he is truly one of the most talented authors I’ve read - especially in this genre and it was a long wait for this latest publication. I’m so happy to find something of his again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Akiva Munnell
  • 2020-08-05

A fantastic read/listen

I absolutely loved this book! The story was engaging and romantic with plenty of twists and turns and the narrator is phenomenal!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • MagicalAM
  • 2020-08-04

Enjoyable but more angst than romance

The story is funny and engaging enough to be entertaining, particularly the side characters. Narration was especially good. But there is zero heat and while the story is focused on a developing relationship, it’s not very romantic overall. If you enjoy witty banter and British stories, this is for you. But don’t expect the usual m/m romance elements.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alicia Z. Ramos
  • 2020-08-03

I love this book RIDICULOUS amounts

This book is a delight from the opening scene to the very last sentence. I've gushed at the author about it on Twitter. I've recommended it to every friend who'll listen. I'm not sure how many times I've listened to it (many), and it's only been out a few weeks. It's hilarious and heart-wrenching, and the characters are, despite their rom-com ways, deeply human and believable. I want to send Alexis Hall chocolates and medals and perhaps a nice cottage in the country. Since I can't do those things, I'll just tell you: buy this NOW.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • I. Lind
  • 2020-08-01

Best. Performance. Ever.

Loved the story, laughed and teared up. Enthralling and ever so entertaining! But the performance was absolutely PERFECT. Highly, HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Styly
  • 2020-08-01

Glad I found this book

I got the Kindle version with the narration. First book in a while that I purchased. What a great find, really made my 40 minute commutes fly by. I was actually excited to commute for a change because I couldn't wait to get back into the story. I felt like the character development was excuted very well and the storyline was easy to follow. At some points, l however found the characters to act unrealistically dramatic for things that weren't really that dramatic. On a side note, great choice of narrator, very dreamy voice!

1 person found this helpful