Get a free audiobook

My Fair Junkie

A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean
Written by: Amy Dresner
Narrated by: Amy Dresner
Length: 7 hrs and 58 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (27 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's 20-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did.

Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011, all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly "brandished" a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for "felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon".

Within months, she found herself in the psych ward - and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang", she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her 40s.

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

©2017 Amy Dresner (P)2017 Hachette Audio

What the critics say

"Like Carrie Fisher's 1987 autobiographical novel, Postcards from the Edge, and Mary Karr's 2009 memoir, Lit, Amy Dresner's story of addiction and recovery, My Fair Junkie: A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Stay Clean (Hachette Books), is one for the ages." ( Elle)
"Effortlessly candid and wryly written chronicle of a life hijacked by drugs, booze, and bad behavior. As a noted West Hollywood stand-up comedian and addiction journalist, she handles this complex tale with wit.... A hard-knocks addiction memoir buoyed with humor and insight." ( Kirkus)

More from the same

Author:

Narrator:

What listeners say about My Fair Junkie

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommended memoir about addiction

Thank you, Amy.
Your memoir is a gift to those navigating their own journey with addiction. Touching not just on alcohol and drug addiction but anything that takes away more than it gives. Casually read and such a powerful story. Loved your narration. Looking forward to your next book.
All the best,
J

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

bravo

love love loved this book , Amy your are to funny but also serious thank you for everything you do to make recovery bearable

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

From RG

Bare pure honesty. A gift of love, help and insight.

Thanks for your giving, all the best

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie Lange
  • 2018-03-02

if you don't read this I'll brandish a bread knife

I have never written a review for a book before but felt like I had to for Amy. This book is incredible. if you have any toe into addiction or sobriety in anyway, be it you or family/friends family members this is a must read. addiction is so layered, mental illiness is real, addiction can happen to anyone. People that suffer need compassion, need understanding, need help. No one is immune. she helps to show that addiction shows no discrimination, that mental health is really a serious thing that we should address and you will love her and root for her as much as your own best friend. Amy thank you. you're a gorgeous human being. and so real. thank you for showing me I can be real. I can be ME.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan shortsleeve
  • 2018-03-02

Best book an addiction I have read in years!

An amazing account of Amy’s spiral down into addiction. Heartbreaking, gritty, gut wrenching & brutally honest! I love the author reads the book & she’s got a great sense of humor to boot. The brutally honest truth about addiction & the courage it takes to recover.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Becky
  • 2017-11-20

Oy vey

I mean this book jumped around so much that I had no idea sometimes where she was – married, doing community service, with one guy or another on one drug or another… It had absolutely no organized story.

I was captivated I listened until the end which says a lot because sometimes I don’t, but as far as story and overall enjoyment, I was more confused than anything and just stuck it out to see how it ended. Which was a huge disappointment anyway. Not impressed

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Misty
  • 2019-04-26

Ping pong ball

This book jumps around like a ping pong ball. I couldn’t keep track if we were in the present or past most of the time. I tried really hard to continue to listen to this book. I couldn’t even finish it. The narration was very good though. The story was just all over the place.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Angela Angelo
  • 2018-04-18

OPEN AND HONEST

I would give this 10 stars if it were an option! Amy, you absolutely moved me to tears and laughter and frequent head nods when you said something that I totally related to and understood exactly how you felt! You are a inspiration to many hopeless addicts (including myself) that there is a better way and God doesn’t make mistakes! You tell your story in the most vulnerable way ever and people need to hear shit like that! Addiction is real life and there is no sugar coating shit if you want to get clean and healthy! I wish I could meet Amy and just kick for a day, would probably be the most amazing day ever! Great story for those who need to hear someone else’s experience, strength, and hope!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Happygolucky2802
  • 2019-08-28

Real!

I love how she kept it real the entire book! It was a process and made me understand what an addict goes through.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-08-18

Inspiring

Love the honestly! Gives me hope I am also in recovery! Thanks girl! Very inspiring!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2018-04-12

WILL Listen Again and Again!

What made the experience of listening to My Fair Junkie the most enjoyable?

The Author's narration drew me in from the first chapter and her amazing story kept me listening almost non-stop until the very end.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Amy Dresner is a complex, raw, humorous and finally sober storyteller.

Have you listened to any of Amy Dresner’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

This is the first book of Amy Dresner's that I have heard of, but would definitely read/listen to more!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I couldn't get enough of this book. As soon as it was over, I started it from the beginning again. I am now on listen number 3. I read and listen to countless books on alcoholism, recovery and self help, but this is the first time I have listened repeatedly. Fantastic story, narration, and newfound hope.

Any additional comments?

This is an audible purchase you will not regret!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Gage
  • 2018-01-25

Terrible

I've read all the junkie highlight books and this is not one of them. Nothing cool, nothing enlightening just the memoir of a self hating drug abuser.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alexis Nix
  • 2019-08-17

Honest, Funny, Hilarious, Sad and so Amazing!

This book is brutally honest, And all around so soooo good! I could not stop listening! Highly recommend

1 person found this helpful