Listen free for 30 days

  • Orphan X

  • Evan Smoak, Book 1
  • Written by: Gregg Hurwitz
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 11 hrs and 15 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (410 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Orphan X cover art

Orphan X

Written by: Gregg Hurwitz
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $37.71

Buy Now for $37.71

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Brilliantly conceived and plotted... Read this book. You’ll thank me later.” - David Baldacci

The first in the international bestselling series!

Who is Orphan X?

The Nowhere Man is a legendary figure spoken about only in whispers. It’s said that when he’s reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them. But he’s not merely a legend.

“Excellent...A smart, stylish, state-of-the-art thriller...might give Lee Child’s Jack Reacher books a run for their money.” - The Washington Post

Evan Smoak is a man with skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. He’s also a man with a dangerous past. Chosen as a child, he was raised and trained as an Orphan, an off-the-books black box program designed to create the perfect deniable intelligence asset: An assassin. Evan was Orphan X - until he broke with the program and used everything he learned to disappear. But now someone is on his tail. Someone with similar skills and training who will exploit Evan’s secret new identity as the Nowhere Man to eliminate him.

“Hurwitz melds nonstop action and high-tech gadgetry...in this excellent series opener.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

©2016 Gregg Hurwitz (P)2015 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.

What the critics say

"The most exciting thriller I've read since The Bourne Identity. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne will LOVE Evan Smoak. A new thriller superstar is born!" (Robert Crais)
" Orphan X is the most gripping, high-octane thriller I've read in a long, long time. Hang onto your seat because Gregg Hurwitz will take you on a dizzying ride you'll not soon forget!" (Tess Gerritsen)

What listeners say about Orphan X

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    275
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    277
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    249
  • 4 Stars
    82
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Nic
  • 2018-09-15

Fun and fast paced

Found this book to be fun to listen to. Always curious to see what was going to happen next. Good story, well read. #Audible1

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Straight-up Brain Candy Done Well

This stuff will rot your brain if you're not careful. 'Orphan X' is cartoonish, juvenile, violent.. and addictive. Gregg Hurwitz presents a character who was kidnapped as a child for some reason, trained in espionage/ weapons/ combat/ assassination, used as a human weapon by the government, and lives as an adult secretly using his training to heroically fight evil and help wretched anonymous victims in society one at a time. The tech/tactics are well-researched, the scenarios are grim & gritty, and the descriptions are graphic - this 'Equalizer meets Jason Bourne' effort is strikingly clichéd but includes pulse pounding scenes. It's well-written and paced well enough to get adrenaline flowing and dopamine bathing your nucleus accumbens (provided you can set aside enough logic - plot holes like "Where does his money come from?", "What happened to his Foster Parents?", and "Why did Black-Ops train him to have threesomes?" are *huge*). Whatever.. It's still Crack for Action-Thriller afficianados.

Scott Brick turns in a typically professional performance: his tone and timbre are excellent and his voice-acting is commendable (even considering fairly weak female and child interpretations). The main deficiencies in Brick's narration are also typical for him: an annoyingly lazy drawl and a plodding pace - both corrected somewhat with playback set at 1.15X. I highly recommend this technique anytime you encounter Mr. Brick.

This story requires the ability to suspend disbelief, but if you can do so - compared to others in the genre - it merits 8 stars out of 10. Fans of Ludlum, Child, Greaney, or even Clancy will enjoy this stuff - but I advise taking it in moderation. As for me? On to Book 2.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, fantastic reader

I enjoy ever book that I have listened to with Scott Brock as the reader.

Thanks

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tom
  • 2018-09-18

Not your usual tough guy stuff

Nice twist on your Jack Reacher type character. Narration is excellent as well. Very enjoyable - even if you don't read the previous Orphan X novel. #Audible1

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I'm going to stick with it, but....

I am going to stick with it as the story is good and makes the listener want to find out what happens, however the narrator is just not for me. The combination of melodramatic detail that is intrinsic to a novel of this genre with this narrators' style makes me cringe to the point where I almost want to stop listening. It's the same problem I have with the Clive Cussler novels (same narrator) where I find the plots and stories interesting, but I can't enjoy the listening experience because the syrupy, over the top almost worshippy delivery of the narrator transports it to spoof territory.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

2nd time through

This was my second read as I am anticipating the next book in the series by listening to all previous books again. Still so good. Excellent narration!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Alright

The narrator was quite good, but the story seemed too cliche and style could've been a little better.
not bad if you like a Jason Bourne style book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fantastic thriller/espionage novel

I was hooked on the novel from the second I started it, and was always excited to get back into continuing the story.

voice actors performance was fantastic he really did do an incredible job I'm delivering the story written by Gregg hurwitz.

I hadn't heard anything about this off there before I picked up this book but after fully reading it a very glad I decided to make the purchase.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Absurd

America creates these superstar executioners do they? They could not even eliminate Sadam without a major war. It was painful to go through.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

a touch fast but a good book. I will buy the next one when I have time

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!