Get a free audiobook

Safe with Me

A psychological thriller so tense it will take your breath away
Written by: K. L. Slater
Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis
Length: 9 hrs and 31 mins
4 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Thirteen years ago someone did something very bad to Anna. Now it's her turn to get even.

Anna lives a solitary existence, taking solace in order and routine. Her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. She doesn't like to let people to get too close - she knows how much damage they can do.

Then one ordinary day, Anna witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as Carla, the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. Now it's Anna's chance to set things straight, but her revenge needs to be executed carefully....

First she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows.... But as Anna's obsession with Carla escalates, her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous, or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home?

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Sister.

©2016 KMW Enterprises Limited (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

It is a tough listen

The story drags on and on, the only reason I kept listening was because I needed to find the point of the whole story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written psychological thriller

Boy some of Anna's train of thoughts really got on my nerves and I almost turned the book off a couple of time's. I guess that means K.L. Slater did such a good job of building this mentally disturbed lady it got under my skin. However, I can certainly understand Anna's dislike (or hatred) of Carla as she certainly could have made better decisions in the scheme of things. Some of Anna's thoughts got me really irritated and made me think how someone could even see things the way she did. I guess with the"right" set of circumstances anything is possible.

The narrator did a pretty good job of vocally distinguishing between characters and did a great job overall narrating the story. I would look for other books from this author for sure!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

Very entertaining and well written.
Worth every penny. I would definately recommend it to a friend. I love the audio voice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great all the way through.

Loved the narrator. I will look for more read by her. The story was very engaging... the kind of book you can't stop listening to.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

great story

enjoyed it all the way through, different story than any I have heard but good.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy listening

I listened to the book in a couple of days, enjoyable thriller, although I found that it was lacking a proper cliffhanger, the whole situation was quite obvious from early on.
I did really like the reader performance though!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lizzystick
  • 2017-04-28

Interesting crazy people

This Book was really interesting and full of great crazy people. The main character is not all that likable and I found myself cringing at her actions throughout the book... but I found myself rooting for her anyway. The overall plot is a bit far fetched but interesting characters made the book enjoyable. Even though I figured out who is really the bad person fairly early I was invested enough in the outcome to not want to stop listening. Narration was really good almost 5 stars.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ROBIN
  • 2017-03-21

Different... good different!

I listen to a lot of books from this genre, and it's nice to find one that is interesting and different from the rest. This one has several story lines and twists and a revealing ending. Kind of creepy, but highly recommendable! The narration was perfect.

25 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Gwendolyn
  • 2017-05-20

Cheated

Have to say that this is not a good psychological thriller. Most of the book's focus is on a tragedy 13 years before, and how those lives are affected. The story goes back and forth as events unfold. Suddenly, the story switches up and the focus and ending are about 2 people unrelated to the tragedy. It's like the author got bored with the plot, changed the focus of the story and tacks on an ending that leaves you feeling cheated. I will not bother with this author again!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anna M Dunnam
  • 2017-07-12

Intriguing story

It kept making me think I knew what was going to happen, yet, it would go in a different direction. Great story!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Booberkitty
  • 2017-09-10

To Lengthy

The story drug on with very little surprises, the ending was bland, yet I will say once I started the book I had to see how it would end. The narrator was great.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • 2017-07-10

All of the characters are clinically insane!

The best thing I can say about Safe With Me is that it kept my interest; a train wreck would also keep my interest. The comparison to a train wreck is apt. There are also many plot twists that can not be easily foreseen. I recently wrote a 5 star review of Liar which is another psychological thriller by K.L. Slater. Safe With Me is not nearly as worthwhile.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Kim
  • 2017-09-26

Not the best

This book was very drawn out on the story- I think it could have been shorter. Anna was very predictable and she was not really an interesting character. All in all it was a book I could have lived without listening to. Save your credit for something with more substance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Han Moreno
  • 2017-03-16

Love the build up of suspense.

Very good audiobook to listen to. The suspense was building up as the chapter progressive. Only thing to say in my listening was that the audio and the physical book did not correlated with the chapter in the book but I still manage to listen to it. For example, the audible book said this certain chapter but in the physical book it was a different chapter. Anyways, I would recommend this for anybody that likes the suspense throughout the story.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Buzy_reading
  • 2019-06-08

Unstable characters...an accident trying them together

When Anna witnesses an accident involving a scooter she takes corrective action. Anna worked as a mail carrier who became obsessed with Liam and Amanda the two individuals involved in the accident. She took on the role of stalker and snooper sabotaging Amanda’s character in the process. Anna was hung up on the injustice of what Amanda did to Liam.

Following the lives of Joan, Carla, and Anna. Alternating between the past of thirteen years ago and the present. The chains of events that escalated from this one accident proceeded to move in directions that established how unstable and fragile Anna’s mind was given the circumstances of her past. When you mix in the secrets of Ivy, Liam, and Amanda it was a cocktail of questionable concern. Yet these secrets don’t come until the end of the story meanwhile Anna is rooting around playing detective by herself looking for anything to discredit the other women in Liam’s life.

Overall:
My issue with this story was my inability to figure out where the author is going with Anna’s character. The way the author delivered this information had me questioning the relevance. What was the purpose of Joan’s point of view? What was the purpose of going back fifteen years to Daniel’s backstory? How would these characters tie into Anna’s present situation? Too many plot holes from the beginning. Too many loose ends that were put on hold until the author chose to incorporate them later in the story.

Those scenes with Anna smelling something sour led to absolutely nothing. I had expected something more grander. Anna being a mail carrier was disappointing as well. All those scenes with her unable to complete her delivery route led to a disappointing resolution. Amanda and Liam meeting up at his home were disappointing. This too was a disappointment with the way the details unfolded.


Narrator:
This is a first time that I’ve loved listening to an audiobook more than the story itself. Lucy Price-Lewis is the British solo performer. Her voice is like magic. Must be the accent. I’m a sucker for a good accent. She delivers a worthy narration with good sound quality, good tone, and a good performance.


Every word that left her mouth seemed to carry an unspoken subtext that only Anna herself understood.
Liam’s name spelled backwards spells mail.
The timeline doesn’t make sense. Thirteen years ago Carla was helping Daniel at school as a counselor meaning her age had to have been older than what she was later in the book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • RN Analyst
  • 2018-09-30

Got better at the end....

I felt the main character made way to many illogical decisions. That may have been the point, but it bordered on stupid and unrealistic. If i had been allowed to exchange this book I would have, but since I couldn't, I just finished it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful