Listen free for 30 days

  • Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

  • Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking
  • Written by: Samin Nosrat
  • Narrated by: Samin Nosrat
  • Length: 5 hrs and 57 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (78 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat cover art

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Written by: Samin Nosrat
Narrated by: Samin Nosrat
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $21.30

Buy Now for $21.30

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Samin Nosrat reads "The Four Elements of Good Cooking", part one of her New York Times best seller Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary yet simple philosophy. Master the use of just four elements - salt, which enhances flavor; fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; acid, which balances flavor; and heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food - and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2017 Samin Nosrat. All rights reserved. (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What the critics say

"Samin Nosrat's narration of her innovative cooking guide is informative and conversational. Nosrat is a helpful friend by your side in the kitchen, cheerfully imparting culinary wisdom through a combination of accessible scientific explanations and tales of past cooking disasters - and triumphs - of her own." (AudioFile)

What listeners say about Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best cookbook for folks don't follow recipes

If you are one of the folks like me, can never follow a recipe without making many substitutes, this is the best cookbook for you. One focus on explaining elements of good cooking and liberates one from buying more cookbooks. Even though it's bad for business, selling more books, it's good for the reader, we get to learn how to master the elements of good cooking and put together something great every time with what you have at home. #Audible1

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A home cook must have

I loved this book, I have it in hard copy and audio. It has changed the way I view chicken breast.
Love, love love this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book

Good theoretical intro I don’t really know hard science when it came to cooking but this gave me a good overview to expand my abilities without following recipes so closely and often messing up

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!