Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A killer is at work in the supposedly safe commuter belt. DCI Gillard needs answers fast.... 

Promising architect Peter Young is shot dead at his desk. DCI Craig Gillard is on the scene, looking at what appears to be a brutal and highly professional hit: two bullets, fired with ice-cold calm. Gillard knows that the most crucial question in solving the crime is one word: why? 

Two weeks later, on the Lincolnshire coast, another body is found on a windswept beach. In this case there is no identity for the young man, just a curious brand burned into his neck. As the mystery deepens, Gillard is plunged into a case without answers, finding himself up against dark forces - people who believe in only two things: blood and a warped code of honour. This time lives are on the line, children's lives - as well as his own. 

At breakneck pace and with a jaw-dropping twist, the suspense-filled second DCI Gillard crime thriller is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Faith Martin.

©2018 Nick Louth (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Body on the Shore

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lynn
  • 2019-03-18

Gripping Unusual & Masterful

Not your usual procedural.Architect shot dead at his desk. Is it a simple hit? What motive? And how is it that it is linked by DNA with a mysterious kidnapping of two orphan children adopted from Albania by a staggeringly wealthy British couple? ingenious plot twists kept me listening far into the night. Then there's that corpse on the beach 200 miles away. Great performance by a masterful narrator who glides effortlessly through regional accents, including English, Albanian, and Italian. An explosive climax, and a bitter afterword see the mystery solved, yet the future so unresolved. Great listen.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Thel
  • 2019-03-18

The Body on the Shore

This was a fabulous book! Twists and turns - right to the end. Just a minor complaint - I don't think the title of the book is appropriate.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Margaret
  • 2019-03-25

A disappointing sophomore effort.

I absolutely loved the first book in this series and was very excited to get the second, but this book is nowhere near as good as the first. The story is very unrealistic, bordering on the silly. I couldn't wait for it to be over quite frankly.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • kirkmonster
  • 2020-05-19

Hard Pass

I wish I would have stopped listening when young teen girls were refered to as "jail bait." Or when the main character was teased for having a stalker because a victim called him twice over 3 days. Or when the female boss, who I think the author was trying to describe as a strong, independent character, was not only a stereotypical lesbian that everyone gossiped about, but was also gossiped about having the hots for our hot male detective. What is a hot man supposed to do with all the ladies swooning over him? While our main character doesn't seem obsessed with sex, our author sure does seem obsessed with his fictional female characters and their boneability. All of this is gross of course and offensive. But his use of language is pretty gross too. You will find the author likes to find really big words he found all by himself in his thesaurus and throws them out between his careless and lazy overuse of the easy ones.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Lehua of Pacifica
  • 2020-02-01

Disjointed and horrifying

Loved his first. but this one is a self indulgent and fragmented mess. I can picture him getting drunk with his cronies and making a bet that he can sell a book that repeats the word "Albania" 6000 times. Was it that many? Probably more like 8000

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Yankee Bookworm
  • 2019-09-08

Well written. Far-fetched plot.

The Albanian aspect of the story stretched credulity for me. I don't see that a local police station would be involved in an international crime scene such as this. Still it was an unusual storyline and I give him credit for that. Looking forward to #3.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Miriam Sabir
  • 2019-05-06

The complete package

I love this series and Marston York is icing on the cake, his accents, cadence and speech patterns are spot on!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Diana Hart 33
  • 2019-12-09

book 2

Another good story read by a talented narrator, I'm looking forward to the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J. Ellis
  • 2019-06-05

Oh wow, this is a twister

Ever worried about Albanian feuds? You will after reading this one. Moves right along. Good book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Larry
  • 2019-05-23

Fascinating up to a point!

I really enjoyed this book, especially the trip to Albania. The narration was very good with several difficult accents. However, be prepared to suspend disbelief at the end.

1 person found this helpful