Listen free for 30 days

  • The Book of Doors

  • A Novel
  • Written by: Gareth Brown
  • Narrated by: Miranda Raison
  • Length: 13 hrs and 16 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (17 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Book of Doors cover art

The Book of Doors

Written by: Gareth Brown
Narrated by: Miranda Raison
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $31.46

Buy Now for $31.46

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A debut novel full of magic, adventure, and romance, The Book of Doors opens up a thrilling world of contemporary fantasy for fans of The Midnight Library, The Invisible Life of Addie Larue, The Night Circus, and any modern story that mixes the wonder of the unknown with just a tinge of darkness.

Cassie Andrews works in a New York City bookshop, shelving books, making coffee for customers, and living an unassuming, ordinary life. Until the day one of her favorite customers—a lonely yet charming old man—dies right in front of her. Cassie is devastated. She always loved his stories, and now she has nothing to remember him by. Nothing but the last book he was reading.

But this is no ordinary book…

It is the Book of Doors.

Inscribed with enigmatic words and mysterious drawings, it promises Cassie that any door is every door. You just need to know how to open them.

Then she’s approached by a gaunt stranger in a rumpled black suit with a Scottish brogue who calls himself Drummond Fox. He’s a librarian who keeps watch over a unique set of rare volumes. The tome now in Cassie’s possession is not the only book with great power, but it is the one most coveted by those who collect them.

Now Cassie is being hunted by those few who know of the Special Books. With only her roommate Izzy to confide in, she has to decide if she will help the mysterious and haunted Drummond protect the Book of Doors—and the other books in his secret library’s care—from those who will do evil. Because only Drummond knows where the unique library is and only Cassie’s book can get them there.

But there are those willing to kill to obtain those secrets. And a dark force—in the form of a shadowy, sadistic woman—is at the very top of that list.

©2024 Gareth Brown (P)2024 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Book of Doors

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t wait to listen to

Loved this book. It was a wonderful story made all the better by such incredible narration from Miranda Raison. She’s just become my new favourite narrator. Sorry John Lee.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

time travel done right

Thid book was like a love letter to all people who love books and llacthr reason they do. Fantasy so natural and perfectly balanced in the real world. So many interesting aspects to follow

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

highly recommend the book of doors.

so many unexpected plot twists.
I was hooked from the very beginning of this book. I was confused, disgusted, enamored, saddened, intrigued, and spellbound. the author has a wonderful imagination, and I look forward to reading more of his books.
the narrator did a wonderful job of depicting all the various characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

SO GOOD!!

This book is a delight! I couldn’t get enough and will definitely read it again (next time on paper, maybe, to get a different feel the second time around).

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unique world, loved it!

I loved this story. I was looking for a nice stand alone after marathoning some series, and this was wonderful. Now I wish there was more stories with these characters!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, whimsical and moving

It took me a bit longer to truly get into this book than normal but once I did, all I did was think about it. The story is a beautiful tale of many forms of love and magic. It leaves you feeling every emotion and as though you’re being yanked from one direction to the next. The story fits together snuggly and the ending leave you feeling satisfied. While the story itself is very moving, the performance is something to behold. The orator seamlessly flips through many, many accents and character voices while keeping the reader entranced in the story. Quite the feat! This book in audio form will not disappoint and is a great tale for those who love a whimsical, magical story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great storytelling, great narrator

I LOVED this book!!! I hope there’s an entire series coming because what a great concept, and what a captivating story. There’s so much the author can do with this! I’m excitedly awaiting a second :D

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!