Price: CDN$ 43.85

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day free trial and your first audiobook is free
  • After trial, get 1 credit each month good for any audiobook.
  • Exchange any audiobook you don’t like
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your free trial, Audible is just CDN$ 14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide? At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife's death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. 

The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge. 

Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by this riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core.

©2015 Lisa Jewell (P)2018 Dreamscape Media, LLC

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Strong commentary on marital commitments.<br />

Yes, there's a who-done-it story line. The male main character is an anti-hero. The whole book is a little depressing, and kind of drawn out. The reader gets the point long before it ends. But there is a very good message, and it is worth reading.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Susan
  • 2018-07-06

Not a mystery

This is a heart-warming novel. Somehow I bought it thinking it was a mystery. For those who like to read about the ups and downs of parenting, love and relationships it is fine

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Gretchen
  • Salinas, CA, United States
  • 2018-07-05

The Third Wife

I loved the character development as always with Lisa Jewell's books. This is the story of a family who survives divorce and remarriage more than once and presents as well blended, but of course it's not without a cost. The writing was excellent but the book left me with a feeling of melancholy.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Betsy Anne
  • New Salem, Massachusetts, US
  • 2018-10-12

Another blockbuster audio book for Lisa Jewell<br />

"The Third Wife" is a look at how life ought to be. it's both impossibly real, in its dialogue, actions and reactions, and really impossible, in its incredibly hopeful ending. I loved it. I am a Lisa Jewell fan. l also loved Joe Jameson's reading. He really gives Helen Duff a run for the money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jude
  • 2018-08-09

Another relevant and thought provoking book

I started this book and didn’t immediately get into it, I even listened to another before going back to it. It got better and better though and I thought the narrator did an awesome job narrating so many different characters and I would definitely listen to more read by him.

I really like Lisa Jewell’s books, it’s the second novel by here I’ve listened to and they were both very different but both similar in showing how disfunctional families can be and very current with mental health and how people feel.

I am glad she has more books because I will be choosing my next book for my wish list.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Courtney
  • 2018-07-10

Love it...everything about it!

This is s great modern age book with suspense that grips the families ties and untangles at the perfect time! Great Male Narrative as well!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • NMwritergal
  • Albuquerque, NM
  • 2018-07-05

Oficially giving up on Lisa Jewell

Jewell wrote two excellent books (The House We Grew Up In and The Making of Us), a couple of okay books, and some truly dreadful ones. Unfortunately, I read the really good ones first and it's been a disappointment ever since.This fell into the barely okay category.

Anytime Jewell tries to do the domestic suspense genre, IMHO it's a fail. The twists are either completely absurd or so minor that you've spent the whole book waiting for the answer (because that's about all you care about when a book is otherwise boring), which turns out to be nothing much. And this was the case with this book.

The premise was interesting, but there were too many characters (the main character has three ex-wives and five kids), none of whom I cared much about, none of whom were particularly interesting. And nothing very interesting actually happens in the book.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Stephanie Villanueva
  • 2018-09-25

Tedious at best

I started this book, with high hopes, however the further I got into it, the more I disliked it. I honestly finished it just to see how the story ends. The story dragged, and this was a very tedious listen. To make matters worse, it was all very anticlimactic at the end. I felt a little cheated.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • WendyG
  • 2018-08-16

ok, not the best book by author.

Too slow. But heartwarming. Still love Lisa Jewell. Going back to library to look again for new.book by this author.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • kristen
  • DILLSBURG, PA, United States
  • 2018-08-13

eh....<br />at no point did I feel engaged in the story

there was nothing climactic about this story it seemed to drag on and it was one of the more difficult books for me to keep interested in

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Zen Flower
  • 2018-08-10

The story is kind of predictable .

In my opinion not Lisa Newell’s best novel. It’s still an o-kay read. Honestly more like a beach read.