Listen free for 30 days

  • The Third Wife

  • A Novel
  • Written by: Lisa Jewell
  • Narrated by: Joe Jameson
  • Length: 9 hrs and 22 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (136 ratings)

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Third Wife cover art

The Third Wife

Written by: Lisa Jewell
Narrated by: Joe Jameson
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $43.85

Buy Now for $43.85

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide? At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife's death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. 

The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge. 

Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by this riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core.

©2015 Lisa Jewell (P)2018 Dreamscape Media, LLC

What listeners say about The Third Wife

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Strong commentary on marital commitments.

Yes, there's a who-done-it story line. The male main character is an anti-hero. The whole book is a little depressing, and kind of drawn out. The reader gets the point long before it ends. But there is a very good message, and it is worth reading.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An inside look at Divorce

This book is a meaningful look into the long term effects of divorce on children, regardless of their age. Children are often consumed by thoughts about living up to parental expectations, but how much thought is given by parents to living up to their children's expectations for them?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

Great story. Had me full of wonder and suspense from page one. Great insights from the characters lives; Joe Jameson is a great narrator.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

disappointing but I did finish it

felt like I waited for the whole book for the big mystery to start. Was very disappointed in this Lisa Jewell books it is definitely my least favourite of all of her work

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Okay

Story was good, ending was a disappointment! To date this is my least favourite book by Lisa. Prefer her twists and turns to have me surprised at the end... which I was, but not on the usual Lisa way!

Still worth the listen

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!!

I love Lisa Jewell novels. This one did not disappoint! I was captivated by the story and really enjoyed the narrator's voice. 5 stars!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good read.

This was a good story and it ended well. Not the ending I expected at all which is nice. It was a bit slow to make sense for me but eventually all clicked in place. Lisa Jewell has shone again.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan
  • Susan
  • 2018-07-06

Not a mystery

This is a heart-warming novel. Somehow I bought it thinking it was a mystery. For those who like to read about the ups and downs of parenting, love and relationships it is fine

169 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephanie Villanueva
  • Stephanie Villanueva
  • 2018-09-25

Tedious at best

I started this book, with high hopes, however the further I got into it, the more I disliked it. I honestly finished it just to see how the story ends. The story dragged, and this was a very tedious listen. To make matters worse, it was all very anticlimactic at the end. I felt a little cheated.

94 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ash L
  • Ash L
  • 2018-12-20

anticlimactic

SPOILER ALERT

I don't know why people say this book was thrilling. It seemed to start out as one type of book and ended up completely anticlimactic and boring about a guy and all his bratty kids who turn a new page at the very end.

79 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NMwritergal
  • NMwritergal
  • 2018-07-05

Oficially giving up on Lisa Jewell

Jewell wrote two excellent books (The House We Grew Up In and The Making of Us), a couple of okay books, and some truly dreadful ones. Unfortunately, I read the really good ones first and it's been a disappointment ever since.This fell into the barely okay category.

Anytime Jewell tries to do the domestic suspense genre, IMHO it's a fail. The twists are either completely absurd or so minor that you've spent the whole book waiting for the answer (because that's about all you care about when a book is otherwise boring), which turns out to be nothing much. And this was the case with this book.

The premise was interesting, but there were too many characters (the main character has three ex-wives and five kids), none of whom I cared much about, none of whom were particularly interesting. And nothing very interesting actually happens in the book.

76 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gretchen
  • Gretchen
  • 2018-07-05

The Third Wife

I loved the character development as always with Lisa Jewell's books. This is the story of a family who survives divorce and remarriage more than once and presents as well blended, but of course it's not without a cost. The writing was excellent but the book left me with a feeling of melancholy.

42 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carmel
  • Carmel
  • 2019-01-05

Different but very very good!

I must say I was a little hesitant on trying this book after reading some of the reviews on it. I'm very particular in what I like and if something doesn't appeal to me right away I usually don't bother with it, figuring life is too short to put up with listening to drivel. However, I have read several of Lisa Jewel's books and really enjoyed them and as this was an Audible Daily Deal I figured I wouldn't be losing too much if it wasn't up to my standards. I am SO glad I gave it a try! The narrator captured my attention immediately, and I loved how the author took what to the outside world's eyes were "perfect" divorces from 2 previous women and showed how the breakups really affected the individuals. . I enjoyed the humor that was scattered throughout the book, it made it all the more enjoyable along with teaching the lesson that what we do with our lives can have a huge impact on our families and our children. I'm going to miss the characters in this book, they were people I enjoyed getting to know better!

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Becki D.
  • Becki D.
  • 2018-11-27

Predictable

The “twist” in the plot was too easy to see coming. It made the story boring. The book went on and on way longer than it should’ve.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judy Abunassar
  • Judy Abunassar
  • 2018-12-10

Great story of love, loss and forgiveness

Great story of love, loss and forgiveness.
Good mystery and good portrayal of personalities.

Read it you’ll love it.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Betsy Anne
  • Betsy Anne
  • 2018-10-12

Another blockbuster audio book for Lisa Jewell

"The Third Wife" is a look at how life ought to be. it's both impossibly real, in its dialogue, actions and reactions, and really impossible, in its incredibly hopeful ending. I loved it. I am a Lisa Jewell fan. l also loved Joe Jameson's reading. He really gives Helen Duff a run for the money.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Courtney
  • Courtney
  • 2018-07-10

Love it...everything about it!

This is s great modern age book with suspense that grips the families ties and untangles at the perfect time! Great Male Narrative as well!

8 people found this helpful