Listen free for 30 days

  • The Third Wife

  • A Novel
  • Written by: Lisa Jewell
  • Narrated by: Joe Jameson
  • Length: 9 hrs and 22 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (157 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Third Wife cover art

The Third Wife

Written by: Lisa Jewell
Narrated by: Joe Jameson
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $43.85

Buy Now for $43.85

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide? At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife's death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. 

The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge. 

Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by this riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core.

©2015 Lisa Jewell (P)2018 Dreamscape Media, LLC

What listeners say about The Third Wife

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Strong commentary on marital commitments.

Yes, there's a who-done-it story line. The male main character is an anti-hero. The whole book is a little depressing, and kind of drawn out. The reader gets the point long before it ends. But there is a very good message, and it is worth reading.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Like a vacuum sealed bag of rice

Generally love her stories but this one less so.

Extremely turned off when she described a beautiful woman in the early stages of middle age as “the generally falling apart of herself like a vacuum sealed bag of rice punctured with a knife “ which is one of the worst lines I’ve ever read. Sounds like a man wrote it? The patriarchy? Made me cringe. I’ll think twice about buying another one by her.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Meh

I honestly hated the story. A bunch of characters so flawed that it’s hard to see anything good in them. Wouldn’t recommend if you want to like the characters of the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my fave Jewell book

The story was ok. But it certainly did have me gripped like her other books do. Found it dragged on a bit.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh

Story was alright but I wasn’t expecting a fairly plain narrative about an underwhelming middle aged man. The end was dull.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jb
  • 2023-03-02

Okay

This was a pleasant enough story but not what I was expecting. I kept waiting for the twist or surprise but it didn’t really happen. Not the usual Lisa Jewell.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Review of The Third Wife

I enjoyed reading this book. It was very entertainin and quite true to real life.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An inside look at Divorce

This book is a meaningful look into the long term effects of divorce on children, regardless of their age. Children are often consumed by thoughts about living up to parental expectations, but how much thought is given by parents to living up to their children's expectations for them?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

Great story. Had me full of wonder and suspense from page one. Great insights from the characters lives; Joe Jameson is a great narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

disappointing but I did finish it

felt like I waited for the whole book for the big mystery to start. Was very disappointed in this Lisa Jewell books it is definitely my least favourite of all of her work

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!