Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $38.59

Buy Now for $38.59

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“For fans who appreciate emotionally wrenching reads such as those by Sarah Jio or Kristin Hannah.” (Library Journal)

“Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author.” (Sally Hepworth, best-selling author of The Secrets of Midwives)

From the best-selling author of The Things We Cannot Say, Before I Let You Go, and the upcoming The Warsaw Orphan, comes a poignant post-WWII novel that explores the expectations society places on women set within an engrossing family mystery that may unravel everything once believed to be true.

With her father recently moved to a care facility, Beth Walsh volunteers to clear out the family home and is surprised to discover the door to her childhood playroom padlocked. She’s even more shocked at what’s behind it - a hoarder’s mess of her father’s paintings, mounds of discarded papers and miscellaneous junk in the otherwise fastidiously tidy house.

As she picks through the clutter, she finds a loose journal entry in what appears to be her late mother’s handwriting. Beth and her siblings grew up believing their mother died in a car accident when they were little more than toddlers, but this note suggests something much darker.

Beth soon pieces together a disturbing portrait of a woman suffering from postpartum depression and a husband who bears little resemblance to the loving father Beth and her siblings know. With a newborn of her own and struggling with motherhood, Beth finds there may be more tying her and her mother together than she ever suspected.

Don't miss Kelly Rimmer's upcoming and unforgettable novel, The Warsaw Orphan.

©2020 Kelly Rimmer (P)2020 Harlequin Audio

What listeners say about Truths I Never Told You

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it...!!!

Absolutely loved this book...! I didn’t want to stop listening.... I highly recommend listening to this one...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Emotional story

I really enjoyed this story. As a new mom, it definitely helps normalize the hardship and isolation that comes in various moments of earlier motherhood. It also tackles important issues about the lines of baby blues vs. postpartum depression.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Emotions everywhere

This book has hurt me. It has taken the thoughts from my head and read them aloud to me. Those who suffer from PPD/PPA know we aren’t alone but it’s still immensely lonely and isolating when you are in the midst of it. I cried many times while listening to this book, to the alarm of the night shift workers at the building I clean haha. I firmly believe this book should be a must read to expecting mothers, fathers, support persons, and even teenagers to give a glimpse of what women faced before medical rights were given to women.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good! Loved it right from the beginning.

The story captivated me right from the beginning. Very well written and the reading was done well. I highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

The performances were flawless. The story had me wishing that certain things had been different... which is the sign of a great story! If everything had been perfect there would have been no point in writing it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

it took me a long time to get into this book not sure why ... but once I actually listened to it ...woww

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

An amazing look at PPD and the rippling effects of untreated mental illness and a woman’s right to choose.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful story!

This story was a fascinating study of motherhood and postpartum depression. I loved the story but the main narrator was robotic and I struggled to get through her monotone voice. Worth the struggle, mind you. Just not sure why they chose her.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-08-15

Another great story by Kelly Rimmer

I loved this story so much. I love the way she tackles abortion, women's rights, dementia and depression in a very sensitive way. I've read the reviews from the anti-abortion faction and I can't believe after reading this that you all can't see how a woman's right to choose is her own personal business and not your business. What women went through before the 70s and the women's rights movement is horrible. How if they suffered from postpartum depression doctors would just tell them they needed to deal with it. How they had no choice but to keep having babies even though it was affecting them so drastically. Many thanks to the author for tackling these subjects at a time when one third of Americans are trying to shove women back into the 50s.

105 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-07-08

Horrible

Not only was the storyline shallow, but getting to the very end and hearing the author glorify Planned Parenthood turned my stomach. I will never read/listen to another book by this author.

85 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Bernice Holland
  • 2020-07-15

Very preachy!

If I had known the author was going to shove her views on abortion down my throat, I would have skipped this one.

You know the main character, Beth, would have never existed. Her mother would have aborted her had it been legal. Or prevented her from ever existing.

73 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • JS
  • 2020-04-19

pro abortion alert

Liked the story till it turned into Planned Parenthood propaganda at the end. Don't kill your baby...pursue adoption!

64 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Eun
  • 2020-06-01

Excellent story

Kelly Rimmer’s Truths I Never Told You had me holding my breath as I read a through Beth, Grace and Maryann’s experiences.

Beth, along with her three siblings, must accept the fact that her father is dying and moving into a nursing home. She takes it upon herself to dismantle the home and get it ready for sale. While cleaning out the attic, BETH finds a series of paintings and notes that are connected to her mother who died when she was just a toddler. The notes, written in her mother’s, hand show a woman under extreme stress. The dates on those notes do not correspond to when she was told her mother died.

This book brooches the subjects of dementia, postpartum depression, abortion and love. They are dealt with in a sympathetic manner.

I have read other books by this author and find her to be engaging and thought-provoking.
The audible version was an easy listen and beautifully performed.

49 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JQuesada
  • 2020-08-19

What a story!!

Such good representation of female struggles and social successes that some of us now a days don’t appreciate as we should. I’m pregnant myself and this book helped me overcome my fears of going through post partum depression since I suffered depression before getting pregnant. Kelly Rimmer does it again, representing ordinary women with ordinary problems in this wonderful and so to the point book. Of to her next book, can’t seem to stop reading her (or listening in this case). The performances were really good too.

34 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stephanie Thompson
  • 2020-04-18

Great again.

I didn't think I was going to get into this book. But before I knew it I was hooked. The characters are so real I felt I knew them. Subject matter debatable but which ever side you're on it will leave you thinking.

32 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Camille
  • 2020-07-21

Good - but not her best

First let me say that I LOVED The Things we Cannot Say............so I was hoping for a book just as compelling. Kelly Rimmer is a great writer - but this did not compare to her last one. The first half was slow. And while I am all for character development, it was slower than I liked. The second half was really good.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carrie Hallahan
  • 2020-06-10

wonderful book with such a strong message

narration was great. so easy to follow. I love Kelly rimmers books. wonderfully written and a strong message for all women!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • regina messer
  • 2020-06-12

good read , touching on women's life topics

chick read for sure but good.
touching on women's lives and situations they face...abortion, marriage, kids, depression and much more.
recamend.

14 people found this helpful