Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Can't Take It Back

A Novel
Auteur(s): Kelly Duran
Durée: 9 h et 13 min
Catégories: Littérature, Contemporain
4.5 out of 5 stars (17 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

A perfect next listen for fans of Abbi Waxman and Katherine Center, Can't Take It Back is a fast-paced and relatable debut telling the interconnected stories of four women over the course of a kindergarten school year.

Huddled on their favorite park bench in a quiet Seattle suburb, Holly, Avery, Zoe, and Sasha might look like they've got it all figured out - but there’s more to their stories than meets the eye. When Avery’s husband Carter suggests they open up their marriage, she’s shocked and appalled - but could this new arrangement be the breath of fresh air she never knew she needed? Zoe and Aaron, whose connection has long been the standard by which their friends measure their own relationships, feel that their lives are taking them in different directions, but worry over how a divorce might affect their two young boys. Zoe turns to her best friend Holly for guidance, but as it turns out, this year has tested her own marriage to Jake in ways neither of them ever anticipated. And meanwhile, Holly’s sister Sasha - the no-nonsense PR executive and eternally single girl of the group - must decide if joining the ranks of motherhood is the right step for her

Captivating and immersive, Can't Take It Back is a deeply emotional novel that celebrates the complex bond of female friendships.

©2020 Kelly Duran (P)2020 Audible Originals, LLC.

Ce que les critiques en disent

"A beautifully moving story that celebrates how the power of sisterhood and friendship create the truest of bonds. With its true-to-life characters and the situations they find themselves in, Can’t Take It Back is a wonderful, heartfelt narrative that ultimately proves how women support and lean on one another.” (Samantha Vérant, author of The Secret French Recipes of Sophie Valroux)

“Nicely balanced with real heart and substance, Can’t Take It Back deftly explores the beauty of female friendships and the nuance of marriage.” (Alex Kiester, author of In Her Skin)

“A wonderfully written, complex story about love and friendship with relatable characters that support and uplift each other.” (Anita Kushwaha, author of Secret Lives of Mothers and Daughters)

D'autres livres audio du même...

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent
Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    10
  • 4 étoiles
    4
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    9
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    5
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    9
  • 4 étoiles
    3
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    1

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Love the characters in this book!

Loved this book! Was a pleasure to listen to.

The characters were easy to love and their struggles real and relatable. The friendships between the women were touching. The way the relationships developed with each other while they dealt with varying issues in their marriages, is a beautiful testament to female connection.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

I was hooked right from the beginning!

This was my first experience with an audiobook and I loved it! It was very relatable to follow a relationship between a group of women and friends and I enjoyed how the book allowed you to see the story from all different perspectives. I was really engaged by all the different story lines within the main plot. Each story has different aspects and key points, but they connect together so well. With each of these stories, you are bound to find several ways in which you can connect your own life to what the characters are experiencing. These connections to your own life bring some comfort as you are listening to the book, even if they are presented as challenges that the characters are facing in their relationships. I was hooked right from the beginning and I didn't want to stop listening. I highly recommend this book. I loved the author's style of writing and I look forward to her next release!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars

A complex story about love and friendship

This multiple pov story first drew me in with its wonderful writing and relatable characters. I wanted to know more about these women and how they would manage navigating their unique circumstances, whether it be their careers, identity, motherhood, marriage, infidelity or other betrayals. My heart often ached for them when their partners proved themselves unworthy and my blood boiled when they bore the brunt of the consequences as opposed to the men in their lives, a bold statement in and of itself. The stories interwine and live up to the title. I was happiest for Holly, Sasha, and Zoe. Saddest for Carmen and Avery. The female friendships were the constant throughout all the ups and downs and was for me the most uplifting aspect. No matter what the characters faced, they supported each other with love and honesty, like women do in real life. A story full of love, pain, forgiveness and redemption.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story of friendship

Loved this. A great story of female friendships amidst the trials of marriage and parenting. Beautifully intertwined storylines kept me trying to sneak away from my kids to listen more.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

A must listen

Wow! This book is something special.
The author does an amazing job delivering an original, engaging and touching novel. One that shares the challenges of marriage and motherhood; and the power of sisterhood and female friendships.
There’s secrets and lies, romances and what-if’s; all tied up with a bow; into a book that will have you thinking about it long after your done.
The characters were compelling and relatable, and If you loved Desperate House Wives or Big Little Lies, and a fan ( like me ) of Katherine Center, then I’d definitely give this wonderful debut a listen.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Fine to kill time but not amazing.

I started listening to this as I completed a home painting project. The overuse of the word "surveyed" was truly annoying. Surely the author is aware of the thesaurus feature on every computer???
The children's voices were also overdone. I'm plugging through this to see how it finally ends.

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Lee
  • 2020-05-07

Not for me.

Not my cup of tea-better for 30 and 40 somethings. Their angst about their sex lives just did not interest me.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining story!

This book just flew by for me while listening. Great diversity of characters and viewpoints. Touching and funny and relatable. Very well written- lots of action and development of the characters’ personalities.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible story lines had me hooked!

This is the kind of book that keeps you company even when you aren’t listening to it - I thought about it more and more the closer I got to ‘book time’. I developed such a fondness for and connection to the characters that I just had to know how their stories would progress. This resulted in many ‘just one more chapter’ nights! With just the right number of plot twists and cliffhangers, the pace was perfect. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves to read about relationships and female friendships.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

good

nice story with good narration worth for the money paid. Gabra Zackman, Ellen Archer, Elizabeth Evans, Suzy Jackson, Eric Michael Summerer did well.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rachel Wagner
  • 2020-04-23

WOW

This book was incredibly written and remarkably performed. I felt I was able to connect to every single character in a different way, which is not often. Additionally, I loved the theme of friendship and the way it was conveyed in the story. The different story lines made this book a book that I did not want to put down! Thank you so much for an wonderful book!

5 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alex Kiester
  • 2020-04-27

Fun read with lots of heart!

With its alternating points of view and smooth, crisp writing, this book is easy to sail through! I listened to it in only a few days and loved the time I spent with each different character. While it's light and fun, it's nicely balanced with real heart and substance, exploring the beauty of female friendships and the nuance of marriage. Five stars!!

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2020-05-16

so so good!

Loved every single one of the characters! The book did have several female characters but after the second chapter it was very easy to follow and I was never left with wandering which character was doing what. I definitely need a follow up book to this, wish it was a whole series. Sad that the book ended!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lura
  • 2020-06-06

Lovely story, perfect escapism

This was the perfect quarantine listen/read! It was like hanging out with friends, in a time when that's what I've really been missing!