Contactez-nous
Français
S'identifier

Prix : CDN$ 39,82

Détails de l'abonnement Détails de l'abonnement
  • Une période d'essai de 30 jours, en plus de votre premier livre audio gratuit
  • 1 crédit par mois après la période d'essai – valable sur n'importe quel livre audio
  • Échange facile de vos livres, à n'importe quel moment
  • Conservez vos livres audio, même si vous résiliez votre abonnement
  • Après votre essai gratuit, Audible c'est seulement CDN$ 14,95 par mois
OU
Dans le panier

Description

Somewhere on the outer rim of the universe, a mass of decaying world-ships known as the Legion is traveling in the seams between the stars. For generations, a war for control of the Legion has been waged, with no clear resolution. As worlds continue to die, a desperate plan is put into motion.

Zan wakes with no memory, prisoner of a people who say they are her family. She is told she is their salvation - the only person capable of boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. But Zan's new family is not the only one desperate to gain control of the prized ship. Zan finds that she must choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her from the edges of the Legion's gravity well to the very belly of the world.

Zan will soon learn that she carries the seeds of the Legion's destruction - and its possible salvation. But can she and her ragtag band of followers survive the horrors of the Legion and its people long enough to deliver it?

In the tradition of The Fall of Hyperion and Dune, The Stars Are Legion is an epic and thrilling tale about tragic love, revenge, and war as imagined by one of the genre's most celebrated new writers.

©2017 Kameron Hurley (P)2017 Tantor

Ce que les critiques disent

"This gripping book is both hard to read and easy to appreciate." ( Publishers Weekly)

D'autres livres audio du même:

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4,0 sur 5
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 4,0 sur 5
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 3,0 sur 5
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Trier :
  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Jane Garant
  • 2017-11-27

Unique and for the most part enjoyable.

Hurley uses the phrases 'she said' and 'I say' after lines of dialogue quite frequently. To the point of annoyance, even. It makes everything sound bit more juvenile when spoken aloud. Perhaps a few I 'replied's would help break up the monotony. The narrator was skilled enough that I could differentiate between characters without having to resort to confirming someone said something after they just said it. As for the story, the ending felt really rushed. I invested so much into those characters, hoping for more memory regaining scenes and relational complexity. I feel a bit deflated. I would have loved to know more about the science of the worlds - what's with that arm?!

Trier :
  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Vincent Jeffries
  • 2017-07-09

Ohhh... All the Body Fluids

Leckie's Ancillary series is a recent favorite of mine, and if you like those books, then there are plot conceits and themes this story has in common with "Ancillary" that you should find interesting. Every character identifies as (and is biologically) female while the protagonist struggles to understand her purpose and identity itself. The fundamental difference between "Legion" and "Ancillary" is the former's throbbing, "organic" universe compared to the "artificial" element to the latter's machine-assisted existential origins.

The world-sized "ships" in "Legion" and their inhabitants are fleshy things that excrete blood, mucus and feces at the slightest provocation. Why the author chose to slather almost every paragraph with so much bile, intestines and afterbirth is not completely understood by this reader. The important themes and a realistic topography could have been conveyed with less than half the gore.

It's not that the blood and guts are hard to stomach (which some readers will struggle with) but that the descriptions of puss, cancerous sores and shit are just so repetitive. Perhaps it's necessary constantly be reminded of the relationship between human and ecological bodies as systems through this scaler extrapolation? It certainly caused this reader to think about the relationship between biology, creation and determinism, but that may just be one person's projection? Plus, this is what good story telling can and should do, so while I'm wary of the necessity, there is a purpose being served through the muck.

The political story and basic plot points are built upon multi-layered betrayals and motivations. This makes the characters interesting, if a bit unlikeable. But the protagonist's journey and development are compelling enough to propel the story.

There's little science in this fiction and none of the bizarre forces and "technology" at work here are given even a perfunctory hand-waving. Fans of military, hard or even heavily abstracted sci-fi may be disappointed by the fantasy-in-space feel. The word "magic" isn't used, but the monsters and physical forces at work in this universe are deeply fantastical. But genre non-purists, especially those that factor diversity and convention-busting gender explorations should enjoy many of the ideas and characters presented in "Legion".

I may not be extremely attracted to the ever-increasingly explored themes in "Legion". Yet, to Hurley's credit, the author manages to cut through the tonnage of gore to present ideas that matter with characters that can be cared about.

Oh, a final audio-only comment about the book; the narration by both performers is excellent. I will look for stories featuring these narrators again.

3 personnes sur 3 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Amy Jesionowski
  • 2017-05-22

Excellent!

Kameron Hurley has quickly become one of my favorite contemporary authors. Her books are filled with original storylines, strong female characters, and a much-needed feminist perspective in the genre. Hurley has managed an intriguing story and an immense undertaking at world-building so intrinsically enmeshed withing the story there is no separation of the two. I simply can't wait to devour more stories from this author. Thank you, Ms. Hurley!

3 personnes sur 3 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Sam
  • 2017-05-31

A truly amazing and original book!

Kameron Hurley has done it again! Another innovative sff novel that is gripping, emotional, and just plain awesome!

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Yoly
  • 2017-04-28

Great story

The story is great (and a bit weird at first) and the narrators are just perfect.

3 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Michael G Kurilla
  • 2017-12-25

Parthenogenic amazons in space

The Stars Are Legion by Kameron Hurley offers an intriguing slant to a universe operating under different rules. A population of humanoid-like entities, all of which identify as exclusively female (although why sexual identity occurs when there isn't more than one sex is never explained). The entities live on multiple world ships that are quasi-organic and have evolved distinct societies that are competing with one another for either overall control or resources to leave the legion. Two women have a plan for gaining the upper hand (and there really is a hand or arm to gain) over two particularly powerful cliques fighting to gain control of the former out-of-commission flag ship of the force.

Most of the sci-fi elements involve the massive worldships where everyone lives. The texture of the environment is biological with all sorts of human-like fluids oozing and percolating about. In addition, although there is sexual behaviors, women become pregnant randomly without any specific action on their part. In addition, they birth a variety of things that the world decides it needs (the odd gear or cog for example). The mystery of the tale is that one of two main plotters has lost her memory, ends up being recycled into the ship and reprises a journey from the deepest bowels (literally) back to the surface, collecting an odd collection of misfits along the way. There is constant betrayal, along with lots of battles and fighting, adding to the natural gore of the place. There's the distinct sense that the worldships were envisioned as a metaphor for current society.

The choice to employ two narrators was a wise decision as the story flips back and forth between the two main characters and their unique perspectives and motivations. Both narrators perform an admirable job with excellent character distinction by each. While the story itself drags a bit (there are so many levels to climb), the pace and mood were nicely aligned.

2 personnes sur 3 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Jon
  • 2018-02-15

Fantastical!

I aspire to write this well. All of the visually stimulating details truly compliment the numerous underlying stories.

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Marble68
  • 2018-01-24

Different and interesting

But two people doing the narration took a while to get used to. Would recommend.

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Dan
  • 2018-01-17

Awful

Would you try another book from Kameron Hurley and/or Nicole Poole and Teri Schnaubelt ?

This will teach me to get an author I've never head of. 2 hours of listening and it just got worse.

Would you ever listen to anything by Kameron Hurley again?

No

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Carl W Fratus
  • 2017-12-04

interesting ride

Interesting world building. the middle is a bit meandering and dosent hold you the same way as the rest.

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Zachary T. Elston
  • 2017-10-18

Worthy

It is a simple story. And Inside is new world that will spark your imagination.