Contactez-nous
Français
S'identifier

Prix : CDN$ 39,82

Détails de l'abonnement Détails de l'abonnement
  • Une période d'essai de 30 jours, en plus de votre premier livre audio gratuit
  • 1 crédit par mois après la période d'essai – valable sur n'importe quel livre audio
  • Échange facile de vos livres, à n'importe quel moment
  • Conservez vos livres audio, même si vous résiliez votre abonnement
  • Après votre essai gratuit, Audible c'est seulement CDN$ 14,95 par mois
OU
Dans le panier

Description

Somewhere on the outer rim of the universe, a mass of decaying world-ships known as the Legion is traveling in the seams between the stars. For generations, a war for control of the Legion has been waged, with no clear resolution. As worlds continue to die, a desperate plan is put into motion.

Zan wakes with no memory, prisoner of a people who say they are her family. She is told she is their salvation - the only person capable of boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. But Zan's new family is not the only one desperate to gain control of the prized ship. Zan finds that she must choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her from the edges of the Legion's gravity well to the very belly of the world.

Zan will soon learn that she carries the seeds of the Legion's destruction - and its possible salvation. But can she and her ragtag band of followers survive the horrors of the Legion and its people long enough to deliver it?

In the tradition of The Fall of Hyperion and Dune, The Stars Are Legion is an epic and thrilling tale about tragic love, revenge, and war as imagined by one of the genre's most celebrated new writers.

©2017 Kameron Hurley (P)2017 Tantor

Ce que les critiques disent

"This gripping book is both hard to read and easy to appreciate." (Publishers Weekly)

D'autres livres audio du même:

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critiques disponibles pour ce livre audio.
Trier :
  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Amy Jesionowski
  • 2017-05-22

Excellent!

Kameron Hurley has quickly become one of my favorite contemporary authors. Her books are filled with original storylines, strong female characters, and a much-needed feminist perspective in the genre. Hurley has managed an intriguing story and an immense undertaking at world-building so intrinsically enmeshed withing the story there is no separation of the two. I simply can't wait to devour more stories from this author. Thank you, Ms. Hurley!

2 personnes sur 2 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Yoly
  • 2017-04-28

Great story

The story is great (and a bit weird at first) and the narrators are just perfect.

3 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Zachary T. Elston
  • 2017-10-18

Worthy

It is a simple story. And Inside is new world that will spark your imagination.

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Buck Alive
  • 2017-10-05

I have never seen such an organic based story. Yes

Great everything.. Biologically astounding. it changed the way I view biology and Organics superior vision

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Harry Pottash
  • 2017-09-28

cronenberg meets Philip k dick... pootly

struggled to finish. the characters were one dimensional, the amnesia plotline felt worn thin and the body horror quickly lost its horror.

the interesting works was not enough to redeem the underwhelming story

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Barry Clark
  • 2017-09-14

Decent premise, too much personal agenda

Story concept was good enough. It seems the author has too much against men for me to be able to get into the arc.

0 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • NB
  • 2017-08-09

Waste of time

Terrible story. What was the point? Don't waste your time. The author created intrigue but leaving questions unanswered and implying they are fascinating answers BUT then never fully answering them and the little bit they were answered was not very interesting.

0 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Vincent Jeffries
  • 2017-07-09

Ohhh... All the Body Fluids

Leckie's Ancillary series is a recent favorite of mine, and if you like those books, then there are plot conceits and themes this story has in common with "Ancillary" that you should find interesting. Every character identifies as (and is biologically) female while the protagonist struggles to understand her purpose and identity itself. The fundamental difference between "Legion" and "Ancillary" is the former's throbbing, "organic" universe compared to the "artificial" element to the latter's machine-assisted existential origins.

The world-sized "ships" in "Legion" and their inhabitants are fleshy things that excrete blood, mucus and feces at the slightest provocation. Why the author chose to slather almost every paragraph with so much bile, intestines and afterbirth is not completely understood by this reader. The important themes and a realistic topography could have been conveyed with less than half the gore.

It's not that the blood and guts are hard to stomach (which some readers will struggle with) but that the descriptions of puss, cancerous sores and shit are just so repetitive. Perhaps it's necessary constantly be reminded of the relationship between human and ecological bodies as systems through this scaler extrapolation? It certainly caused this reader to think about the relationship between biology, creation and determinism, but that may just be one person's projection? Plus, this is what good story telling can and should do, so while I'm wary of the necessity, there is a purpose being served through the muck.

The political story and basic plot points are built upon multi-layered betrayals and motivations. This makes the characters interesting, if a bit unlikeable. But the protagonist's journey and development are compelling enough to propel the story.

There's little science in this fiction and none of the bizarre forces and "technology" at work here are given even a perfunctory hand-waving. Fans of military, hard or even heavily abstracted sci-fi may be disappointed by the fantasy-in-space feel. The word "magic" isn't used, but the monsters and physical forces at work in this universe are deeply fantastical. But genre non-purists, especially those that factor diversity and convention-busting gender explorations should enjoy many of the ideas and characters presented in "Legion".

I may not be extremely attracted to the ever-increasingly explored themes in "Legion". Yet, to Hurley's credit, the author manages to cut through the tonnage of gore to present ideas that matter with characters that can be cared about.

Oh, a final audio-only comment about the book; the narration by both performers is excellent. I will look for stories featuring these narrators again.

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Timothy
  • 2017-06-19

just could not get into it

I really enjoyed kameron's earlier books. this one I just couldn't get a good feeling for the character, and the world being described just didn't pull me in. I'll give it another listen later and see if it is just me.

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Susan Boisvert
  • 2017-06-04

Meh

I am a hard sci-fi fan. Given the rave reviews, I thought I would give this a try. New age ghost in the machine feminist focus was definitely not for me.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

Signaler un contenu innaproprié

Si vous trouvez cette évaluation inappropriée et vous pensez qu'elle n'a pas sa place sur notre site, contactez nous. Ce signalement sera traité dans les plus brefs délais.