Contactez-nous
Français
S'identifier

Prix : CDN$ 39,82

Détails de l'abonnement Détails de l'abonnement
  • Une période d'essai de 30 jours, en plus de votre premier livre audio gratuit
  • 1 crédit par mois après la période d'essai – valable sur n'importe quel livre audio
  • Échange facile de vos livres, à n'importe quel moment
  • Conservez vos livres audio, même si vous résiliez votre abonnement
  • Après votre essai gratuit, Audible c'est seulement CDN$ 14,95 par mois
OU
Dans le panier

Description

Somewhere on the outer rim of the universe, a mass of decaying world-ships known as the Legion is traveling in the seams between the stars. For generations, a war for control of the Legion has been waged, with no clear resolution. As worlds continue to die, a desperate plan is put into motion.

Zan wakes with no memory, prisoner of a people who say they are her family. She is told she is their salvation - the only person capable of boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. But Zan's new family is not the only one desperate to gain control of the prized ship. Zan finds that she must choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her from the edges of the Legion's gravity well to the very belly of the world.

Zan will soon learn that she carries the seeds of the Legion's destruction - and its possible salvation. But can she and her ragtag band of followers survive the horrors of the Legion and its people long enough to deliver it?

In the tradition of The Fall of Hyperion and Dune, The Stars Are Legion is an epic and thrilling tale about tragic love, revenge, and war as imagined by one of the genre's most celebrated new writers.

©2017 Kameron Hurley (P)2017 Tantor

Ce que les critiques disent

"This gripping book is both hard to read and easy to appreciate." (Publishers Weekly)

D'autres livres audio du même:

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4,0 sur 5
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 4,0 sur 5
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 3,0 sur 5
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Trier :
  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Jane Garant
  • 2017-11-27

Unique and for the most part enjoyable.

Hurley uses the phrases 'she said' and 'I say' after lines of dialogue quite frequently. To the point of annoyance, even. It makes everything sound bit more juvenile when spoken aloud. Perhaps a few I 'replied's would help break up the monotony. The narrator was skilled enough that I could differentiate between characters without having to resort to confirming someone said something after they just said it. As for the story, the ending felt really rushed. I invested so much into those characters, hoping for more memory regaining scenes and relational complexity. I feel a bit deflated. I would have loved to know more about the science of the worlds - what's with that arm?!

Trier :
  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Amy Jesionowski
  • 2017-05-22

Excellent!

Kameron Hurley has quickly become one of my favorite contemporary authors. Her books are filled with original storylines, strong female characters, and a much-needed feminist perspective in the genre. Hurley has managed an intriguing story and an immense undertaking at world-building so intrinsically enmeshed withing the story there is no separation of the two. I simply can't wait to devour more stories from this author. Thank you, Ms. Hurley!

3 personnes sur 3 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Vincent Jeffries
  • 2017-07-09

Ohhh... All the Body Fluids

Leckie's Ancillary series is a recent favorite of mine, and if you like those books, then there are plot conceits and themes this story has in common with "Ancillary" that you should find interesting. Every character identifies as (and is biologically) female while the protagonist struggles to understand her purpose and identity itself. The fundamental difference between "Legion" and "Ancillary" is the former's throbbing, "organic" universe compared to the "artificial" element to the latter's machine-assisted existential origins.

The world-sized "ships" in "Legion" and their inhabitants are fleshy things that excrete blood, mucus and feces at the slightest provocation. Why the author chose to slather almost every paragraph with so much bile, intestines and afterbirth is not completely understood by this reader. The important themes and a realistic topography could have been conveyed with less than half the gore.

It's not that the blood and guts are hard to stomach (which some readers will struggle with) but that the descriptions of puss, cancerous sores and shit are just so repetitive. Perhaps it's necessary constantly be reminded of the relationship between human and ecological bodies as systems through this scaler extrapolation? It certainly caused this reader to think about the relationship between biology, creation and determinism, but that may just be one person's projection? Plus, this is what good story telling can and should do, so while I'm wary of the necessity, there is a purpose being served through the muck.

The political story and basic plot points are built upon multi-layered betrayals and motivations. This makes the characters interesting, if a bit unlikeable. But the protagonist's journey and development are compelling enough to propel the story.

There's little science in this fiction and none of the bizarre forces and "technology" at work here are given even a perfunctory hand-waving. Fans of military, hard or even heavily abstracted sci-fi may be disappointed by the fantasy-in-space feel. The word "magic" isn't used, but the monsters and physical forces at work in this universe are deeply fantastical. But genre non-purists, especially those that factor diversity and convention-busting gender explorations should enjoy many of the ideas and characters presented in "Legion".

I may not be extremely attracted to the ever-increasingly explored themes in "Legion". Yet, to Hurley's credit, the author manages to cut through the tonnage of gore to present ideas that matter with characters that can be cared about.

Oh, a final audio-only comment about the book; the narration by both performers is excellent. I will look for stories featuring these narrators again.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Sam
  • 2017-05-31

A truly amazing and original book!

Kameron Hurley has done it again! Another innovative sff novel that is gripping, emotional, and just plain awesome!

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Yoly
  • 2017-04-28

Great story

The story is great (and a bit weird at first) and the narrators are just perfect.

3 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Carl W Fratus
  • 2017-12-04

interesting ride

Interesting world building. the middle is a bit meandering and dosent hold you the same way as the rest.

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Zachary T. Elston
  • 2017-10-18

Worthy

It is a simple story. And Inside is new world that will spark your imagination.

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Buck Alive
  • 2017-10-05

I have never seen such an organic based story. Yes

Great everything.. Biologically astounding. it changed the way I view biology and Organics superior vision

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Timothy
  • 2017-06-19

just could not get into it

I really enjoyed kameron's earlier books. this one I just couldn't get a good feeling for the character, and the world being described just didn't pull me in. I'll give it another listen later and see if it is just me.

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Susan Boisvert
  • 2017-06-04

Meh

I am a hard sci-fi fan. Given the rave reviews, I thought I would give this a try. New age ghost in the machine feminist focus was definitely not for me.

1 personnes sur 2 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Arvin
  • 2017-05-26

HP Lovecraft in Space with Feminism

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

People who are interested in exploration of femininity, pregnancy, motherhood... set in HP Lovecraft style setting. That beings said, I believe there are much better examples of "feminist literature." In particular, I would recommend the "The Dream Quest of Vellitt Boe" as it does a superior job blending those exploration of society and femininity while still giving the reader a good, immersive story that stands on it own without its inner message.

What could Kameron Hurley have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Focused more in characters the world they live in. Hurley clearly has a knack for description and imagination... but it feels like everything, the people, the places, the events are just thinly veiled metaphors for her beliefs. I think she could have spent more time developing her characters and world while strongly representing her beliefs, but it seems like she wasn't really interested on that.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

At first I thought it was just one narrator doing a really good job with the voices... now I realize it is was two people. Still it was overall a pretty good job as each cha

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Stars Are Legion?

I would have probably cut out half of the two dozen times the author uses "afterbirth" to describe the color, taste, or smell of something (it was like she was trying to figuratively rub the readers' noses in it). I probably would have cut out much of the space scenes as ironically I find them unnecessary to the plot and the overall character arc.

Any additional comments?

All writers/artists imbue their works with their own beliefs and I respect that... but I'm not the type of person that accepts subpar piece of art/literature just because of it's lofty ideals. It goes with out saying I'm not really a fan of most modern performance arts as it is often self-indulgence nonsense without a coherence message in it.

2 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente