Listen free for 30 days

  • Five Wives

  • A Novel
  • Written by: Joan Thomas
  • Narrated by: Fiona Highet
  • Length: 11 hrs and 37 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Five Wives cover art

Five Wives

Written by: Joan Thomas
Narrated by: Fiona Highet
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $31.26

Buy Now for $31.26

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the Governor General's Literary Award for Fiction

A Globe and Mail, CBC Books, Apple Books, and Now Toronto Best Book of the Year

In the tradition of The Poisonwood Bible and State of Wonder, a novel set in the rainforest of Ecuador about five women left behind when their missionary husbands are killed. Based on the shocking real-life events

In 1956, a small group of evangelical Christian missionaries and their families journeyed to the rainforest in Ecuador intending to convert the Waorani, a people who had never had contact with the outside world. The plan was known as Operation Auca. After spending days dropping gifts from an aircraft, the five men in the party rashly entered the “intangible zone.” They were all killed, leaving their wives and children to fend for themselves.

Five Wives is the fictionalized account of the real-life women who were left behind, and their struggles – with grief, with doubt, and with each other – as they continued to pursue their evangelical mission in the face of the explosion of fame that followed their husbands’ deaths.

Five Wives is a riveting, often wrenching story of evangelism and its legacy, teeming with atmosphere and compelling characters and rich in emotional impact.

©2019 Joan Thomas (P)2021 Audible, Inc.

Featured Article: 19 Award-Winning Canadian Fiction Audiobooks to Add to Your Listening List

Canada knows how to write a story, and it has the awards to prove it. These 19 incredible audiobooks are Canadian fiction at its award-winning best.

More from the same

What listeners say about Five Wives

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Meh. 2½ stars.

The storyline was unnecessarily convoluted, and the transitions between the timelines were confusing. The entire present-day storyline was particularly unengaging. The sheer idiocy of the missionaries does stand out starkly, so props for that I guess. The narration was fine - nothing spectacular, nothing terrible.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!