Get a free audiobook

Follow Me

Written by: Kathleen Barber
Length: 10 hrs and 13 mins
5 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping) - now an Apple TV series of the same name - comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes' You.

Everyone wants new followers...until they follow you home.

Audrey Miller has an enviable new job at the Smithsonian, a body by reformer Pilates, an apartment door with a broken lock, and hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers to bear witness to it all. Having just moved to Washington, DC, Audrey busies herself impressing her new boss, interacting with her online fan base, and staving off a creepy upstairs neighbor with the help of the only two people she knows in town: an ex-boyfriend she can't stay away from and a sorority sister with a high-powered job and a mysterious past.

But Audrey's faulty door may be the least of her security concerns. Unbeknownst to her, her move has brought her within striking distance of someone who's obsessively followed her social media presence for years - from her first WordPress blog to her most recent Instagram Story. No longer content to simply follow her carefully curated life from a distance, he consults the dark web for advice on how to make Audrey his and his alone. In his quest to win her heart, nothing is off-limits - and nothing is private.

With "compelling, suspenseful" (Liz Nugent) prose, Kathleen Barber's electrifying new thriller will have you scrambling to cover your webcam and digital footprints.    

©2020 Kathleen Barber (P)2020 Simon & Schuster Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • CindyL
  • 2020-03-01

This book almost qualifies for the YA section

There were so many things I disliked about this book. It seems like it was written on a middle to early high school reading level. The plot was boring and predictable. The narrators seemed as juvenile as the book. I am sorry I wasted a credit on this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sara
  • 2020-04-07

Super messed up! Loved it!!

******** AUDIOBOOK REVIEW ********

I'm actually shocked with how much I enjoyed this story! It was super creepy and I wasn't sure who to trust or even who I liked!! But I really liked the plot and how it focuses so much on social media and the obsession of the perfect life. Or the perfect life on social media. That portrayal we all put out there for others to see.

There were parts where it was slow but it always picked back up and it ended with my mouth agape! There was also a large cast of characters and I was shocked that I was able to keep them straight in my head but I did. Even more fascinating is that I didn't like most of the characters. So self absorbed. Lord... what a psychological mess. What does it mean that I enjoyed it so much?

The narration was just great. Corey Brill, Erin Moon, and Emily Tremaine gave an amazing performance. It gave me chills. It made my stomach flop about and just woah...

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kayla Krantz
  • 2020-04-02

Nope

Disappointed.

That's how I feel.
I've seen so many good reviews for this book, and I was excited to dive in, but this fell flat.

The characters got on my nerves, and the author put more time explaining what the furniture looked like than painting background stories. The high point of the book was glossed over in less than an hour, and there wasn't much buildup before that.

This is more like a chick lit book than anything close to a thriller.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TammieK
  • 2020-03-10

Loved this creepy stalker mystery thriller!

5 Creepy stalker stars!
The blurb from the publisher "a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age... everyone wants new followers... until they follow you home" caught my attention immediately and I couldn't wait to read this book. Actually I couldn't put this book down... I found the story to be original and captivating. So well written! Twisty and suspenseful. Characters you liked and others who were down right evil. This one had me guessing who was the stalker right up until it was revealed. This was a true mystery thriller for me. It was disturbing and indeed a cautionary tale to those who put everything about themselves on social media.
I could definitely see this book being made into a movie. I read the kindle book and purchased the audible version, so when I couldn't read, I could listen. Great narrators! I highly recommend this book or the audible version to anyone who enjoys a suspenseful thriller. Totally one credit worthy for me. I look forward to reading more from this author.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kelli avid listener
  • 2020-02-29

Wouldn’t recommend

This book was ok. I listened to the entire thing but never felt invested in characters and didn’t really like them. Storyline wasn’t what I would consider suspenseful or a mystery. Everyone was self absorbed and rather boring. Narration wasn’t my favorite either.