Price: CDN$ 31.27

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day free trial and your first audiobook is free
  • After trial, get 1 credit each month good for any audiobook.
  • Exchange any audiobook you don’t like
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your free trial, Audible is just CDN$ 14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

She was close enough to see that the girl had written a word on the wall in bright, warm red blood. Not a word, actually. A name...

Everyone in the small town of Denton is searching for Isabelle Coleman, a missing 17-year-old girl. All they've found so far is her phone and another girl they didn't even know was missing.

Mute and completely unresponsive to the world around her, it's clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Detective Josie Quinn can get from her is a name: Ramona.

Currently suspended from the force for misconduct, Josie takes matters into her own hands as the name leads her to evidence linking the two girls. She knows the race is on to find Isabelle alive, and she fears there may be others....

The trail leads Josie to another victim, a girl who escaped but whose case was labelled a hoax by authorities. To catch this monster, Josie must confront her own nightmares and follow her instinct to the darkest of places. But can she make it out alive?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Helen Fields, and Robert Dugoni will be utterly gripped and listening long into the night once they discover the first in this unputdownable new crime thriller series.

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • D.Gettys
  • 2018-12-24

Great storyline, awful narrator

I've tried to listen to this book for days. I'm going to stick it out because I want to see how badly the bad guys lose in the end. But that narrator....I just read the other reviews so it's not just me. Frankly, she sounds like she's ignorant. Most of the pronunciations that she destroys has nothing to do with locational accents. They're plain bad English and lack of grasp for speaking it correctly.

"Ate" is pronounced "et".
"Been" is "bean".
"Anything" is "anythin".
"OB-GYN" is "objeen".
"Massage" becomes "maaaasage" with a looonng a like baaaaa goes the sheep.
"Figure" is "figger".
"Khaki" becomes "cocky".
"Estrogen" becomes "Eeeeestrgen".
"Length" is "linth".
"Tousled" is "toosled".
"Protest" is "prahtest"

So much more. Any of this by itself would pass me by. When it goes on and on, it becomes very annoying. Top it off with a lisp. Where do people speak this English?

I wrote an author once to tell her how much I loved her books but hated her narrator. She told me she had no control over the narrator. The book company who owned her audiobooks made that decision. If I were a successful author, I think I'd make sure I had some control because a bad narrator can ruin a book. This one would be doing herself a real favor.

So today I wrote Lisa Regan, author of this book about how I loved her books, but couldn't take this narrator. She responded immediately that future books will NOT be narrated by Eilidh Beaton and they have a different narrator. Good news!

The narrator is distracting from the story and that's the last thing that should happen.

26 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Eric J Valenzuela
  • 2018-02-26

I’m not sure I can finish...

I’m so distracted from the story and being able to get into it because of the narrator...she talks like an “angsty teen” and it’s hard to get past.

33 of 38 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amy
  • 2018-10-24

Why this narrator??!

I actually listened to the second book in this series first. This author is new to me, and I like her books so far. However, I’m not sure I can continue to listen to them. This narrator is one of the worst ones I’ve heard, and I’ve listened to a lot of audiobooks. I’m guessing she’s from another country, judging by the way she mispronounces so many words. For example, the state of Maryland was pronounced Mary-land. Estrogen was east-rogen. Record, as in “for the record” was Rec-CORD. Ugh! Those are just a few examples. I almost can’t stand to listen to her! And the way she talks makes the characters come off as very aggressive. I’ve found myself cringing multiple times while listening to her narrate. It looks like I may be reading the other books in this series. So best of luck to those who decide to listen to this story or any other in this series.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Valerie J. Dumond
  • 2018-09-30

Beware! Story would have been really good,but NOT the narrator!!

I've just started listening and I'm not sure I can finish! This narrator is AWFUL! So very distracting. I cringe every time I hear "been" pronounced as "bean"...or "eat" as "et" just as some examples. Her pronunciation of so many words are so off its almost funny. Too bad she narrates all the books in the series. I doubt I will listen to any more from this series. Before purchasing, I STRONGLY suggest you listen to the sample. Terrible terrible, and yes TERRIBLE, narration!!!!! ++++update+++++ ok...I stuck it out despite my constant eye roll for the narration, but this was actually a very good thriller/mystery. I give it 4+ stars for the story. And I will go ahead with book #2....I figure I've gotten used to the narration so I might as well persevere rather than wait and have to adjust to the narrator again :)......not sure I could! I would recommend reading the series.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • J. Gbur
  • 2018-10-20

Awful narration

Story was good. I’ll continue with the series, but in ebook form. The narrator killed it for me though with the audiobooks. Very common words were horribly mispronounced. It was was like she was trying to do some weird accent that she didn’t really know how to do well. Made the main character hard to like.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Denise
  • 2018-11-20

great book

loved it. looking forward to the next in the series. kept me up listening all night

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Donna M.
  • 2018-10-25

Narrator was lifeless

The story was good but the narrator made it so dull. Need to find a narrator with emotion

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rayne
  • 2018-10-11

The story is fantastic, but the narrator ruins it

In addition to making the characters sound hostile and condescending during every single dialogue exchange, the narrator also mispronunces every other word. I did some research and discovered she is Scottish, but she (unsuccessfully) attempts an American accent in this series. I would have preferred she just read it in her normal voice, because listening to her butcher word after word is painful. She is unable to correctly say simple words like “been, “record,” and “saltine.” I recommend just reading this on kindle, because it truly is a great story.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Davis
  • 2018-10-07

Narrator makes me cringe!!

Nasally, annoying voice, mispronounces words throughout the whole book. Her accent drove me nuts. Ruined the story. I don’t think I can continue the series if she is the narrator

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • StL Reader
  • 2018-08-15

Distracting Narrator

I don’t know if smaller town Pennsylvania folks have New York accents, but in this rendition they do.

I could get past that if it weren’t for the frequent mispronunciation of words, frequent dropping of syllables altogether (o-bit-chur-ee for obituary, sanc-chur-ee for sanctuary, and more). I had to listen to one part like three times before I figured out that “esteerior” was hysteria (exterior didn’t make sense in context).

Basically, it was all incredibly distracting to the story - jarring. I won’t listen to this author again unless the narrator is different. I have listened to over a hundred books on tape/audible and this is the worst narrator I’ve come across.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Bab
  • 2018-11-07

Great “read”

I really enjoyed the story and was really impressed with the quality of the reading which was exceptional.
I will for other books in the série as well as others read by E. Beaton